Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

how much did you have to pay up front to get dish network?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   crashhat

crashhat

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • Locationoregon
Joined: Jan 15, 2014

Posted 17 January 2014 - 02:18 PM

if i wanted to get dish network im gonna have to pay $172 up front. to me, that seems like a lot of money to have pay up front just to get cable. what did you all have to pay up front if anything? and do you think $172 is a lot of money just to be able to get cable?


Edited by crashhat, 17 January 2014 - 02:20 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,441 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2014 - 02:48 PM

Unless your credit is an issue it's free from DIRECTV and all the cable companies and FIOS in my area. Can't imagine why dish wants to charge you more unless your getting a lot if extra equipment at hitch point they would all start charging.

What is the upfront for?

#3 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,373 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 January 2014 - 03:38 PM

YEA, my free directv system cost me $260.
But I didn't want the free HR 24 and 3 H25s.
I did $99 HR 34, $99 HR 23, $49 H25, Free H25.That was before Genies were free.

 

 

 


#4 OFFLINE   crashhat

crashhat

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • Locationoregon
Joined: Jan 15, 2014

Posted 17 January 2014 - 04:25 PM

Unless your credit is an issue it's free from DIRECTV and all the cable companies and FIOS in my area. Can't imagine why dish wants to charge you more unless your getting a lot if extra equipment at hitch point they would all start charging.

What is the upfront for?

im getting 2 boxes for my 3 tv's and the fees are the activation fee, a receiver fee, and another fee that i can't remember. all adding to $171.99


Edited by crashhat, 17 January 2014 - 04:26 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,441 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2014 - 04:41 PM

Yes but something was free and you chose to go with a different system and now it's a free genie system. So we need to know what he's asking for to figure out why there is a fee.

#6 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,441 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2014 - 04:41 PM

Is it a hopper system?

#7 OFFLINE   toricred

toricred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Mexico
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 17 January 2014 - 09:14 PM

I just got a Hopper and 2 Joey's.  I paid $21 and none of that was for the hardware.  It was $71 for the first month's fees in advance less a $50 referral from a friend. 



#8 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,832 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 18 January 2014 - 08:37 AM

If you are paying much beyond the 1st month payment, your credit is the problem. There is very little up front cost with DISH for the Hopper. If you want beyond what is free of course there could be more up front cost.



#9 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 671 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 18 January 2014 - 03:37 PM

As I recall, it ended up being right around $100.  My dish was FREE, my reciever was FREE, but I had to pay $25.00 for the "Self installation kit" as well as shipping which also cost around $25.00.  But then I had to pay an additional $50 to a "installer consultant" in order to find a good location for signal, the 1st place I put the dish, I got no signal. 

 

Over the years though, I've paid quite a bit.  I went to Coscto 3 times, purchased 2 dish+receiver systems for $180 and 1 additional receiver for $99.  Raided the dishes for parts basically.  Didn't really want to but back then, Coscto was the only place you could get Dish equipment from and they only had 2 options: a) a 1/2 way decent 3800 model rcvr WITH dish, or b.) a crappy 2700 model rcvr stand alone.   Additional purchases are listed below:

- DP-301 recvr @Sears for $99

- DP-311 Rcvr from I think Radio Shack, might of been Sears again for $99

- DP-322 purchased online for around $130

- DP-721 DVR for $500 from Sears

- DP-510 DVR thru Dish for $50

- vip222k thru ebay for $99 (shipping included)

And also had to pay $200 for my HD updgrade in order to get the vip-922k HD DVR but suspect Dish still 'owns' that.

 

Add all that up and you get: $1,736.00

 

Theres a few other things I've purchased too, SW21 switch, DP-21 switch, dish mounting pole thats about 4 ft long (to get more height), Power supply for my DPP44 switch.  Most of the switches i have I got for free.  Might be a few other lil things Im forgetting, but thats about the gist of it.


Edited by shadough, 18 January 2014 - 03:47 PM.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#10 OFFLINE   flatus

flatus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 21 January 2014 - 06:06 PM

I think the model 4000 was $299 and the self-install kit was free.   Fall of 1998.



#11 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

Honestly, I was paid $200 to get dish  with a two year contract, free equipment.



#12 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,717 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 22 January 2014 - 02:55 PM

My initial Dish setup was maybe $50 I think... that was back in 2002 for a standard SD receiver.  When I first went HD a year or two later, I paid around $1000 because back then they didn't lease their HD receivers so you had to purchase to get HD.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#13 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,140 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 23 January 2014 - 10:13 AM

As I recall, it ended up being right around $100.  My dish was FREE, my reciever was FREE, but I had to pay $25.00 for the "Self installation kit" as well as shipping which also cost around $25.00.  But then I had to pay an additional $50 to a "installer consultant" in order to find a good location for signal, the 1st place I put the dish, I got no signal. 

 

Over the years though, I've paid quite a bit.  I went to Coscto 3 times, purchased 2 dish+receiver systems for $180 and 1 additional receiver for $99.  Raided the dishes for parts basically.  Didn't really want to but back then, Coscto was the only place you could get Dish equipment from and they only had 2 options: a) a 1/2 way decent 3800 model rcvr WITH dish, or b.) a crappy 2700 model rcvr stand alone.   Additional purchases are listed below:

- DP-301 recvr @Sears for $99

- DP-311 Rcvr from I think Radio Shack, might of been Sears again for $99

- DP-322 purchased online for around $130

- DP-721 DVR for $500 from Sears

- DP-510 DVR thru Dish for $50

- vip222k thru ebay for $99 (shipping included)

And also had to pay $200 for my HD updgrade in order to get the vip-922k HD DVR but suspect Dish still 'owns' that.

 

Add all that up and you get: $1,736.00

 

Theres a few other things I've purchased too, SW21 switch, DP-21 switch, dish mounting pole thats about 4 ft long (to get more height), Power supply for my DPP44 switch.  Most of the switches i have I got for free.  Might be a few other lil things Im forgetting, but thats about the gist of it.

I got my first Dish equipment & programming at Sears in 1999. Before that we had TCI.


Edited by Paul Secic, 23 January 2014 - 10:18 AM.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#14 OFFLINE   mwdxer

mwdxer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 283 posts
  • LocationSeaside Oregon
Joined: Oct 30, 2013

Posted 23 January 2014 - 10:32 PM

It was 1999 for me when I bought my first Dish receiver. It was a 2700 I believe for $59.95 for the dish and receiver. We had Dish 300 at the time with a single dish aimed at the 119, if I remember correctly. I installed the dish and receiver myself, as I had experience installing my 8.5 foot BUD (which I still use). I then bought the Dish 500 about 2000 and installed that, using the same 2700. The cost of the dish was under $100. I bought it from a satellite dealer. Then I used the 18" dish for the 148 bird for extra channels. Then when 148 went away, I moved it to the 61.5. Finding in the NW the 61.5 did not work well with the 18" dish, I bought a 30" dish for $50 from Solid Signal and I still have that. Then a couple years back I bought the 211k receiver for $169, added a  outboard harddrive ($79). That is where I stand now. So like others, I have spent a fair amount not wanting to lease. The only thing I have to pay for is the programming, no DVR fees, etc. That adds up to $91 a month, soon to be $96 I guess. I have AT250, Sunpers, and Blockbuster. I ordered a Roku LT, so I will see what is avaiable via streaming for free also. I do not plan to sub to much. If I do, I may go down to a smaller package with Dish, as I see Roku has CNN International and BBC World, as well as Euro News. Too bad I cannot use a harddrive with the Roku though.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...