Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR44 doesn't seem to be detecting AM21 at all

HR44AM21 OTA Toledo

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   aterlay

aterlay

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationToledo, OH
Joined: Jan 23, 2014

Posted 01 February 2014 - 10:30 PM

Hi!

 

I had a new Directv system installed in my home about 2 weeks ago.  It is a Genie system with an HR44-200 receiver.  I am a resident of Michigan but live only 4 miles from the Ohio border so I purchased an AM21 receiver from Directv through Amazon.com so that I could get my Toledo local channels (my zip code gives me Detroit locals which are useless).  The AM21 arrived and I installed it according to instruction but it doesn't seem to do anything. 

 

After connecting the AM21 to the Geniek with the provided USB cable, I reset the Genie.  When it booted up it did not automatically detect the AM21 and did not ask me if I wanted to set it up.  Nevertheless I found my way to the setup menu and went through the initial setup process, entering in one of Toledo's zip codes (43612).  After the initial setup the option to "edit off-air channels" in the antenna setup menu is/was grayed out and that cannot be selected.  No new channels appeared in my guide either.  Both units have power, using their own seperate power cables.  I also tried another Toledo zip code (43611) and got the same results.

 

I have spent 2 hours on the phone with Directv tech support and after multiple resets and checking this and that, nothing has worked.  One rep I spoke to said the HR44 isn't compatible with the AM21.  I know my outdoor antenna is good because I can plug the antenna directly into my tv and get everthing in crystal clear HD, even some Detroit channels that are about 40-50 miles away.  I have 5 televisions spread throughout the house, so I need the AM21 to get locals on all of them plus pause/record live tv.

 

I'm asking for help because frankly I have no idea what to do next.  I have read plenty of blogs/posts that say the HR44 and the AM21 do work together but mine just don't.  I'm confused because I'm under the impression that the OTA guide information comes from the satellite so shouldn't the local channels show up in the guide once I go through the antenna setup and enter a local zip?  Does the fact that the Genie never gave me a notification after hooking up the am21 mean that it has never recognized it?  Why is the "edit off-air channels" tool grayed out?  I can't seem to diagnose what the problem is.  I'm out of ideas and would really appreciate any help!



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   STEVEN-H

STEVEN-H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 631 posts
  • LocationLouisville, KY
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 02 February 2014 - 09:04 AM

You are using the usb next to the HDMI on the back of the box....correct?  If so have you tried a different usb cable?


HR24-500 AM-21
HR24-200 AM-21
Direct TV Slimline-5S (SWM) DECA
Direct TV since 6/23/96.

#3 OFFLINE   dccatl

dccatl

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2009

Posted 02 February 2014 - 09:46 AM

I have an AM-21 with a HR-34 that's behaving the same way.  I'd been using the AM-21 with it for well over a year and a half w/o issue.  At first I would get a loss of signal error when selecting an OTA channed in the guide, then I reset the OTA channel line-up, unplugged everything and restarted the HR-34 and AM-21 which resulted in the same symptoms as you're having - no detection of the AM-21 at all.  The problems seemed to start when I got firmware 0x079e on 1/7.  I have another AM21 (fed from the same antenna as the other AM-21) with an HR-24 that works fine.   DirecTV support has been no help.  I'm hoping that the next release (0x07E5) will fix it but I'm not holding my breath.



#4 OFFLINE   aterlay

aterlay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationToledo, OH
Joined: Jan 23, 2014

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:13 AM

On the back of my Genie receiver there is only one USB port and it is directly above a SATA port with a phone line port on one side and an ethernet port on the other.  I haven't tried another USB cable because I don't have a similar cable with USB on one end and a printer type port on the other.  I actually ordered a brand new am-21 and returned the one I had to see if that solved any problems.  I hope it does because it sounds like I'm SOL otherwise.



#5 OFFLINE   William1

William1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: May 11, 2009

Posted 03 February 2014 - 09:51 AM

.I just did a upgrade from a HR-23 to a HR-44. I transfered my AM-21. Setup ran fine and works flawlessly once the zipcode/setup was done.


"Make a man a fire and he'll be warm for a day. Light
a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."

#6 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • Registered
  • 4,117 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 03 February 2014 - 11:35 AM

I didn't see in your posts where you unplugged the AM21 then plugged it back in. 

