Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Do any directv DVRs have an IR out port?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dan42353

dan42353

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 20 April 2014 - 12:39 AM

I have 2 TVs in the same room so using an IR blaster from the receiver would help but my HR24s do not have IR out.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,600 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 20 April 2014 - 12:43 AM

None of the DVRs have an IR port.   You can use an RF-capable remote, or get an IR Repeater from places like Radio Shack.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 April 2014 - 07:45 AM

or you can customize the IR address if you don't have RF remotes 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,122 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 20 April 2014 - 09:36 AM

I have 2 TVs in the same room so using an IR blaster from the receiver would help but my HR24s do not have IR out.


What do you want to do with a blaster coming out of your receiver?

#5 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,618 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:15 AM

What do you want to do with a blaster coming out of your receiver?

 

That was my first thought too.  And I've never been happy with the remote extenders.  

 

Rich



#6 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,618 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:18 AM

I have 2 TVs in the same room so using an IR blaster from the receiver would help but my HR24s do not have IR out.

 

You can put both of them in IR.  You have to go into the advanced portion of the remote setup and change the number of one of the HRs there.  I haven't done it in a long time.  I think Jimmy provided me with the proper instructions then.

 

Rich



#7 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,730 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 April 2014 - 10:53 AM

I have 2 TVs in the same room so using an IR blaster from the receiver would help but my HR24s do not have IR out.

Could tell us specifically what you're trying to accomplish?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#8 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,739 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 20 April 2014 - 11:16 AM

None of the DVRs have an IR port.


I thought the HR34 had one?

#9 OFFLINE   dishinitout

dishinitout

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 04, 2013

Posted 20 April 2014 - 11:20 AM

I thought the HR34 had one?

Input, not out. But reading his post is misleading, he's asking for output but looks like wants input so you may be right. Either way if he is looking for input it won't help him from looks of it unless his remote uses a base station that allows for ir port control and he covers the other ones sensor so when it flashes it doesn't bleed over to the other receiver. If the remote doesn't allow port control needs to change IR codes on receivers and hopefully the universal remote has all possible codes available.

Sent from my SM-N900V using DBSTalk mobile app

Edited by dishinitout, 20 April 2014 - 11:28 AM.

SL5, SWM16, 1 HR44, 1 HR34, 2 HR24, 2 C31, 1 C41W

 


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 April 2014 - 12:38 PM

I thought the HR34 had one?

and I thought it was useless.... in the sense that nobody got it to work


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   dishinitout

dishinitout

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 04, 2013

Posted 20 April 2014 - 01:15 PM

and I thought it was useless.... in the sense that nobody got it to work


I tried one never got it to work then never tried again so never checked if it was me or a port that was there for no reason

Sent from my SM-N900V using DBSTalk mobile app

SL5, SWM16, 1 HR44, 1 HR34, 2 HR24, 2 C31, 1 C41W

 


#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 April 2014 - 01:29 PM

I tried one never got it to work then never tried again so never checked if it was me or a port that was there for no reason

Sent from my SM-N900V using DBSTalk mobile app

it seems the latter 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,739 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 20 April 2014 - 01:58 PM

and I thought it was useless.... in the sense that nobody got it to work

Yeah wasn't it wired weird?

#14 OFFLINE   juniormaj

juniormaj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 441 posts
  • LocationNewbury Park, CA
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 April 2014 - 08:37 PM

The old, old receivers (in the 90's) used to have IR Blaster outputs to control VCRs. Seems so long ago.

Edit: I had to look it up. RCA DRD5xx series (1998) had a "VCR Control" output for an IR blaster.
I remember being able to set a timer from the guide and having the option to have it automatically start and stop the VCR.

Edited by juniormaj, 20 April 2014 - 11:09 PM.

-Jr.
DirecTV since 1994
My setup

#15 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,241 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 21 April 2014 - 02:03 AM

and I thought it was useless.... in the sense that nobody got it to work

 

I found a couple old threads discussing it, but not sure if anyone ever got it to work properly...

http://www.dbstalk.c...-hr34-ir-input/

http://www.dbstalk.c...r34-ir-in-port/


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500





Protected By... spam firewall...And...