Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

LNB Differences?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 944 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 10 January 2014 - 03:42 PM

Studechip liked his post, so maybe he has heard of this issue.? Sent from my PantechP8010 using DBSTalk mobile app

 

 

Perhaps because the highlighted part was true

I thought he was making a joke about the Philadelphia Eagles, that's why I liked it.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 January 2014 - 03:45 PM

I thought he was making a joke about the Philadelphia Eagles, that's why I liked it.

Boy I was wrong!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#23 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,754 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:30 PM

would love to know why a receiver would work with a EA SWM LNB and not a WNC?  how can a receiver tell the difference?

IRD could retrieve model&SN/drift/etc from the LNBF for diag/tracing purpose ... but the mfg shouldn't be an issue - out of specs parameters does



#24 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 10 January 2014 - 04:33 PM

would love to know why a receiver would work with a EA SWM LNB and not a WNC?  how can a receiver tell the difference?

 

If one particular model of receiver had a tuner that was a bit less tolerant of the frequency being off a bit, and one model of LNB had more issues with the frequency being off, I could see the two not playing well together.

 

Whether that is the fault of the receiver, the LNB, the guy who wrote the specs that both presumably met, or the guy that did the testing to insure both actually did meet the specs, is another matter...


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#25 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 944 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:23 PM

Boy I was wrong!

Maybe not, I could have misinterpreted what he meant.



#26 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:10 PM

So Im Assuming the problem I'm having with my service when it gets below zero is a bad LNB? Is D aware of this issue and could I get a replacement!

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,754 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:25 PM

just call CSR and get the help



#28 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:47 PM

The CSR keeps on insisting it's the SWM.. But I'm know it's the LNB. They're sending a technician. But how will they know it's the LNB or determine it's thE LNB?

Edited by abooch, 22 January 2014 - 08:52 PM.


#29 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:51 PM

The CSR keeps on insisting it's the SWM.. But I'm know it's the LNB.

What leads you to this conclusion?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#30 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:53 PM

I've done the research. Why would it happen every time it's below zero out? Power inserted and splitter are located inside of the house.

Edited by abooch, 22 January 2014 - 08:57 PM.


#31 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 08:57 PM

I've done the research. Why would it happen every time it's below zero out?

it could be a connector or cable issue as well


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#32 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:00 PM

Doubt it.. Dish is located in an easily accessible spot. I spray the LNB with warm water and it fixes the issue for half an hour.

#33 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 22 January 2014 - 09:48 PM

If you have a power inserter you must have a SWM LNB - so the CSR saying its the SWM and you saying its the LNB are talking about the same thing.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#34 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 22 January 2014 - 10:05 PM

She was referring to the power inserted as the SWM.

#35 OFFLINE   abooch

abooch

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 24 January 2014 - 10:38 AM

I also forgot to mention I have one of the first LNBs back from 2008 made by WNC. I know there was a problem with those that D didn't want to admit at first. I live in NJ and it hasn't been this cold in a long time here. It maybe happened a handful of times before, but this winter it is almost every night.



#36 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 January 2014 - 12:23 PM

I also forgot to mention I have one of the first LNBs back from 2008 made by WNC. I know there was a problem with those that D didn't want to admit at first. I live in NJ and it hasn't been this cold in a long time here. It maybe happened a handful of times before, but this winter it is almost every night.

Then is possible that you have one of the LNBs that was proven to stop woking when it got really cold.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#37 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 09 February 2014 - 05:43 PM

guys check the tech bulletins back in 2011

 

you will find directv stating that there "seems" to be an issue with h24-700 and some wnc lnbs

 

and no.......... its not that the h24-700 knows what lnb its connected to....... it just doesnt work, the reciever knows when it doesnt work, says 771  LOL!!

 

Yes, you are correct. I always have problems that no one else does. The "no one else" guy is never installing new dealer equipment, live in subzero weather, or some other extreme, thats why they dont have issues.

 

HSP didnt have any issues in 2010 because they ONLY used refurbed h24-100, they NEVER had any 700's at all at the time.


Edited by Jodean, 09 February 2014 - 05:45 PM.

Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#38 ONLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 February 2014 - 09:43 PM

The "no one else" guy is never installing new dealer equipment, live in subzero weather, or some other extreme, thats why they dont have issues.

 

HSP didnt have any issues in 2010 because they ONLY used refurbed h24-100, they NEVER had any 700's at all at the time.

Those conditions are no different that everyday techs install DirecTV on, including the weather, the equipment..etc.

 

do you have facts (links, docs) about HSP or O&O not installing H24-700 back then?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#39 OFFLINE   dielray

dielray

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2009

Posted 12 February 2014 - 05:07 AM

guys check the tech bulletins back in 2011

 

you will find directv stating that there "seems" to be an issue with h24-700 and some wnc lnbs

 

and no.......... its not that the h24-700 knows what lnb its connected to....... it just doesnt work, the reciever knows when it doesnt work, says 771  LOL!!

 

Yes, you are correct. I always have problems that no one else does. The "no one else" guy is never installing new dealer equipment, live in subzero weather, or some other extreme, thats why they dont have issues.

 

HSP didnt have any issues in 2010 because they ONLY used refurbed h24-100, they NEVER had any 700's at all at the time.

I think you're referring to the 3/16/11 tech tip. At that time the H24-700s had received a software update that caused them to fail to get signal with any SWM, and that was the tech tip that instructed us to swap to a legacy LNB to force a download to the fixed software.


DirecTV Technician
My thoughts and opinions are my own, and do not necessarily represent those of DirecTV, my HSP, or anyone else.

#40 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 12 February 2014 - 05:32 AM

I think you're referring to the 3/16/11 tech tip. At that time the H24-700s had received a software update that caused them to fail to get signal with any SWM, and that was the tech tip that instructed us to swap to a legacy LNB to force a download to the fixed software.

 

With the multiple weekly testing cycles the software undergoes before it reaches NR it seems impossible that glaring and obvious of a bug could ever make it that far...but if there was a tech tip I guess it must have happened.

 

I'd be really curious how something like that could have possibly been missed!


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21





spam firewall