Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Add-on


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gcotterl

gcotterl

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2009

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:04 PM

Do I need the "HD Add-on" package in order to watch HD programs?

(I have a VIP 622 DVR and an HDTV).


Edited by gcotterl, 19 April 2014 - 03:09 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:16 PM

What package do you subscribe to? and how long have you been a Dish customer?



#3 OFFLINE   gcotterl

gcotterl

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2009

Posted 19 April 2014 - 03:30 PM

America's Top 200.

Since July 2006.



#4 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 401 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:25 PM

Do you get HD channels now? Look at your Dish account to see what you have.



#5 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 19 April 2014 - 10:49 PM

Yes, you can add the HD add on and get the HD versions of your sd channels. It will run you and additional $10 per month. However, if you get qualified for HD Free for Life, the $10 fee is waived. I'm kind of surprised you hadn't added it already, I hardly watch sd channels at all since I added it.



#6 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,246 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 20 April 2014 - 08:16 AM

Yes, you can add the HD add on and get the HD versions of your sd channels. It will run you and additional $10 per month. However, if you get qualified for HD Free for Life, the $10 fee is waived. I'm kind of surprised you hadn't added it already, I hardly watch sd channels at all since I added it.

They don't have HD free for life any more. What they offer now for people who do auto bill pay and paperless billing is HD free for two years.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#7 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:10 AM

They don't have HD free for life any more. What they offer now for people who do auto bill pay and paperless billing is HD free for two years.

I heard it changed, but didn't have details. Thanks.



#8 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,403 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:46 AM

Do I need the "HD Add-on" package in order to watch HD programs?
(I have a VIP 622 DVR and an HDTV).

HD is historically a requirement of leasing a ViP receiver. I'd be surprised if you don't already have it.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 301 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 23 April 2014 - 12:26 PM

Do I need the "HD Add-on" package in order to watch HD programs?

(I have a VIP 622 DVR and an HDTV).

gcotterl,

I am more than happy to help you with your programming package questions. Would you PM me with the phone and 4 digit PIN number on the account?

Thanks



#10 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,386 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 23 April 2014 - 12:32 PM

HD is historically a requirement of leasing a ViP receiver. I'd be surprised if you don't already have it.

 

Surprise, if you are on the eastern arc you get HD gear but maybe not HD viewing.


Lloyd
Receiver : Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#11 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 301 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 24 April 2014 - 11:56 AM

Surprise, if you are on the eastern arc you get HD gear but maybe not HD viewing.

lparsons21,

 

They will still get some HD content without the HD package, like the locals that are played in HD and Premium Movie Channels.



#12 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,386 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 24 April 2014 - 12:02 PM

I knew that the locals would be HD, didn't know about the Premiums.  Thanks for the info.


Lloyd
Receiver : Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#13 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,859 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 29 April 2014 - 01:26 PM

If you now get the HD premiums without the HD add on, that is a change from what it was. I know 100% for sure previously you only got the SD version, and if it was a channel like Encore that was only in HD you did not get it.



#14 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 301 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 30 April 2014 - 07:01 AM

All customers with an HDTV and HD receiver will receive their locals and the Premium Movie channels in HD.



#15 OFFLINE   robert koerner

robert koerner

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 522 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2005

Posted 30 April 2014 - 05:20 PM

That is interesting and welcome news. When I enquired about buying a DVR with HD capabilities and just use it for SD I was told I would have to pay extra for HD to use the unit.

 

Recently I've been trying to figure out what it would cost for HD programing if I buy an HD TV, a seemingly impossible task by using information on Dish's site for my present "120" channels.


Bob, a novice in electronics.

#16 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 301 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 07 May 2014 - 07:11 AM

I knew that the locals would be HD, didn't know about the Premiums.  Thanks for the info.

You’re more than welcome!






Protected By... spam firewall...And...