Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGO 2 First Look


  • Please log in to reply
124 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 03 April 2014 - 09:08 PM

But you'd better ask for a GenieGo! (The two hasn't been released, and afaik, no date has been publicized.)

 

BTW, thought I mentioned it earlier, but don't see it: Nice work, gentlemen and lady!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   dbronstein

dbronstein

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,144 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 03 April 2014 - 09:38 PM

Depends. If you can stream at 1.5mb or faster, you'll see maximum PQ either way.
At slower speeds, streaming PQ will likely be inferior.

 

So what is the PQ when you load a file?



#53 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 April 2014 - 05:02 AM

So what is the PQ when you load a file?

GenieGo 2 video image quality is very good on a tablet - at least on a WIN 8.1 tablet. It also is very good on an Android (Jelly Bean OS) tablet. iPad users can testify about their experiences.

 

While the actual video is reproduced in something other than HD itself. on many devices the quality of the video is solid enough that some folks may very well ask you if it is HD. That experience happened to some of the field testers. That is as much a function of the video processor capabilities to refine imagery in the playback device as it is the trancoded file itself.

 

The issue of producing HD video is a challenge based on securing copyright protection primarily. SInce GenieGo produces files retained on mobile devices, those files must maintain copyright protection/encryption on HD content. SD content does not have this mandate. It seems that the easier path was to do the best job possible at SD video and avoid the headaches of attempting HD copy-protected files...it was likely not a limit based on the GenieGo 2 hardware.


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#54 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 04 April 2014 - 06:06 AM

So what is the PQ when you load a file?

 

Comparable to a standard DVD, ~720x480. Looks good on a phone, 7" device and a 1024x768 iPad 2 or PC laptop, but "soft", IMHO, on an iPad with retina display. Definitely watchable, tho. The screen grabs below are from an iPad Air.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0342.PNG
  • IMG_0343.PNG
  • IMG_0344.PNG

/steve

#55 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,051 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 April 2014 - 07:41 AM

DIRECTV will never guarantee you a GenieGO 2 -- like DVRs, they consider all GenieGO devices are equal. The only way to get one will be through your favorite third party retailer.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#56 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 04 April 2014 - 12:04 PM

Comparable to a standard DVD, ~720x480. Looks good on a phone, 7" device and a 1024x768 iPad 2 or PC laptop, but "soft", IMHO, on an iPad with retina display. Definitely watchable, tho. The screen grabs below are from an iPad Air.

Just to give some form of comparison...here is a WIN8.1 tablet screen shot....

Attached Thumbnails

  • 040414 GenieGo2 WIN8 Screen Capture.jpg

DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#57 OFFLINE   biggie4852

biggie4852

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 04 April 2014 - 01:44 PM

I wish mines would just work, DTV included it with my Genie upgrade last year it never work. I have Verizon Fios and Genie Go will not recognize or configure the Actiontec MW424WR router for some reason.


54" Panny G25
50" Viera TC-P50S2
37" Syntax Olevia LCD 37HVS

(1)HR21-700
(2)HR23-700

#58 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 04 April 2014 - 02:15 PM

I used a Galaxy Note 10.1 during the trial.  The app would not run until another tester told me that he had to disable developer options on his Android device.  After I did that, it worked perfectly.  You might try that.

Tried it, Developer options had not been enabled on my Tab. Enabled then disabled and still no joy.

Starts to load the app and then just hangs with a black screen.

The app works on my Galaxy phone though, but old eyes need a bigger screen.



#59 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,199 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 April 2014 - 03:08 PM

I wish mines would just work, DTV included it with my Genie upgrade last year it never work. I have Verizon Fios and Genie Go will not recognize or configure the Actiontec MW424WR router for some reason.

there is a thread here some where by litzdog911 dealing with your same router and apparently the same issue. If you find it you might find it useful


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#60 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,856 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 04 April 2014 - 07:02 PM

I wish mines would just work, DTV included it with my Genie upgrade last year it never work. I have Verizon Fios and Genie Go will not recognize or configure the Actiontec MW424WR router for some reason.

 

See if this helps ....

http://www.dbstalk.c...7&hl=+actiontec

 

Mine works fine now.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#61 OFFLINE   BMWBig6

BMWBig6

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 05 April 2014 - 06:25 AM

Any chance they are going to fix the Geniego app to work with more tablets and devices?

It still does not work with the Galaxy Tab. The list of "approved" android devices is quite short.

 

It doesn't work with Dell Venue 8 (Android) either.  :(  I'm hoping the Android app will be updated to accommodate the new GenieGo 2 device.


