Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

C41-100nclient question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   trojwl

trojwl

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Feb 19, 2014

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:33 AM

Currently have main unit (HD DVR) with two C41-100 clients.  If I go to Ebay and buy another client, is it just plug and play or do I have to get DirecTV involved?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   capnp72

capnp72

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
  • LocationJohnsburg, IL
Joined: Jan 10, 2014

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:40 AM

I'm pretty sure the client would have to be activated by Directv and since almost all genies and clients are leased it's highly unlikely they would activate it on your account.  You can get one from an authorized dealer such as solidsignal and get it activated without issue.  If you get any hardware from ebay, get the serial number and call directv to make sure it can be activated on your account.



#3 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,998 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:42 AM

Yes you need to call DIRECTV to get a client license added to your account, unless you have an existing client you want to replace it with. Plus there are no 'owned' clients, if you add a C41, C31 or C41W to your account it will start a new 2 year commitment AFAIK.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:02 AM

Of course with any ebay sale you should call DIRECTV and confirm that the product can be transferred to you, unless you are sure you are working with a legitimate DIRECTV dealer.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:05 AM

Currently have main unit (HD DVR) with two C41-100 clients.  If I go to Ebay and buy another client, is it just plug and play or do I have to get DirecTV involved?

It is best to just call and add one to your account and let them come out and install it. Probably for the same cost or less than you buying one somewhere else.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   trojwl

trojwl

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Feb 19, 2014

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:11 AM

Actually I can get one on my doorstep in two days for a lot less money.  Also I have thirty-plus years experience in control systems and electronics.  I'm pretty sure I could follow instructions.



#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,716 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:15 AM

Actually I can get one on my doorstep in two days for a lot less money.  Also I have thirty-plus years experience in control systems and electronics.  I'm pretty sure I could follow instructions.

Then go for it.  Just make sure to double check with DirecTV if you can in fact activate such client 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 February 2014 - 10:18 AM

Actually I can get one on my doorstep in two days for a lot less money.  Also I have thirty-plus years experience in control systems and electronics.  I'm pretty sure I could follow instructions.

Not questioning your ability to hook one up. I can do the same and have done it in the past.

When I added an HR24 they came out and installed it for me and the total cost to me was $50. If I had bought the receiver at Solid Signal it was $199.

Then there was coax to be ran, etc.

 

Have you asked them what they would charge to add one ? You are not obligated to add it just for asking.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,718 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:45 PM

Actually I can get one on my doorstep in two days for a lot less money.

At $32.50 just for shipping, you would think it would be there quicker than two days.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





Protected By... spam firewall...And...