Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Add/Drop C41 Client from account


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   WB4CS

WB4CS

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 108 posts
  • LocationHuntsville, AL
Joined: Dec 12, 2013

Posted 10 March 2014 - 11:17 AM

I'm hoping the smart folks here can save me a call to Customer Support. 

 

I have a HR44 with two C41 clients, all of my equipment is leased. One of the C41 clients is in a bedroom that rarely gets used. Other than when the occasional weekend guest stays over, that client is usually unplugged. I'd like to save myself the $6 a month and disconnect that client. 

 

Question 1: What I'd like to do is have the C41 available, and if someone stays the week or weekend, call and reactivate the receiver and then disconnect it when they leave. Will DirecTV allow you to activate/deactivate a receiver "at will" at any time during the billing cycle? 

 

Question 2: I'm assuming that since my equipment is leased, when I call to deactivate the client I will have to send it back to DirectTV. Do you think they would allow me to buy that receiver (add the cost to my bill)? If not, I'm guessing I could buy one from SolidSignal and activate it when needed, provided that Question 1 is a "yes." 

 

Question 3: Is this worth the trouble of saving $6 a month? SolidSignal sells them for $99, so it would take 17 months of being deactivated for the purchased C41 to pay for itself. I imagine that the receiver would be activated probably a total of 3 months out of the year. Sometimes the mother-in-law stays over for a week and that's why I'd like to keep the option of giving her access to what she wants to watch when she's over. 

 

Thoughts and suggestions?

 

Thanks!

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 10 March 2014 - 11:25 AM

Looking at Solid Signal, it doesn't appear that they are 'selling' you a C41 as they mention the lease.  I suspect like lots of other D* equipment that SS 'sells' it is just the leased version of the box.


Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#3 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,851 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 10 March 2014 - 12:58 PM

You need to get a RVU television, if you plan to keep the set out of the DerecTV most of the time. But they'll quickly catch on to 'frequent' adding and subtraction of it.

 

Think it been reported the smallest RVU TV is 32".

 

It is also a rather expensive way to save $6.00.


Edited by Drucifer, 10 March 2014 - 01:00 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#4 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,087 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 10 March 2014 - 01:00 PM

"Perfect" application for a mirror off another box and an RF remote.  

 

Too bad D* makes it so difficult.

 

The Monoprice component to composite converter is around $50 or so, and I've seen cheap channel 3/4 modulators on close out at Shopko for $15.  RF remotes are on sale at Solid Signal from time to time, so for a similar price for having a rarely used client on account, the guest room could be mirrored.

 

If local OTA is desired, add a VHF/UHF combiner/splitter for UHF only markets and have mirror and OTA on one wire.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 March 2014 - 01:09 PM

Since the client is leased it will have to go back to directv once is deactivated. Solid signal $99 price is actually a lease and not a purchase so save applies. You would need to find a truly owned client in order to activate and deactivate at will


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   WB4CS

WB4CS

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 108 posts
  • LocationHuntsville, AL
Joined: Dec 12, 2013

Posted 10 March 2014 - 01:16 PM

Thanks for the input all, I had a feeling that was going to be how it would go. 

 

I'll probably just keep that box active, $6/Mo isn't really that big of a deal to keep it active. 



#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 March 2014 - 01:20 PM

Make sure you keep it plugged in so it gets the firmware updates on time


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 10 March 2014 - 04:33 PM

Get a wireless client and only move it into the guest room when needed.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,549 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 10 March 2014 - 06:15 PM

Make sure you keep it plugged in so it gets the firmware updates on time

Will it update without being pushed by a Genie?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#10 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,155 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 10 March 2014 - 06:45 PM

I have a wireless client that I move around to 3 different locations as each one is rarely used.  Then I don't need to call and activate each time.  But we usually have to go through the "Add Client" via PIN each time.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 March 2014 - 06:46 PM

I have a wireless client that I move around to 3 different locations as each one is rarely used.  Then I don't need to call and activate each time.  But we usually have to go through the "Add Client" via PIN each time.

But you are "special" on this regard, if you follow my drift...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 March 2014 - 06:47 PM

Will it update without being pushed by a Genie?

not sure I follow...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,155 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 10 March 2014 - 08:16 PM

Actually, I mis-spoke. It isnt a wireless. It is a wired C41. I move it to rooms where I deactivated previous receivers, so there is coax at each location.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using DBSTalk mobile app

"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#14 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,442 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 11 March 2014 - 09:24 AM

I'm hoping the smart folks here can save me a call to Customer Support. 

 

I have a HR44 with two C41 clients, all of my equipment is leased. One of the C41 clients is in a bedroom that rarely gets used. Other than when the occasional weekend guest stays over, that client is usually unplugged. I'd like to save myself the $6 a month and disconnect that client. 

 

I think that you will have a very difficult time finding an owned client to purchase.  If you have available SWM channels for an extra tuner or two, you're probably better off trying to find an owned receiver or DVR on ebay and replace the client with that.



#15 ONLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,300 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 11 March 2014 - 10:36 AM

I don't think there is such a thing as an "owned" client (C31/41).* I believe they are all considered leased. If someone were to sell you an "owned" C31/41 client, I believe DIRECTV would activate it as leased and start a 2 year commitment.

 

The exception is an RVU capable TV. That is obviously not leased.

 

* This is only my personal understanding and not information from an official channel.


Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99





spam firewall