Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 Responds Better On Remote Smartphone App Than Regular Remote


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 26 February 2014 - 10:29 PM

As the title says why does it responds better on a smartphone app than on the physical remote itself? It should be the other way around, Don't get me wrong I do like the idea of using the smartphone as a remote, but it should be the same way as using the regular remote control, there shouldn't be lags on remote presses, I know I'm beating the dead horse here but it shouldn't be that way. 


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 26 February 2014 - 10:31 PM

I know it's not low batteries or IR issues, this was never a problem 3 years ago when it was quite fast with responses but with several updates throughout it really slowed down


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#3 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 February 2014 - 10:50 PM

Try RF on the RC 71 and see if it's not as fast as IP....


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#4 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 26 February 2014 - 11:08 PM

I don't have the original white RF remote neither the RC71 IR/RF remote, But I did had one before(original) but it made no difference.


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 February 2014 - 06:37 AM

Try RF on the RC 71 and see if it's not as fast as IP....

RF on the RC71 won't work with an HR24.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,295 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 27 February 2014 - 07:28 AM

See if holding mute+select until it flashes twice, entering the code 963 then chan down helps any.



#7 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 27 February 2014 - 08:43 AM

RF on the RC71 won't work with an HR24.

Duh on me. Of course it won't! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,799 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 February 2014 - 10:54 AM

As the title says why does it responds better on a smartphone app than on the physical remote itself? It should be the other way around, Don't get me wrong I do like the idea of using the smartphone as a remote, but it should be the same way as using the regular remote control, there shouldn't be lags on remote presses, I know I'm beating the dead horse here but it shouldn't be that way. 

 

Have you tried rebooting twice within 30 minutes to flush the Guide data?  That usually works for me if an HR gets a bit slow.   

 

Rich



#9 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 595 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 27 February 2014 - 12:27 PM

What does the 963 thing do???


Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 February 2014 - 01:23 PM

What does the 963 thing do???

963- turns off the remote id signal sent with each button press


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 28 February 2014 - 01:07 AM

Believe me I tried many of those mentioned even clearing nvram on ch 1, even when I reboot, it would respond better for probably a few hours or minutes then it slows again, rinse and repeat. I'll just switch the HR44 I have in the LR to the bedroom, and the HR24 in the LR, plus the EHD on both receivers.

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#12 OFFLINE   hancox

hancox

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 28 February 2014 - 08:20 AM

I've always noticed same on my HR24, too.  Network remote response is nearly instantaneous, remote less so.



#13 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,659 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:37 PM

963- turns off the remote id signal sent with each button press


Which by the way I don't think exists in the new rc 71 remotes. Or something is a little different about their ir at least.

#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:47 PM

Which by the way I don't think exists in the new rc 71 remotes. Or something is a little different about their ir at least.

and who is "talking" about RC71s here?  The TS has an HR24


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,659 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 February 2014 - 02:48 PM

I know. I'm just saying that they seemed to have changed how it all works for the next generation of stuff. An a rc71 would control a HR24 if he wanted. ;)

#16 OFFLINE   m4p

m4p

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 03 March 2014 - 05:52 PM

See if holding mute+select until it flashes twice, entering the code 963 then chan down helps any.

I also have an HR24-500, and I'm using a remote in RF mode.  The remote is horrible.  When I go to press channel 300, for example, the result will be either 30, 000, 33, etc.  When I'm scrolling through the guide, it will scroll past what I'm trying to select.  It's very frustrating.  I even tried another RF remote with the same results.   Do you think this 963 code would help me at all?


HR24-500 HDMI to Sharp LC-52D62U LCD, native on
Networked using Netgear R6300
Harmony 670 remote


#17 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,884 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 03 March 2014 - 05:58 PM

Making a slight adjustment in how you press the buttons is suggested. Perhaps a touch slower and firmer. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,794 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 March 2014 - 08:02 PM

I also have an HR24-500, and I'm using a remote in RF mode.  The remote is horrible.  When I go to press channel 300, for example, the result will be either 30, 000, 33, etc.  When I'm scrolling through the guide, it will scroll past what I'm trying to select.  It's very frustrating.  I even tried another RF remote with the same results.   Do you think this 963 code would help me at all?

it seems like you will benefit from a double reboot in a 30 minute window 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 04 March 2014 - 06:04 AM

I also have an HR24-500, and I'm using a remote in RF mode.  The remote is horrible.  When I go to press channel 300, for example, the result will be either 30, 000, 33, etc.  When I'm scrolling through the guide, it will scroll past what I'm trying to select.  It's very frustrating.  I even tried another RF remote with the same results.   Do you think this 963 code would help me at all?

