Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DISH Energizes Hopper Platform Giving Customers the Ability to Record Industry-Leading Eight Shows Simultaneously; Delivers Whole Hopper to Whole Home


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,266 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 07 January 2014 - 03:49 PM

That's why I don't see the point of a super Joey over just adding a Hopper. Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app

Cost.  Hoppers cost more than Joeys every month now.  Of course this presumes the new Joey will cost the same as the old one.

 

Convenience.  It can be confusing to navigate from one Hopper to the other in the List screen.  But the UI goof is, when I watch something from Hopper 2 and it's over, hit 'Stop' and then "DVR", I'm returned to Hopper 1's list.  If I'm looking for a particular episode of something, having to constantly switch back to Hopper 2 is a pain.  (This is the way it works when you are linked to one Hopper but want to watch from the other - and switching what Hopper you're linked to isn't exactly intuitive).

 

One Hopper with an external drive pretty much gives me what I need, saves a little money and eliminates some of the more irrational parts of the UI.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,541 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 January 2014 - 07:08 PM

The more I think about this... and how the current Hopper works...

 

A Hopper has 3 tuners...  a dual node supports 2 Hoppers (6 tuners) and it requires 3 inputs from the Dish/switch.

 

So... a Hopper and a SuperJoey should have the same requirements BUT with one less tuner than a 2-Hopper installation.

 

Of course they could be planning on different node technology... and problems can be solved with DPP44 or similar switches to provide more feeds... but I don't see now that I think of it how to do this in a way that gets you anything but less tuners than you can get now.

 

Maybe that's not a deal-breaker... depending on how you use things... but some might scream over a "lost" tuner if they moved from a 2-Hopper to a Hopper + SuperJoey setup.

Just a note to this;

 

And interesting Stewart should mention the DPP44 here.

 

But as I was discussing on another forum, with a DPP44 switch, a duo node, and a satellite-OTA diplexer to separate the 950-2150 MHz satellite signals from the 650-875 MHz MoCA ones. A two Hopper setup could "theoretically" be used with a Super Joey on the same network by connecting the SJ to the fourth available output on a DPP44 feeding the three lines to a duo node by means the diplexer, and running a line from the diplexer's OTA port carrying the MoCA signal to an available client port either on the duo node itself or by deactivating a regular Joey and connecting the SJ there through the OTA dipelxer port, or at some other convenient point on the client side of the network.

 

Now whether the MoCA network capacity can accommodate all this traffic or if DISH will even allow such a setup is not known at this time of course.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#53 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 711 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 07 January 2014 - 11:00 PM

This may sound like a stupid question, but do we even know at this point that the 2 additional tuners on the SuperJoey are even satelite tuners?

 

quote: ""SuperJoey," a client that adds two network tuners to the Hopper's native three tuners."

 

2 network tuners, wtf is a network tuner?  A tuner that comes from the network or internet?  or OTA broadcast network tuners?  Just somethin thats goin thru my head...I know logically, only satelite tuners make sense but the wording leaves more info to be desired.

 

Also, this 'app' for the ps3, would that be exclusive to Hopper systems?  Or could us 'regular' customers also enjoy that?


Edited by shadough, 07 January 2014 - 11:10 PM.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#54 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,613 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:26 AM

They are satellite tuners and from some reading here and there, it appears that a single TV install could be done with just a Super Joey for those not wanting/needing DVR capability, or at least that has been rumored to be something that could be done.

 

Essentially the Super Joey has a direct line from the LNBF that gets bridged to the MOCA network that the Hopper/Joey system works with.  The Hopper 'sees' those tuners as part of itself.  So the user sees 5 tuners and possibly wouldn't even know which one was on which box.  Of course that seems to say to me that there would be a lot of traffic on the MOCA network.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#55 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 462 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:56 AM

I believe "network tuners" are satellite tuners available to the MOCA network.  Especially when considering it is qualified by "in addition to the Hopper's native three".

 

Also the Joey App is only for Hopper systems, that is why they are calling it a "virtual" Joey.



