Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RC71 and Olevia TV


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 19 February 2014 - 11:16 AM

The remote has codes for the Olevia but will not program.  After pressing Mute and Select and getting the double flash I attempt to input the code.  The first input of the number 1 results in a double flash, the second input of a 1 produces a single flash, the next two numbers each produce a single flash.  Input of the fifth number results in a red flash and the code isn't saved.  I've attempted to bypass the second 1 assuming the double flash input indicate 1 has been entered twice but that doesn't work either.  Any thoughts are appreciated.

 



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 February 2014 - 11:27 AM

The RC71 has no 'on board" codes fro Olevia branded TV's.  any chance to get the RC71 program means that you need a compatible receiver (HR44/C41)


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,127 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 19 February 2014 - 11:30 AM

Try this.....


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 19 February 2014 - 11:52 AM

This particular TV is connected to a C41. 



#5 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:31 PM

So far, the only remote I have on hand that controls both the volume and on/off is the RC64R.  I like the ergonomics of the RC71.  Too bad I can't get it to work with the Olevia.  Works great on my three Panasonics.



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:55 PM

So far, the only remote I have on hand that controls both the volume and on/off is the RC64R.  I like the ergonomics of the RC71.  Too bad I can't get it to work with the Olevia.  Works great on my three Panasonics.

So why not use the C41 2 way communications feature to program the RC71 to your Olevia TV?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:57 PM

Try this..... 

There is so much "wrong" with that video


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,843 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:59 PM

So far, the only remote I have on hand that controls both the volume and on/off is the RC64R.  I like the ergonomics of the RC71.  Too bad I can't get it to work with the Olevia.  Works great on my three Panasonics.

From the DTV website for the RC71 and your Olevia TV.

 

There is no setup code indicated for your product.

You may still find a setup code that works for your device by stepping through the library codes in your remote. The following instructions will help you do this.

 

StepNSet

  • Set the "Mode Switch" to the desired mode such as TV for a Television.
  • Press and hold the "Mute" button and the "Select" button until the visible LED blinks twice.
  • Enter the code "991" followed by the "device number"
    • 1 for Televisions
    • 2 for "AUX 1" devices - VCRs or DVDs
    • 3 for "AUX 2" devices - Audio
  • You can step through the setup codes for this mode by pressing the "Channel Up" key to go forward through the codes or pressing the "Channel Down" key to go back to the previous codes.
  • You can try out each code by pressing one or more function keys such as power, volume or digit keys.
  • When you've found the setup code that works for your device, press the "Select" key.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#9 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 19 February 2014 - 08:50 PM

I didn't know the Client had such a capability.



#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:30 PM

give it a whirl and post back 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,100 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:31 PM

some of us might be looking for an excuse to go get a bigger TV too.

 

(just throwing out all the options)

 

 

:coffee



#12 OFFLINE   narrod

narrod

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 513 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 20 February 2014 - 09:59 AM

"give it a whirl and post back"

 

 

I would love to do so.  I don't know how and I've not been able to find instructions.


Edited by narrod, 20 February 2014 - 09:59 AM.


#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 February 2014 - 10:11 AM

"give it a whirl and post back"

 

 

I would love to do so.  I don't know how and I've not been able to find instructions.

on the RC71 and at this C41 location, press MENU -> Settings & Help -> SETTINGS -> REMOTE CONTROL -> PROGRAM REMOTE CONTROL and follow the instruction to set the RC71 to RF then to program your TV.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 22 February 2014 - 08:57 AM

Is there a fix yet for Samsung owners who use the RC71? The input selector has never worked. 


-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24

2 x C41

3 x RVU
SWM3-LNB


#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 February 2014 - 04:52 PM

Is there a fix yet for Samsung owners who use the RC71? The input selector has never worked. 

Are you pressing and holding the ENTER button? It works fine for my two Samsungs


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,348 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 22 February 2014 - 06:47 PM

...and on my four Samsungs....


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 February 2014 - 07:07 PM

...and on my four Samsungs....

yep, this appears to be "user error"


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,864 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 23 February 2014 - 02:01 AM

I thought about getting the RC71 remote for the HR44, but I don't need RF since it's on an open area, with no blockage, so the regular RC65 does the work, I just don't know how i'll get used to it with key buttons missing, and learning which buttons does what with regards to shortcuts or trickplay, I'm just too used to the old remotes.


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#19 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 23 February 2014 - 07:56 AM

For my RC71 I'm using code 54000 and the input key doesn't work even when pressed for several seconds., has the remote been updated or are you using another code for the input key to function? My Samsung model is 46F6300


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24

2 x C41

3 x RVU
SWM3-LNB


#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,343 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 February 2014 - 08:09 AM

For my RC71 I'm using code 54000 and the input key doesn't work even when pressed for several seconds., has the remote been updated or are you using another code for the input key to function? My Samsung model is 46F6300


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

so you are using the TV as an RVU client and as such the remote is in "Samsung RVU" mode, correct?  if that is the case, than I am not sure.  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...