Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

R15-300 and Caller ID (Revisited)


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   crkeehn

crkeehn

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 02 April 2014 - 02:15 PM

I did a search on the topic of issues with the R15 and caller ID and the posts I called up all dated back to 2007-8.

 

Last Summer I had U-verse internet and phone service installed.  For about 6 months the caller ID worked fine and then earlier this year it stopped working.  I noticed that suddenly, two days ago it started working again.

 

Why would the Caller ID stop working for a period of time and without any action on my part start working again?  I can't blame it on a reboot while I was at work, as I have had cause to reboot the unit other times and it has had no impact on caller Id.  Is this one of the mysteries of the world like bigfoot or the Bermuda Triangle?

 

Thanks



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,552 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 02 April 2014 - 02:38 PM

Since the firmware for the R15-300 (0x13B4) doesn't appear to have been updated since it started rolling out in October, I'd be inclined to believe that AT&T wasn't delivering the CID signals. Of course if you have other devices that have been working all along with CID, you're probably in the Twilight Zone.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 995 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 02 April 2014 - 08:46 PM

Caller ID has been sketchy with Directv for years. You aren't the only one with this issue.



#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 April 2014 - 09:02 PM

Caller ID has been sketchy with Directv for years. You aren't the only one with this issue.

wakata.... we do agree on something..... FINALLY!!!!  !rolling

 

let's keep the streak...


  • studechip likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   crkeehn

crkeehn

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 03 April 2014 - 09:43 AM

Since the firmware for the R15-300 (0x13B4) doesn't appear to have been updated since it started rolling out in October, I'd be inclined to believe that AT&T wasn't delivering the CID signals. Of course if you have other devices that have been working all along with CID, you're probably in the Twilight Zone.

Yes, I do have other devices which have continued to work with CID.  It was just the DVR.

 

I guess I am in the Twilight Zone.






spam firewall