Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Power off for software download ?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spartanrob

spartanrob

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 08:50 AM

Sorry, I'm still new. Does it matter how you power off the unit (front panel or remote) I want to make sure I get all of the new software releases. Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 08:54 AM

Yes powering off from the front panel puts your unit in standby mode, from here your receiver looks for and downloads software updates.

I dont know why shutting off the power from the remote does not do the same thing.

#3 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 09:50 AM

Scott, putting the unit into standby mode from the power button on the remote does exactly the same thing as putting the unit into standby mode from the power button on the front panel. You just can't do a system reset with the remote. Where did you hear otherwise?
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#4 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 09:59 AM

It like this on my Dish 6000 and my 3900, if I turn them off with my remotes I never get the software update, however when I shut them off with the front power button I get the updates no problem.

#5 OFFLINE   EvanS

EvanS

    Legend/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 11:30 AM

I always turn mine "off" with the remote and everything spins down in the same manner and in the same amount of time as if I did front pannel - I get my updates in line with everyone else.
As a matter of fact my front panel buttons are monster-proofed.
---------------------------------

#6 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 12:23 PM

I've never had any problems getting the updates when the unit is turned off from the remote...in fact I don't think I've ever even touched the front panel power button except to do a hard reset.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#7 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 12:32 PM

Hmm wierd. Maybe my box was not in the cue when I shut them off with my remote.

You learn something every day! (Please no old dog new trick jokes) :D

#8 OFFLINE   John Corn

John Corn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,046 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 12:33 PM

I can't figure out why I got the P154 upgrade so quick, usually I'm one of the last ones. :shrug:

I never did receive the 8 min video on the Search and Caller ID. :confused:
Have a Great Day! :) :flag:

#9 OFFLINE   Tony S

Tony S

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2002

Posted 29 April 2002 - 12:34 PM

I have to agree with the others...I have never shut off my 501 from the front panel, and I still get the software updates.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...