Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD recording.


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:49 PM

Recorded a show on HD local channel. When watching live the show is in HD. Full screen etc. But when watching the recording of it it is in SD with a cropped screen. Never had this happen before and it does not happen with any other shows.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,846 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:52 PM

You posted this like 5 times.

 

Are you sure you're recording the HD channel


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,623 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:19 PM

What show? what channel? perhaps an old series link set up on an SD channel?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,646 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 January 2014 - 10:59 PM

And are the times exactly coincidental? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#5 OFFLINE   willardcpa

willardcpa

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
  • LocationEugene, OR
Joined: Jun 05, 2007

Posted 08 January 2014 - 11:21 PM

I think that peds48 is right on regarding this.   I've had the same thing happen several times, and occassionally while watching the show live I hit the record button and record the show, later when looking in the "list" I see that the show is recorded twice, and one has an HD and one does not - for a while this perplexed me,   Then I deduced that I had some "old" season passes set up - set up before I got my locals in HD, and the series passes were recording the SD channel, while I was watching the HD channel.



#6 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:23 AM

No. It is the same show. Same time. HD channel.

#7 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:24 AM

And it's not a series link but just a regular one episode type recording.

#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,646 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:40 AM

What is the channel its recorded on, and name, please?

What DVR? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 OFFLINE   raromr

raromr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2010

Posted 09 January 2014 - 12:20 PM

DFW channel 29. Any show that is live in HD records in SD. HR24 and HR44

#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,646 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:24 PM

Hopefully someone else in you market can chime in. Most of us won't be able to pull that channel in any format. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,623 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 January 2014 - 08:25 PM

Hopefully someone else in you market can chime in. Most of us won't be able to pull that channel in any format. 

Yup, bummer


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,495 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:39 PM

You might end up having to PM someone. Not many users are listed as being in DFW, but of course that doesn't mean anything. Maybe P3Pilot or Scoop8. They aren't big posters but have been online recently.



#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,623 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 January 2014 - 10:06 PM

Texasbrit is in DFW, I believe 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,495 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 10 January 2014 - 06:17 AM

He would be perfect.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#15 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,846 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 January 2014 - 06:57 AM

I'm in DFW. KMPX 29 isn't in HD.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#16 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,035 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 10 January 2014 - 08:09 AM

I believe KMPX does in fact broadcast HD sometimes, the channel is delivered from both the 101 satellite (in SD) and 103 (HD).  But I can't find an HD program to test with. raromr - give us an example??



#17 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,846 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 January 2014 - 08:15 AM

I believe KMPX does in fact broadcast HD sometimes, the channel is delivered from both the 101 satellite (in SD) and 103 (HD).  But I can't find an HD program to test with. raromr - give us an example??

You're right, sorry about that.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#18 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,262 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 January 2014 - 12:23 PM

Yup, bummer

 

I had that happen a couple weeks ago.  I had mistakenly recorded the show twice on the same HR and one came out in SD.  My fault.

 

Rich



#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,623 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 January 2014 - 08:58 PM

I had that happen a couple weeks ago.  I had mistakenly recorded the show twice on the same HR and one came out in SD.  My fault.

 

Rich

Don't you have "hide SD duplicates" ?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 ONLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,262 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 January 2014 - 11:31 AM

Don't you have "hide SD duplicates" ?

 

Of course I do.  I don't watch anything in SD.  

 

Rich






spam firewall