Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Anyone having issues on channel 505, HBO 2 West?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   crashHD

crashHD

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 312 posts
Joined: Feb 29, 2008

Posted 30 December 2013 - 08:33 PM

Anyone having issues on channel 505, HBO 2 West, standard definition feed right now (8:30PM Central)?

I'm getting all kinds of pixellation, dropouts, and audio cutouts.  On all receivers in the house.  On only that one channel.  Signal strength on that transponder is 92+.

I bypassed the multiswitch, and ran a receiver direct to the lnb lines.  No change.  Switched the lnb cables, to put the tuner on the other output of the dual lnb.  No change.  I've done everything but change the lnb.  I've assumed it's not a receiver, due to sheer statistical improbability.


If you're not part of the problem, you're part of the solution!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   toricred

toricred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Mexico
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 30 December 2013 - 09:07 PM

I'm having the same problem, but on Channel 242 USA Network.  I wonder if something is up with a transponder.



#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,559 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 December 2013 - 09:12 PM

just checked right now and is playing fine 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   crashHD

crashHD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 312 posts
Joined: Feb 29, 2008

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:23 PM

The issue was present for 2 hours, at which time I fell asleep watching tv.  When I rechecked tonight, it was fine.

I wonder if USA (242) is on the same transponder.


If you're not part of the problem, you're part of the solution!

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,929 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 December 2013 - 08:55 PM

have you seen Gary Toma's thread with full table of all channels/tpns/sats ?



#6 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,188 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 31 December 2013 - 09:49 PM

The issue was present for 2 hours, at which time I fell asleep watching tv.  When I rechecked tonight, it was fine.

I wonder if USA (242) is on the same transponder.

No;

 

They're not even on the same satellite;

 

Ch. 505 - HBO 2 West SD is on transponder 31 of DIRECTV-8

 

Ch. 242 - USA Network SD is on transponder 14 of DIRECTV-9S


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,929 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 December 2013 - 09:52 PM

hohohotat2, you kill all the fun for him ... to discover something new ... to find the answer ...spoiled his New Year Eve ;)


Edited by P Smith, 31 December 2013 - 09:53 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,188 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:06 AM

hohohotat2, you kill all the fun for him ... to discover something new ... to find the answer ...spoiled his New Year Eve ;)

Yeah I get what you're saying;

 

It's just sometimes when I happen have the Excel TPN map document already open on my desktop and a poster asks such a question I just click over to the document and give it to them to save time.    


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#9 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,618 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:21 AM

A couple days ago someone noticed problems with USA Network, and I noticed problems on that day with Golf Channel, and one is on 103 and the other 99. It may not be a problem on Directv's end - maybe those channels are downlinked to Directv from the same satellite or same tpn?

 

HoTat2, I don't suppose you would have a way to find out where those feeds are on C-band (which is where I assume Directv picks them up?)


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,188 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 January 2014 - 02:52 AM

A couple days ago someone noticed problems with USA Network, and I noticed problems on that day with Golf Channel, and one is on 103 and the other 99. It may not be a problem on Directv's end - maybe those channels are downlinked to Directv from the same satellite or same tpn?

 

HoTat2, I don't suppose you would have a way to find out where those feeds are on C-band (which is where I assume Directv picks them up?)

Well assuming the DIRECTV broadcast center, likely the LABC, is indeed using the C-band feeds for these networks (Possibly from the large torus shape simulsat dish). And that Lyngsat's data is accurate here (Quite a few assumptions here, I know :) );

 

Whether it's the HD or SD feeds for HBO 2 West or USA Network East (the feed actually used on ch. 242), they use different transponders there as well, but are on the same satellite.

 

HD feeds on Galaxy 14 @ 125W

 

HBO 2 West - Tp. 16, 4020 MHz, V. Pol.

 

USA Network East - Tp. 18, 4060 MHz, V Pol.

 

SD Feeds on Galaxy 15 @ 133W

 

HBO 2 West - Tp. 23, 4160 MHz, H. Pol.

 

USA Network East - Tp. 24, 4180 MHz, V. Pol. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95





Protected By... spam firewall...And...