Ben

DirecTV HR44-700 (Genie), C41-500 (Genie Mini), HR24-200, HR24-100, Genie Go (Nomad)


#62 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 07 April 2014 - 12:02 AM

Would love to get higher quality video from my Genie 1 I already own even if it takes longer.

#63 OFFLINE   P.R Bandit

P.R Bandit

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationNew York City
Joined: Feb 20, 2014

Posted 07 April 2014 - 07:37 PM

Looks better, sounds better. I had the Home Cinema Kit for about 5 months and couldn't use it because Directv didn't send me the DECA that went with it. Just last week they came over and installed it all. Now I see what I want to where I want to. When this comes out, I'll ask for it..


Everybody's gonna hurt you. You just gotta find those worth suffering for.


#64 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 08 April 2014 - 06:03 AM

Looks better, sounds better. I had the Home Cinema Kit for about 5 months and couldn't use it because Directv didn't send me the DECA that went with it. Just last week they came over and installed it all. Now I see what I want to where I want to. When this comes out, I'll ask for it..

They'll treat it like Genie DVR's, you don't get to pick which model you'll get, so no guarantees.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk

Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#65 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:17 AM

Looks better, sounds better. [...] When this comes out, I'll ask for it..

 

They'll treat it like Genie DVR's, you don't get to pick which model you'll get, so no guarantees.

 

Correct. And having used both, I can tell you there's no difference in picture or audio quality using the GG2 vs. the GG1. Main difference is faster transcoding speeds, which, IMHO, only really matters if you need to wait for transcodes on your way out the door. If you normally transcode overnight, unless you need to process more hours of content than you sleep, either will work equally well for you.


/steve

#66 ONLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,640 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:25 AM

RAD said this GenieGo will transcode OTA from an AN21.

Will the original GenieGo be able to do this now/soon?

Will we be able to transcode out of market sporting events we subscribe too now?

anyone know if the GG1 will be able to transcode OTA?

#67 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:33 AM

anyone know if the GG1 will be able to transcode OTA?

 

That's a good question. I don't see why not, since it already transcodes MPEG-2 for SD programming. Fingers-crossed the next GG1 firmware update adds this capability, since the GG2 firmware already supports it.


/steve

#68 OFFLINE   Crow159

Crow159

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 517 posts
Joined: May 23, 2007

Posted 08 April 2014 - 08:36 AM

Is there any chance that the GenieGo 1 can be updated to do faster than the 1:1 transcode that it now does or is it a hardware limitation?



#69 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,255 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 08 April 2014 - 08:49 AM

Is there any chance that the GenieGo 1 can be updated to do faster than the 1:1 transcode that it now does or is it a hardware limitation?

I'm going to guess hardware since since day one it's always been around the 1:1 mark.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#70 OFFLINE   jonny4

jonny4

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:39 PM

So basically the GenieGo I just received today is outdated? Should I return it and wait for the GenieGo 2?



#71 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 April 2014 - 02:59 PM

Up to you. No telling when next version may be released, or even if. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#72 OFFLINE   jonny4

jonny4

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 08 April 2014 - 03:50 PM

Up to you. No telling when next version may be released, or even if. 

It also doesn't seem to be what I thought it was. I was looking for a way to stream my content on my dvr.



#73 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,430 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 April 2014 - 04:12 PM

It also doesn't seem to be what I thought it was. I was looking for a way to stream my content on my dvr.

That's never been the real purpose of GenieGo...it's mostly designed to free people up from any dependence of Internet connectivity to watch recorded content on a mobile device. Any streaming capability is just a secondary capability if one has a decent speed Internet connection...


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#74 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,828 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 April 2014 - 05:02 PM

It also doesn't seem to be what I thought it was. I was looking for a way to stream my content on my dvr.

 

It certainly can stream your DVR content, if your mobile device has a decent wi-fi connection. A steady 768kbps or better connection provides a very good experience, IMO. Maximum quality can be achieved at about 1500kbps. The ability to stream to my iPhone has come in very handy for me lately; I don't always know in advance when I might be away from home and want to watch a  previous night's recording.

 

You can find a "how to stream" link about halfway down on this page. There's also a link to a LIVE TV streaming 'work-around' below it.


/steve

#75 OFFLINE   jonny4

jonny4

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 08 April 2014 - 08:01 PM

So, other than the difference in transcoding the 2 devices are very similar? If I want to stream, not put a show on my device, will the transcoding matter? I didn't pay for the genieGo and I didn't sign any contract extension so I guess I could just try it and if it doesn't work return it to them.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...