#56 OFFLINE   HumpMan

HumpMan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
  • LocationCharlottesville, VA
Joined: Sep 12, 2002

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:58 AM

Ok, this year may be the one that I switch to a Hopper.  Right now I'm on a ViP622 that is several years old, and I am hoping to see more HD on TV2.  I hope that long time customers get a decent upgrade deal.  Anyone know what it might cost to upgrade to a Hopper + 1 Joey?

 

But my real question is related to the Wireless Joey.  Sure looks like Morse code on the side of the WJ and the access point.  Sort of like how Western Digital used to do the cooling slots on some of their external hard drives.  Has anyone decoded the holes on the sides of the Wireless Joey to see if any interesting messages are there?

 

I tried a little but my ability to recognize Morse code is very limited.



#57 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 08 January 2014 - 10:34 AM

I wonder about performance for the original Hopper.  As it is, the original Hopper seems to have difficulty properly recording the OTA tuner while playing back another program.  Can the system really handle 5 discreet tuners, or are they going to limit the SuperJoey to Hopper2 and above?



#58 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:24 PM

What I found interesting was the 802.11ac for the Wireless. That gives plenty of wireless bandwidth for Video and putting it on the 5Ghz band too. That will for the near future at least cut down interference from other wireless networks.


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#59 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,267 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:11 PM

Yeah I like that too...  putting it on a band with less crowd for the moment AND have its own WiFi network for Dish device communication that doesn't take up bandwidth on your home network.  It's actually so good of an idea I can't believe it didn't come with the initial Hopper configuration since there had been rumors of the 922 originally intended to support a WiFi monitor before a lot of the 922 plans were apparently scrapped and went to the Hopper team for development.

 

It's just a really cool way around some problems that come up with installations and all the wires you normally would have to run.


-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#60 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:58 PM

Almost like a wireless video bridge for the mini wireless client C41W from directv, with it's own wireless network, but without tuners.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#61 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,883 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 January 2014 - 08:35 AM

Let me ask a fair question.

 

How can you vote on a "product of the year" award on something that the general public has never seen, heard of, used

And on top of that the Super Joey has not even been released yet? 

 

 

Vote For DISH

The DISH Super Joy has been nominated for the CES Product of the year by Engadget!
These guys deserved the win last year so PLEASE help them win this year by voting for them now at Engadget.com!!

http://www.engadget....014/choice/   

 

IS THIS A JOKE?


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#62 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,267 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 09 January 2014 - 11:46 AM

To be fair... "product of the year" is often a product from a trade show demoed before release to the general public.  The only time this has bothered me was once when I worked for a company who won such an award and the product never came out, ever!  To me, that was bad...

 

But as long as the company comes out with the product, I'm ok with it.

 

In a perfect world, though, I would agree with you that such awards should be released products to win "of the year" awards...

 

Though, I hedge as I say that, because much of CES is product that isn't released yet... so almost every award/review they do is going to be on unreleased product.


  • damondlt likes this

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#63 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,883 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 09 January 2014 - 11:52 AM

Trust me I'm not doubting the Joey's Success.

But you know whom ever wins is going to flaunt this award around like it is something special, when its not even really representing the function or reliability at all!

 

To me this is Highly misleading to any potential customers research.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#64 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,983 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:47 PM

Just think of it as the "promise of the year" award and don't get too hung up on the details.

The most promising products of 2014 ....


Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#65 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,266 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:54 PM

I dont get it, why not build a super hopper with all the tuners in the one box? It would seem more versatile if they had done that. I wonder if a joey can use a tuner from a super joey.

Perhaps because it would cost DISH as much as a Genie costs DIRECTV even for those customers with just a few TVs that could typically survive with the way that DISH uses three tuners. Tuners are surely a large part of the cost pie and piling them on without needing them is a huge waste of money.

It seems like talk of the Home Media Center gave it modular tuners ("up to" six?).

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#66 OFFLINE   FTA Michael

FTA Michael

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2002

Posted 10 January 2014 - 10:17 AM

Let me ask a fair question.

