Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dish


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bart

bart

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2014

Posted 12 January 2014 - 06:33 PM

Need some help! I have a direct tv H20/100 receiver what dish do I need to get all channels even HD ???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 January 2014 - 07:20 PM

At the very least, you would need an Slimline dish with an SL3 LNB and one BBC


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,310 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 12 January 2014 - 07:36 PM

Or one with a SWM LNB (more futureproof) and no BBC. 

 

Though I think we need more info. Do you currently have DirecTV service? Unless policy has changed, I don't think they allow self install for new customers.



#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,907 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 January 2014 - 07:47 PM

Or one with a SWM LNB (more futureproof) and no BBC. 

 

Though I think we need more info. Do you currently have DirecTV service? Unless policy has changed, I don't think they allow self install for new customers.

Well, they do it allow it you just won't get the equipment without the discounted prices


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   bart

bart

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2014

Posted 12 January 2014 - 09:37 PM

I have current service!! Just have basic channels no HD!!


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#6 OFFLINE   bart

bart

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2014

Posted 12 January 2014 - 09:40 PM

And a old dish !! What can I do to get some HD channels ? I think it's my dish!!


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#7 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,683 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 13 January 2014 - 12:58 AM

Right.  You need a new HD-capable Slimline dish.  Have you called DirecTV?   They often have sweet deals when you upgrade to HiDef equipment, including installation of the new dish. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#8 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,702 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 13 January 2014 - 09:25 AM

Right.  You need a new HD-capable Slimline dish.  Have you called DirecTV?   They often have sweet deals when you upgrade to HiDef equipment, including installation of the new dish. 

+1

Usually a lot cheaper than doing it yourself.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   bart

bart

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2014

Posted 13 January 2014 - 11:16 AM

Thanks to all


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#10 OFFLINE   bart

bart

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2014

Posted 13 January 2014 - 11:19 AM

One other question I only have one cable line going to the dish do I need a switch or something else???


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#11 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,097 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 13 January 2014 - 12:12 PM

However, for the folks that do elect to self install an HD dish (without the requisite skill set) it does make you eligible for our exciting "Hall of Shame" thread, and some humorous comments form the inmates here.

 

:coffee  



#12 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,221 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 January 2014 - 01:31 PM

One other question I only have one cable line going to the dish do I need a switch or something else???


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

Depends;

 

If you only plan on using that one H20 receiver for the foreseeable future, the single coax line to the dish is sufficient with either a legacy (four output LNBF) or a SWIM integrated LNBF one.

 

However, if you plan on possibly expanding to more than one receiver in the future, but don't want to make any more trips up to the dish to run additional cable(s), then make sure to use only a SWIM LNBF for future-proofing.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#13 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
  • LocationPA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 13 January 2014 - 04:10 PM

Well, they do it allow it you just won't get the equipment without the discounted prices

I had a CSR just today tell me that it was illegal for a current customer to install there own dish without calling directv and getting tech supervision.... it was hard to keep proper composure...  !rolling

 

Good luck getting the PoPo to enforce that one....

 

Judge: Alright Charlie, what are you in for?

 

Charlie: I tried to install my own Slimline......


Edited by Old_School, 13 January 2014 - 04:13 PM.

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#14 OFFLINE   supermod38

supermod38

    Mentor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 67 posts
  • LocationCentral VA.
Joined: Jan 16, 2013

Posted 14 January 2014 - 02:45 PM

i just moved from ny to va and did my own install, not a problem. now i will have to watch my driveway  for the dish police, don't wanna go to the slammer.! 


I'm not here for a long time, just a GOOD time!
HR34 lease- Vizio 26"
C-31-lease-32" Emerson
HR24-owned-RCA 46"

H24- owned- :righton:





Protected By... spam firewall...And...