I have 3 HR24-500's.  They remote response in RF mode was exactly as you described.  The fix for me was to use the nextgen RF remote extender.  This little device works like a champ and fixes what Directv could not.



#20 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,799 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 March 2014 - 11:49 AM

I also have an HR24-500, and I'm using a remote in RF mode.  The remote is horrible.  When I go to press channel 300, for example, the result will be either 30, 000, 33, etc.  When I'm scrolling through the guide, it will scroll past what I'm trying to select.  It's very frustrating.  I even tried another RF remote with the same results.   Do you think this 963 code would help me at all?

 

Put it in IR mode.  I had the same problems and that solved them.  If that doesn't work, flush the Guide data by rebooting twice in quick succession.  

 

Rich



#21 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,799 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 March 2014 - 11:51 AM

I have 3 HR24-500's.  They remote response in RF mode was exactly as you described.  The fix for me was to use the nextgen RF remote extender.  This little device works like a champ and fixes what Directv could not.

 

Again, they'll probably work fine in IR mode.  Did you try that?

 

Rich



#22 OFFLINE   m4p

m4p

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 04 March 2014 - 05:50 PM

Making a slight adjustment in how you press the buttons is suggested. Perhaps a touch slower and firmer. 

 

Yeah, I have been trying that, but no luck.  I wish my Harmony remote was RF as it is a much better remote than the Directv one.  I would look into an RF Harmony, but I wonder if the problem is more with how the HR24-500 responds with RF remotes in general.

 

it seems like you will benefit from a double reboot in a 30 minute window 

 

Thank you, I am going to try this.  

I have 3 HR24-500's.  They remote response in RF mode was exactly as you described.  The fix for me was to use the nextgen RF remote extender.  This little device works like a champ and fixes what Directv could not.

Thanks, it's good to know it's not just my HR24-500.  Is that the Directv one, the one with 71 in the name?

 

Put it in IR mode.  I had the same problems and that solved them.  If that doesn't work, flush the Guide data by rebooting twice in quick succession.  

 

Rich

Thanks, yeah IR works perfectly.  I was hoping to use the RF mode as the receiver is in a cabinet, plus it's in the bedroom so it's nice not having to point directly at the receiver.


HR24-500 HDMI to Sharp LC-52D62U LCD, native on
Networked using Netgear R6300
Harmony 670 remote


#23 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,799 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 05 March 2014 - 12:31 PM

Yeah, I have been trying that, but no luck.  I wish my Harmony remote was RF as it is a much better remote than the Directv one.  I would look into an RF Harmony, but I wonder if the problem is more with how the HR24-500 responds with RF remotes in general.

 

 

Thank you, I am going to try this.  

Thanks, it's good to know it's not just my HR24-500.  Is that the Directv one, the one with 71 in the name?

 

Thanks, yeah IR works perfectly.  I was hoping to use the RF mode as the receiver is in a cabinet, plus it's in the bedroom so it's nice not having to point directly at the receiver.

 

 

Apparently, it's the 24-500s that have the problem.  I see no such problems with my 24-100s or my 24-200.  In fact, I only have the problem on two 24-500s that are connected to the same SWM16.  Texasbrit and I discussed this and he couldn't see what the SWM had to do with it.  Still seems strange to me that three other 24-500s on another SWM16 don't have this problem, but we hit a dead end and the discussion stopped.  Still don't know what caused the problem in the first place.

 

You really get a stronger signal with the remote in IR and you don't have to point it directly at the HR.  But I have one 24-100 that refuses to work in RF and that's in a room where I have to move it a lot to get the IR remote to work.  That HR gets used as a server.

 

Rich 



#24 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 05 March 2014 - 01:02 PM

Again, they'll probably work fine in IR mode.  Did you try that?

 

Rich

The 3 HR's are stacked in a A/V closet in the basement.  Need RF.



#25 OFFLINE   Joe C

Joe C

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 05 March 2014 - 01:06 PM

 

Thank you, I am going to try this.  

Thanks, it's good to know it's not just my HR24-500.  Is that the Directv one, the one with 71 in the name?

 

It is this http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B000C1Z0HA

 

 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...