Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Cord Cutters - The Next Generation; "The Copper Droppers"


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,292 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 12 March 2014 - 12:15 PM

When the power was during Sandy for 11 days. The Landline kept working. When The power was out for days from a previous storm the landline kept working.

 

When The power was out because of sandy, The cellphone worked some of the time and did not work some of the time. It seemed that it depended on time time of day whether it was overloaded and unavailable or not. It was reliable after Midnight until sunrise, Wheee.

 

I think I'll keep the $27 a month landline for now.

 

TBoneit


  • wingrider01 likes this
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,605 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 12 March 2014 - 03:39 PM

I wouldn't call switching to fiber as giving up the copper as there is still a physical connection.

 

It's in area where the communication companies are only offering wireless as an upgrade, that I find unsettling.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#28 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,343 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 12 March 2014 - 04:48 PM

I wouldn't call switching to fiber as giving up the copper as there is still a physical connection.

 

It's in area where the communication companies are only offering wireless as an upgrade, that I find unsettling.

But we've used wireless almost the last century for AM- FM, TV and other radio communications.   Why is it unsettling to you?


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#29 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,292 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 12 March 2014 - 05:14 PM

I wouldn't call switching to fiber as giving up the copper as there is still a physical connection.

 

It's in area where the communication companies are only offering wireless as an upgrade, that I find unsettling.

 

The problem is that the battery backup for the FIOS equipment in the home will not keep the system going for days. If I had VOIP or FIOS when the power was out over a week, My phone would have been out too.

 

TBoneit
 


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#30 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6,038 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 12 March 2014 - 06:30 PM

In an extended power outage, I think Fiber would be the least desirable.

 

Voice over copper is fairly independent of utility power.  As long as their system has power and/or their batteries hold out and the wiring is intact, you'll have dialtone even if you don't have power.  You may or may not have DSL or other data though, even if you have local power for the modem.

 

With wireless/cellular, you have to hope the towers have power and there isn't too much traffic clutter.

 

For fiber and cable, you have to have power for the set-top box/modem to get anything now since most cable systems have gone digital.  You would not have voice if you didn't have a way to power the adapter.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#31 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,292 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 13 March 2014 - 08:25 AM

SayWhat?, Thank You. In terms of desirability from best to worth for voice, That is more or less how I feel.

 

Prior to Sandy the person that bought the location (franchise) where I was working switched over to VOIP. It took the cable people several days and visits trying different models and brands of equipment to get Voice, Internet, The Fax machine and the Credit card reader to be able to connect. They were able to get 3 out of 4 working reliably, Getting all four going took a while. In a location where many of the transactions were via credit card and the work bench needed Internet and the Phones were needed to call customers and tell them their equipment was repaired that wasn't good.

 

Then there were the times the Phone would go out for 1 or 2 days. When we had Verizon landline phone at least everything did not have one point of failure. Then There were the Verizon Lies. We were a little far for DSL and never got the full rated speed. So when Cable became available for our location we jumped on it. Internet speed went from 500K to 20meg so I got the task of calling Verizon to cancel the DSL. I was told why not keep it and see if You want to switch back. Keep it for a year at no cost. Sure enough they kept billing anyway. Since it was verbal no way to contest it either.

 

Which explains my desire not to go to FIOS fiber or Cable phone service.

 

Cheers

TBoneit


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#32 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,605 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 26 March 2014 - 10:42 AM

Verizon Accused of Forcing Internet Phones on Land-line Users

SOURCE LA TIMES


Edited by Drucifer, 26 March 2014 - 10:43 AM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#33 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,605 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 21 June 2014 - 03:08 PM

I find this statement rather amazing . . . .

 

Now Verizon is squabbling with customers and government regulators who want the company to rebuild the network exactly as it was.

. . . .

And many replacement parts for Sandy-flattened infrastructure aren't manufactured anymore - forcing repair crews to scour eBay for hardware.

 

 

SOURCE


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-700, Bsm: HR24-100, Den HR24-200, MB: HR24-500, Kit: H25-500
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#34 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,343 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 22 June 2014 - 06:35 AM

With the change in technology, it makes absolutely no sense to rebuild it as it was.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...