Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whole Home and Internet Random dropouts.


Best Answer Rigger01 , 08 March 2014 - 01:19 PM

hat run to

You came for one problem and it looks like it's fixed.

While looking at your diagram, I see problems with the long runs.

I would add the amps, and "wait and see" what happens with the 330' guy "before" I change that run to RG11.

If the 330' run isn't going to be used, no point changing it to RG11.

I only count 3 runs, out of all of them, that without amps I'm comfortable with.

 

BTW the amp on the left is backwards.

 

Amps ordered.  Everything you have told me so far has helped 100%.  AMP on the left is now fixed.  I will let you know when the amps are installed.

 

i358r8.jpg

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,841 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:08 PM

A schematic would be very useful.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,983 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:08 PM

Yeah the splitter you have there will not work. Green label Ones can be gotten from solid signal.

#23 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:51 PM

A schematic would be very useful.

 

I would gladly do one.  Is there any tool to help with this? or Am i on my own?



#24 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,700 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2014 - 03:03 PM

Your mesh numbers show what I expected.

Green labeled splitters are a much because they're made for the DECA networking.

I've tried to explain how to maximize your networking by reducing the loss.

 

"OTA" is a port on the NAS diplexer. This part is approved by DirecTV and has three ports.

The common would be connected to the splitter, the SAT port to the SWiM, and the OTA taps the DECA signal out so you can connect it to the other diplexer.

 

Here's an image where the diplexer is used to combine the DECA signal between two SWiMs.

It's  more complex and not what you need, "but" shows the splitter and diplexer:

http://www.dbstalk.c...im-isnt-enough/


  • Rigger01 likes this
A.K.A VOS

#25 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 28 February 2014 - 03:38 PM

Ordered the needed parts.



#26 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,161 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 28 February 2014 - 10:53 PM

I would gladly do one.  Is there any tool to help with this? or Am i on my own?

 

If you have a Google Account, you can use Google Drive (Docs) and create a drawing.

 

Once you sign in click here or go to https://docs.google.com click 'Create' > 'Drawing'

 

once you finish go to File > Download as > JPEG or PNG image and attach it to a post here.


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#27 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 01 March 2014 - 01:20 PM

Here it is. This is my first attempt at this. Please be gentle.  This is my current setup before any of the changes that old school suggested.  I am going to start one that reflects his suggestions even though I am not entirely sure I understand all of it. (4 40' runs from Dish to SWM)

 

30ag8d2.jpg

Attached Thumbnails

  • DTV_CURRENT_3_1_14.jpg

Edited by Rigger01, 01 March 2014 - 01:23 PM.


#28 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,983 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 01 March 2014 - 01:41 PM

Silly question, but you do have the unused ports terminated properly on the splitters yes? Also, how did you set up your power supply for your swim16? I would connect it to the power only port on the swim16 myself.

And trust me,vos knows.. ;). Take your time figuring it out,he will lead you to better signals.

#29 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 01 March 2014 - 01:52 PM

Silly question, but you do have the unused ports terminated properly on the splitters yes? Also, how did you set up your power supply for your swim16? I would connect it to the power only port on the swim16 myself.

And trust me,vos knows.. ;). Take your time figuring it out,he will lead you to better signals.

 

None of the empty ports on the 8way's are "open".  They have the screw on covers that come with it.  Do I need something different? The power is plugged directly in to the Grey SWM 16 Power port. I just did a sketch. I think I have it. Will post it soonish.



#30 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 01 March 2014 - 02:40 PM

OK, you've got some work here.

You will have reduced networking when close to -45, so "Here's what I would do":

 

1) move the H25 245'-0", H21 330'-0", HR21 242'-0", and HR22 140'-0" or HR-21 138'-0" to a 4-way splitter. This will reduce the loss by 3 dB and keep the longest runs on the same splitter so the loss between them is the least.

 

2) move the HR22 140'-0" or HR-21 138'-0", H24 197'-0", H23 180'-0", H24 150'-0", H25 179'-0", H23 178'-0", and H25 175'-0" to the same 8-way splitter. The shorter lengths will help with the loss of the 8-way.

 

3) Connect the broadband DECA with a 2-way splitter to the line for the HR22 or 21 on the 4-way as this is the shortest run and the PI to the -16 power port.