 

How can you vote on a "product of the year" award on something that the general public has never seen, heard of, used

And on top of that the Super Joey has not even been released yet? 

I think that's a very fair question, and one that I've raised from time to time. But it happens _every_ year at the International CES, no matter the product category. A prototype and a spec sheet are all you need to win there.

 

Then later in the year, when your product is actually ready to sell, you take that CES award logo and apply it to your advertising and packaging. Everybody wins, especially the Consumer Electronics Association. :)


Yes, FTABlog is active again. Why do you ask?

#67 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,613 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 10 January 2014 - 10:27 AM

I dont get it, why not build a super hopper with all the tuners in the one box? It would seem more versatile if they had done that. I wonder if a joey can use a tuner from a super joey.

 

All the Joeys on a system with a Hopper + Super Joey will see all the tuners.  They will appear as 5 tuners.  What isn't known or yet talked about, is if the screen that would show that would just  show 5 tuners or would show them as 3 on the Hopper and 2 on the Super Joey.  Since they are on the network I don't think it would matter how they show them, just how seamless it all works.


Lloyd
Receiver/Provider: Tivo Roamio Plus/Mediacom
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#68 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 January 2014 - 11:04 AM

I can add my 2c to a picture of incorporating the SJ into H/J setup:

- looking at its rear panel we can see colored one Home Network RF connector and nothing else

- that would means MOCA still using the coax

- two sat tuner would force to share the cable with MOCA signals with sat IFs; here is no problem to add three feeds (for three sat tuners) using the three bands 950-1450/1450-2150/2500-3000 MHz

- that would ask to use new Node (or current Nodes could pass selected sat/polarity 500 MHz bands to MOCA output ? - less likely)

- SJ could pick a channel or two from two tpns/muxes and send the HD/SD stream(s) [PES] to H for recording via MOCA band

 

In short: there is one coax cable to SJ and it will use MOCA and IF bands.



#69 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 462 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 11 January 2014 - 08:14 AM

All the Joeys on a system with a Hopper + Super Joey will see all the tuners.  They will appear as 5 tuners.  What isn't known or yet talked about, is if the screen that would show that would just  show 5 tuners or would show them as 3 on the Hopper and 2 on the Super Joey.  Since they are on the network I don't think it would matter how they show them, just how seamless it all works.

 

In this video Vivek Khemka demonstrates the SJ showing the 5 tuners showing on one screen, one of which is split into the four major networks.


Edited by david_jr, 11 January 2014 - 08:15 AM.


#70 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 17 January 2014 - 04:27 PM

followup my speculation in post#68:

 

by BobaBird's CES who is gathered info and posted at www.dishuser.org/superjoey.php, the new SJ will be feed by one cable, what will share MOCA and IFs for two tunes (easy to suggest it will be 950...1450 and 1650...2150 MHz bands) by adding an integrator;

it was described as being similar to a separator but working in reverse merging satellite and moca signals onto the line to a super Joey

 


Edited by P Smith, 17 January 2014 - 04:27 PM.


#71 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,541 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 January 2014 - 05:12 PM

followup my speculation in post#68:

 

by BobaBird's CES who is gathered info and posted at www.dishuser.org/superjoey.php, the new SJ will be feed by one cable, what will share MOCA and IFs for two tunes (easy to suggest it will be 950...1450 and 1650...2150 MHz bands) by adding an integrator;

 

"Integrator"

 

Or that is to say a fancy word for what is likely just a Satellite-OTA diplexer to separate or combine (depending on whether one is looking away or toward the SJ) the 950-2150 MHz range sat. signal from the 675-850 MHz range MoCA one. :) 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#72 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,983 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 January 2014 - 06:29 PM

The separators used to put OTA TV on a satellite cable feed would serve such a purpose. I used them to carry OTA signals to my 622 before I got the Hopper.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#73 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 January 2014 - 12:58 AM

the trick could be in details ..  say the gap and a slope for filtering between high MOCA freq 850 MHz and low freq of sat IF freq 950 MHz ...






Protected By... spam firewall...And...