Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

playback freezes during fast forward


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 12:51 PM

I have an HR44 with a C41 client and several times now I've been fast forwarding through commercials and the fast forward freezes and I have to hit play and "play through" the freeze zone.    It doesn't happen enough to know if it's shows, or device.   But I am usually using the C41 when it happens.   it's quite annoying because 1, it stops fast forward, and 2 coming out of the fast forward rewinds several seconds (10?) and I have to watch these things called commercials

 

Any suggestions?

 

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   budgoo

budgoo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 01:04 PM

My HR34/700 is acting similarly.  When I hit FF through an advertisement and then play the video portion freezes.  The audio portion of the recorded program continues as the video portion remains frozen.  There is no work around (that I know).  DirecTV is sending me a new unit.  It was only a month or so ago that I lost all my recordings on the same unit.  Trying to remember all the preset programming for record is not much fun either.  Here I go again.......



#3 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 02:17 PM

well, this isn't such a big problem that I want to replace my HR44 immediately, but if it continues I might ask for a replacement.  But I would still love to see a way to transfer my recordings somewhere so when the replacement arrives I can transfer them to the new HR



#4 OFFLINE   capnp72

capnp72

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
  • LocationJohnsburg, IL
Joined: Jan 10, 2014

Posted 17 February 2014 - 02:26 PM

There is no way to transfer recordings from one receiver to another.  If you replace your HR44, all recordings will be lost.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 February 2014 - 03:21 PM

I have an HR44 with a C41 client and several times now I've been fast forwarding through commercials and the fast forward freezes and I have to hit play and "play through" the freeze zone.    It doesn't happen enough to know if it's shows, or device.   But I am usually using the C41 when it happens.   it's quite annoying because 1, it stops fast forward, and 2 coming out of the fast forward rewinds several seconds (10?) and I have to watch these things called commercials

 

Any suggestions?

does this only happens when using FF?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 03:26 PM

does this only happens when using FF?

Yes,  only when I'm using FF.  It does not get hung up during play.



#7 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 03:27 PM

There is no way to transfer recordings from one receiver to another.  If you replace your HR44, all recordings will be lost.

I know that.  Hoping that one day that DirecTV will create a way to transfer recordings.  Probably something based on some sort of user account and cloud support.   



#8 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,117 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 February 2014 - 03:33 PM

I have an HR44 with a C41 client and several times now I've been fast forwarding through commercials and the fast forward freezes and I have to hit play and "play through" the freeze zone. It doesn't happen enough to know if it's shows, or device. But I am usually using the C41 when it happens. it's quite annoying because 1, it stops fast forward, and 2 coming out of the fast forward rewinds several seconds (10?) and I have to watch these things called commercials

Any suggestions?


Usually using the c41 or always? And what firmware is your c41 on?

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 February 2014 - 03:48 PM

Have you taken a look at your coax stats?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 04:54 PM

Have you taken a look at your coax stats?

how would I do that?



#11 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 04:55 PM

Usually using the c41 or always? And what firmware is your c41 on?

Right now I can't say.  We basically use the C41 as the primary TV and the HR44 is in the basement and gets used occasionally, and usually for live TV (sports, movies)  I'll keep an eye on it.

 

Current NR as far as I can tell,  will check later today



#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 February 2014 - 06:39 PM

how would I do that?

Press GUIDE and ARROW RIGHT at the same time on the front panel of the HR44


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 07:46 PM

Press GUIDE and ARROW RIGHT at the same time on the front panel of the HR44

Tuner 1   78%

Tuner 2   78%

Tuner 3   95%

Tuner 4   76%

Tuner 5   82%

Network Tuner 98%

 

PHY Level 

C41  #1      -18

C41  #2      -10

 

anything else I should be looking for?



#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:01 PM

 

 

PHY Level 

C41  #1      -18

C41  #2      -10

 

anything else I should be looking for?

how about your PHY MESH


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:11 PM

how about your PHY MESH

will look



#16 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:17 PM

ImageUploadedByDBSTalk1392689845.146476.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,696 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:36 PM

those are good values.  It might just be a defective client 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 February 2014 - 08:45 PM

Ok thanks. I can swap the heavily used client with the low usage one


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk




Protected By... spam firewall...And...