I've got an AM21 on both an HR34 and an HR44 and cycling power on the AM21 has always solved OTA problems.

Can't recall if a Genie recycle was ever required following an AM21 power cycle but that would be your next step.


-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#7 OFFLINE   aterlay

aterlay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationToledo, OH
Joined: Jan 23, 2014

Posted 03 February 2014 - 07:08 PM

dettxw I never did try just unplugging the AM21.  I guess I really never even considered it.  Just seemed too simple for some reason.  I will try that when the new AM21 arrives.  Thanks.  Go Tigers!



#8 OFFLINE   drumdude

drumdude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2011

Posted 16 August 2016 - 12:01 PM

I had my AM21 for a year and it worked perfectly with an HR44 until my 4TB external hard drive failed. I removed the external hard drive which also removed my season passes and custom guides. I cannot get the AM21 to re-add the local channels to my guide. It always hangs at 50% during antenna setup. I suspect that the HR44 received a software update that breaks the integration with the AM21. DirecTV has not been very helpful. Not sure if buying a new AM21 or HR44 would help. Very disappointed as I watch a lot of shows OTA.



#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,820 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 August 2016 - 12:34 PM

I DirecTV has not been very helpful. Not sure if buying a new AM21 or HR44 would help. Very disappointed as I watch a lot of shows OTA.

perhaps because they stopped supper for the AM21 awhile ago.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   drumdude

drumdude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2011

Posted 16 August 2016 - 02:22 PM

Thanks for the feedback peds48.

The DirecTV installer just visited. He tried CLEARMYBOX. Unfortunately that did now help. Then he tried forcing a software update. That didn't work either. So he called DirecTV headquarters and talked to an AT&T technician there. Get this! That technician says that since the AT&T acquisition, the AM21 device is no longer supported. Recent AT&T software updates have broken the functionality that adds OTA channels to the guide. He says the AM21 OTA Box will not work with HR44 new software releases. I asked if I could revert back to the previous DirecTV (not AT&T) software, but he says no. The only option would be to purchase a HR22 box which would not receive AT&T software updates because it's no longer supported. What this means is if you have the HR34 or HR44, the AM21 will work until you have to rerun the Antenna Setup. If you move to another city or if your external hard drive fails (in my case), you will not be able to re-run Antenna Setup. Your AM21 will now be useless.

If anyone has a workaround I am interested. Please update this thread.



#11 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,972 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 17 August 2016 - 06:21 AM

If the channels are all greyed out, there is another possibility. Your antenne might be overloading the AM21 tuners. See this thread https://forums.att.c.../4892810#M49274where the OP was using a long range antenna and the AM21 was being overloaded by close-in stations.

Also there are at least two locations (Raleigh-Durham and Chicago) where the scan won't complete because of problems with the signal from just one local station, i know in Raleigh-Durham it's the pbs station, Chicago I can't remember which one. 

In general though the AM21 works fine with both the HR44 and the HR54. 


Edited by texasbrit, 17 August 2016 - 06:25 AM.


#12 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,926 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 August 2016 - 10:55 PM

Pretty sure someone was just making an excuse why it wasn't working without actually knowing. Especially since it's the same people making the software as before and they are also still updating the hr2x line. :)

I'd look for other problems...

#13 OFFLINE   drumdude

drumdude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2011

Posted 18 August 2016 - 08:46 AM

Thanks to everyone who contributed on this thread. I have found a solution although not by fixing my AM21 to HR44 integration. I called DirecTV and demanded a refund on the AM21 OTA box since they sold it but will not support it. They offered a monthly discount on my bill instead which was more than I paid for the AM21. I am using that money to buy a TiVo Roamie OTA DVR. I used to have DirecTV TiVo DVR and like the TiVo OS better anyway! This TiVo Roamie box is independent of any cable or satellite provider. It just plugs into a different HDMI input on your TV. You pay TiVo a monthly service fee for the guide. They sell the Roamie with lifetime plan for about $399. And it's only $359 on Amazon. No monthly fee with the lifetime plan. And no more worry about whether the AM21 will work with newer Genies! Over and out!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HR44AM21, OTA, Toledo

Protected By... spam firewall...And...