Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How would you do it?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Snapaniac

Snapaniac

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2010

Posted 06 March 2014 - 09:18 AM

I just built a new house and had the entire place wired for CAT6 networking. I have a Genie in the living room and 3 HR24s in other bedrooms. I have SWIM 16 installed. The installer left without installing the "connected home adapter" (I'm guessing it's the DECA Broadband).

 

Question is, can you (and would you) just plug the ethernet cable into the back of the Genie for internet access? Or would you use the DECA Broadband adapter? If you used the ethernet cable to the back of the genie, would I need to plug in other ethernet cables into the back of each HR24?

 

Currently my internet acces is 110 down and 11 up

 

Thanks!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 06 March 2014 - 09:23 AM

Yep, just plug in the ethernet and run the network setup on the Genie.  The other units should pick it up over the coax.


Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#3 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,527 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 06 March 2014 - 10:13 AM

I'd second that.  I've been using an Ethernet connection from a small switch in my LR entertainment center plugged into a 34.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#4 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,474 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 06 March 2014 - 12:01 PM

When I had my HR44 installed, I removed my CCK and connected Ethernet directly to my Genie.  I then used the Ethernet wire that was previously connected to the CCK (in a different room than the one where the Genie was installed) to connect a new GenieGo to my network.



#5 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,257 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 06 March 2014 - 06:00 PM

I personally like using a wired CCK, which is separate from the Genie and keeps all receivers connected even if the HR44 is restarted, locked up etc.


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#6 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,352 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 March 2014 - 07:18 PM

And do not double up by connecting both ways! Your instinct was on the money.

Enjoy!



Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,975 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 March 2014 - 08:42 PM

I personally like using a wired CCK, which is separate from the Genie and keeps all receivers connected even if the HR44 is restarted, locked up etc.

Yep, I prefer this way as well.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...