Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Receiver powered deca without receiver

deca

Best Answer Beerstalker , 27 February 2014 - 01:06 PM

Here's the same thing on Amazon for $9.

 

http://www.amazon.co...1&keywords=DECA

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nachumk

nachumk

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 26 February 2014 - 04:11 PM

Hi all,

 

I have DirecTV with a DEC1MR0-01 and DECABB1MR0-01 (I think that's the version of the broadband adapter). This was set up a long time ago where the BB was connected to Comcast and the the DECA was connected to the Receiver. Right after it was hooked up, I hijacked the ethernet from the DECA and connected it to a router to provide wired internet to multiple devices (and not just the receiver). Now I'm cancelling DirecTV, and I no longer have the receiver. I would like to still use this setup. Can this be done? Looks like I need power for the DECA, but is that all I need? I saw that there is a PS18DERO-03 that some people say provides power to the DECA, but the images show a non-coaxial end. Is this what I need?

 

Thanks,

Nachum



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,991 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 26 February 2014 - 04:50 PM

Look closer that is a coaxial female end.  And yes, that all you need.  Basically a deca module and power for the deca on both ends and you are set.



#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,531 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:20 PM

As long as you aren't going to cable/OTA, you should be okay. DECA and cable/OTA are NOT compatible.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:34 PM

there has been two types of BB DECAs of DECAs.  the first generation used a non-coax tip for the power supply.  The newer one uses a coax tip for its power supply.  Which DECA BB do you have?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   nachumk

nachumk

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 26 February 2014 - 09:38 PM

Thanks for the replies. I'm looking for the PS18DERO-03, but it isn't widely available (only some used ones on ebay). Are there any other alternatives to PS18DERO-03? Or are there other DECA devices that I can use instead (ones that come with power supplies)?



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 February 2014 - 09:45 PM

 are there other DECA devices that I can use instead (ones that come with power supplies)?

http://www.solidsign...PR0-01&ss=39279


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   nachumk

nachumk

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 26 February 2014 - 10:44 PM

$60 for that device :(. I was hoping for a less expensive solution. It looks like the PS18DERO-03 supplies 18v at .3A. I can buy an adapter to supply this same voltage and amperage, and I can connect the coaxial end to it. Assuming I get all the pieces right, would this work?

 

Thanks again!

Nachum



#8 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,991 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 27 February 2014 - 12:23 AM

Just get it off eBay.

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 February 2014 - 06:28 AM

$60 for that device :(

When ever we post a link to a product, is not an absolute, this is just a starting point and its up to you to do the "research" if you want to find it cheaper.  Pretty much, the links are for "informational" use only 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   nachumk

nachumk

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationCalifornia
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 27 February 2014 - 10:28 AM

Would a standard AC adapter work, when wired to a coaxial connector? Is there something else that would be missing if I did this. (18v .3A)


Edited by nachumk, 27 February 2014 - 10:29 AM.


#11 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 27 February 2014 - 01:06 PM   Best Answer

Here's the same thing on Amazon for $9.

 

http://www.amazon.co...1&keywords=DECA


Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 February 2014 - 04:48 PM

Here's the same thing on Amazon for $9.

 

http://www.amazon.co...1&keywords=DECA

Good find!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,340 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 27 February 2014 - 05:37 PM

I bought the same thing on eBay a few months ago for $6 with free shipping.  They probably fell off the truck somewhere.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: deca

spam firewall