 

4) get two of these: http://www.solidsign...sing-(std-9501)

Add them between the splitters and the SWiM-16 outputs and connect the OTA ports to each other. This will bridge the DECA between the two outputs instead of using the internal bridge of the -16 and decrease the loss by about 5 dB.

 

This should bring the losses down to less than 40 and get the network within specs.

 

After these changes, I'd check the LEDs and both test screens. The levels should be under -40 and the mesh "should be" around 240+.

If there still is a problem with the LEDs, the mesh screen should also show it with low numbers.

 

Before going into any further steps, please post the results of the two screens.

 

Ok.  I think this is what veryoldschool suggested.  Please let me know what I need to change if anything.

 

34ir96v.jpg


Edited by Rigger01, 01 March 2014 - 03:26 PM.


#31 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 March 2014 - 06:27 PM

I would make the following changes.  move the H24 197 to the 4 way so that way you have the longest runs in a smaller splitter (less loss.  move the HR22 140 to the 8 way.  since the DECA BB is "home run" I would leave it on the 8 way to avoid using another splitter. remove the 2 way

 

Whole-Home-and-Internet-Random-dropouts.Click for large view - Uploaded with Skitch


  • Rigger01 likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#32 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 01 March 2014 - 06:48 PM

Ok. That makes sense.  Hopefully veryoldschool will put in his 2 cents.  The parts are ordered and should be here by Wednesday.  We are expecting a big snow storm on Monday now so everything will get delayed I am sure.



#33 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,700 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2014 - 02:23 PM

Peds picked up on something I thought about later.

There will be a free port on the 8-way splitter that the DECA can use.

Do Not change a HR for a H on the 8-way because you already will have 8 tuners.

While the coax run is longer, the tuner limit means it has to be on the 8-way.

 

The diplexers were connected backwards and "the common" port has to go to the splitter.

 

I just got back from the hospital, so this is a quick and dirty edit, but should get the right info across [I hope]:

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • DECA-16.PNG

A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 March 2014 - 02:32 PM

 

Do Not change a HR for a H on the 8-way because you already will have 8 tuners.

 

uhhh, missed that, sorry


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#35 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,700 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2014 - 03:20 PM

uhhh, missed that, sorry

You caught the DECA and "I know' you were looking at the cable loss, "but" even in my condition, I didn't think you could catch me twice. :lol:

I had a week of poor health and now don't have a gallbladder, but feel better.


A.K.A VOS

#36 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 02 March 2014 - 03:26 PM



Since I don't see it mentioned, do your 8 way splitters have terminators on all unused ports?  If not add them.

 

Also the H23 without a DECA attached to it should have a bandstop filter (I doubt this is causing your issue, but you should fix it).

 

 



Peds picked up on something I thought about later.

There will be a free port on the 8-way splitter that the DECA can use.

Do Not change a HR for a H on the 8-way because you already will have 8 tuners.

While the coax run is longer, the tuner limit means it has to be on the 8-way.

 

The diplexers were connected backwards and "the common" port has to go to the splitter.

 

I just got back from the hospital, so this is a quick and dirty edit, but should get the right info across [I hope]:

 

2nq6uco.jpg

 

OK.  I added the bandstop filter that Beerstalker suggested and I made the changes that oldschool stated.  Let me know if this is now set in stone.



#37 OFFLINE   Rigger01

Rigger01

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
  • LocationNYC
Joined: Feb 26, 2014

Posted 02 March 2014 - 03:27 PM

You caught the DECA and "I know' you were looking at the cable loss, "but" even in my condition, I didn't think you could catch me twice. :lol:

I had a week of poor health and now don't have a gallbladder, but feel better.

 

Sorry to hear about that. Feel better and take it easy.



#38 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,700 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2014 - 03:41 PM

Sorry to hear about that. Feel better and take it easy.

After a rough week, I do and have a full bottle of pain pills so "I'm set" !rolling

 

Your latest drawing looks good.

When you get the diplexers, check the markings for which port is which. They make two models, and "more than likely" what you'll get will be reversed from the image.

It's a minor change and "only means" to look before you connect. :lol:


A.K.A VOS

#39 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,700 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2014 - 04:03 PM

2vafpdi.jpg

Hopefully with these changes the highest will be 40-42 [or less].


A.K.A VOS

#40 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 March 2014 - 04:07 PM

 

I had a week of poor health and now don't have a gallbladder, but feel better.

who needs one of those.... !rolling

 

Wishing you a speedy recovery 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall