Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

AT&T Agrees to Purchase DirecTV (Was: ATT looking to buy Direct TV)


  • Please log in to reply
1165 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 May 2014 - 12:13 PM

AT&T stopped providing static IP's for DSL customers 2 years ago. Had that confirmed by AT&T's customer service and an AT&T engineer.

Perhaps not obviously, the question was how they could limit your LAN to 10 devices. AT&T's static Internet IP address policy has absolutely nothing to do with this.

Also, it's rather easy to set up your own wireless router. All you have to do is connect it to one of the free ports on AT&T's router. Been there, done that with clients many times.

Indeed it is but that's well beyond the desire of many and something that they wouldn't bother to figure out.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 May 2014 - 12:20 PM

DirecTV seems to have an open door policy for discussing mergers and buyouts ... which makes sense to protect their investors and give the investors the best deal possible.

Not only does DIRECTV (DirecTV is no longer their official trademark since shortly after DISH changed their's to DISH Network) seem to be willing to talk to anyone, but their stock buyback practices make it a very easy acquisition target. Compare this to DISH where Charlie controls a majority of the votes.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#128 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 May 2014 - 12:32 PM

never going to happen

Never is a very, very long time. The same was said at one time about HomePlug solutions and the Linksys gaming adapter.

At some point, broadband is probably going to get broader than MoCA will support.

Of course by that time, DBS will likely be marginalized to those who have weak (or no) broadband connections.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#129 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,068 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 04 May 2014 - 02:39 PM

What if this also changes DTV's mind about officially supporting a customers LAN? Then that would be easier on an installer when installing the Genie and RVU products. An installer would also not need to use Deca's or the wireless CCK's. They could just connect to the Ethernet outlets or UVerse's WIFI Gateway.


That would be harder not easier.

#130 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,940 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 May 2014 - 02:41 PM

Never is a very, very long time. The same was said at one time about HomePlug solutions and the Linksys gaming adapter.
 

 

and what was the results??? they were removed... So....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#131 OFFLINE   dsexton

dsexton

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 04 May 2014 - 03:02 PM

I have ATT UVerse for internet in Austin.  They say Gigapower is coming, but they can't say when, and where is questionable.  I am limited to 18 mbps up and 1.5 down due to distance from their equipment until they provide Gigapower to my neighborhood.  I have been stuck with their horrible Gateway since the install about 3 years ago when I replaced my ATT DSL.  Their Gateway only provides Wireless G and the range is very limited within the house.  Yes, you can use your own router but they don't support it, won't set it up that way when they install, and know nothing about it.  It took me weeks online to figure out how to use my own router.  Their Gateway has no true bridge mode so there are always some issues with using your own router.  Because of being forced to use a router behind their Gateway, setting up any external incoming connections is very difficult (GenieGO).  Most of the problems with setting up GenieGO result from having a router behind a Gateway.   

 

After UVerse install, my wireless would go down almost daily.  This went on for months, despite multiple calls to ATT, who denied the issue was theirs.  After they rolled out a firmware update, the issue went away.  They never did admit it was their problem.  I have checked on replacing their Gateway with my own modem, not an option.  I have been bugging them to upgrade their Gateway since the install, they could care less.

 

I have been with DTV since 1995 and have been very happy most of the time.  If ATT buys them, I won't let the door hit me in the butt on the way out.



#132 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,881 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 May 2014 - 03:09 PM

ATT buys them, I won't let the door hit me in the butt on the way out.

Where you going?


Sent from my Galaxy S5

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#133 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,462 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 04 May 2014 - 04:50 PM

I am surprised how many people will leave as soon as something like this happens.  I would wait and see what happens first.  First off, the technology you are using will not change.  I could see upgrades slowing down but it would be years before that impacts subscribers.  I would expect technical support to stay the same as you need people trained in DirecTV systems to support it.  Billing could go down the tubes as that would be an easy area to consolidate but how often do you interact with the billing department?  I will not be going anywhere, I will just continue evaluating the options every couple years.  I know that so far Dish is competitive with but not noticeably better than DirecTV


My Setup

#134 OFFLINE   Soccernut

Soccernut

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2004

Posted 04 May 2014 - 06:43 PM

Have both DIRECTV and ATT DSL for the last 6 years, upgraded to latest receivers with no major issues DIRECTV has most channels I want in HD. ATT DSL is fast enough for my needs and I can live with $46 per month, I installed my own modem the Gateway died after a year.

The whole issue for me is does the company has what I want? Can I afford it? Satellite service is getting too expensive and they know it. If a merger makes things more expensive then I can afford I would be forced  to look for other options, like going to cheaper packages because what I can afford overrides what I want.   



#135 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,940 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 May 2014 - 07:42 PM

I am surprised how many people will leave as soon as something like this happens.  I would wait and see what happens first.  First off, the technology you are using will not change. 

But the company will.  and once you have been done wrong by the same company what else can I expect 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#136 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,879 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:13 PM

But the company will. and once you have been done wrong by the same company what else can I expect


Except that on a corporate level, an ATT purchase doesn't mean directv becomes ATT. Depends on how it is set up. Different parts of a large company can be completely different.

I'd wait to see if the product is what I want. It is shortsighted to dump a company just because it is a certain company. If they deliver what you want for a price you want, you buy it.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#137 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 3,733 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 04 May 2014 - 11:55 PM

I am surprised how many people will leave as soon as something like this happens.

 

A lot of people may claim they will, but I doubt any would switch immediately except those who were planning on switching soon anyway. They'll simply make sure they don't do anything to incur a fresh two year commitment so they can quickly leave if their worst fears are realized.

 

It isn't like there would be any near term impact to customers of either Directv or Uverse, and given their relative sizes, it is more likely the AT&T customers would see changes before the Directv customers did. Uverse would become a new wired TV arm of Directv.

 

It would take several years before Directv customers saw any major changes from it, for better or worse.


  • damondlt and sigma1914 like this

SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#138 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 564 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 07 May 2014 - 10:02 AM

Has U-Verse improved their HD quality?  I have always heard that their HD quality is not near what D*'s HD quality is/was. 

 

 

No, and it won't matter if they buy DirecTV.

 

As someone who has had each for an extended period of time, I have to say that this answer isn't entirely true.  Now, is the HD quality as good as DirecTV's? No, it isn't quite to that level yet.  Is it a noticeable difference 90% of the time watching on my 60" plasma from about 10 feet away? Absolutely not.  The only time I ever notice is on really dark fast moving actions scenes....where there is really a lot going on.  It tends to get blocky at times when that happens.  For instance, I noticed it a few times in Man of Steel.  

 

I also had U-verse several years back right after it launched.  Since that time, AT&T has improved their compression schemes dramatically. In fact, I'd say they've improved their compression schemes significantly just within the last year.  it no longer has that all the time soft feel that it did when it first came out.  Generally it is a very nice and crisp picture these days.  i wouldn't put up with it if it wasn't.

 

As for the other part, i would agree that buying DirecTV probably wouldn't have any affect on U-verse at all.  Two very different technologies and unlikely to be combined in any way anytime soon.


DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#139 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,268 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:53 AM

I disagree and have had both going on about 2 years now, side by side. I can always tell which is which, especially with sports. There's a noticeable lack of crispness on graphics and tickers. There's less details on a lot, too.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#140 OFFLINE   Brandon Wedgeworth

Brandon Wedgeworth

    Icon

  • Administrators
  • 564 posts
  • LocationAlabaster, AL
Joined: Jan 06, 2007

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:43 PM

I disagree and have had both going on about 2 years now, side by side. I can always tell which is which, especially with sports. There's a noticeable lack of crispness on graphics and tickers. There's less details on a lot, too.

Maybe where you live.  Not where I live. At my house, that statement is simply not true.

 

Why on earth would you have both TV services in your house side by side for 2 years anyway?


DBSTalk Site Administrator

U-Verse U450 w/Whole Home DVR

Cisco ISB7500 (upgraded to 1TB) >> 32" LG LCD
Cisco ISB7000 >> 60" LG Plasma
Cisco IPN330HD 46" Sharp Aquos LCD
Cisco ISB7005 (Wireless) >> 42" Philips LCD
2Wire/Pace 3801HGV Gateway

LIVESTRONG_logo_small.png - 2 Time Cancer Survivor


#141 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,268 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:53 PM

Maybe where you live.  Not where I live. Here, that statement is simply not true.

 

Why on earth would you have both TV services in your house side by side for 2 years anyway?

According to ATT engineers at AVS forum, the PQ is the same nationwide. Only the amount of HD streams varies, as you know.

 

I got a great signup deal for internet and TV and kept the lowest package after the bonuses ran out. It's not much more.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#142 OFFLINE   jandar

jandar

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 07 May 2014 - 09:57 PM

If this deal went through, I would have to leave and go to Comcast.

 

Before AT&T bought BellSouth, my neighborhood could get 1.5Mbps DSL and Bellsouth had laid fiber along the curb in my neighborhood. After AT&T bought BellSouth, my DSL speeds went down to 768Kbps and supposedly I was not supposed to even get that. 3 years later, they managed to get 6Mbps DSL to my neighborhood. By that time, Comcast had brought 10Mbps speeds so there was no way I was going back to AT&T.

 

When UVerse rolled out, none of the neighborhoods in my area could get it. Years later, it's still not available. We are talking 300+ home neighborhoods, not 10-20 houses. Now if I go south for 6 miles, out into the country where houses and trailers are on 1-20 acre lots, I can get Uverse.

To this day, I still cannot get UVerse, but I can get 6Mbps DSL for 54$ a month.

 

Tell me again how AT&T buying DirecTV would be better? AT&T offers a bundle with Directv already, but there is no way I would leave Comcast internet to go back to those low speeds. The only benefit I can see would be bundling, but I have Sprint, way faster internet with Comcast Business Class, and DirecTV.



#143 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 May 2014 - 06:27 AM

Update: Reuters: DirecTV working with advisers to weigh AT&T deal
 
(Reuters) - DirecTV is working with advisers including Goldman Sachs Group to evaluate a possible combination with AT&T, following a recent takeover approach from the mobile services provider, according to people familiar with the matter.
 
DirecTV has enlisted advisers as the satellite TV company and its board consider whether to engage in serious discussions with the telecoms giant, one of the people said on Wednesday. The exact status of the talks could not be learned....
 

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#144 OFFLINE   gt2982a

gt2982a

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:55 AM

We just moved into a new house in an almost completed subdivision.  The first half of the neighborhood is Uverse Copper.  The back half is Uverse FTTH.  The front half can get 24 (and maybe 45) Mbps over copper.  The back half with FTTH is stuck with a max dl speed of 18 Mbps.  Only ATT can make fiber a disadvantage to copper.   :bang  

 

We are rumored to be on the list for Gigapower but who knows when that will happen. 

 

On the plus side, even though I have only Uverse Interent, I have access to WatchESPN and Fox SportsGo through Uverse so I recently scaled back our package to Select and am very happy avoiding the ESPN tax.



#145 OFFLINE   prushing

prushing

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 705 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2007

Posted 08 May 2014 - 12:16 PM

We just moved into a new house in an almost completed subdivision.  The first half of the neighborhood is Uverse Copper.  The back half is Uverse FTTH.  The front half can get 24 (and maybe 45) Mbps over copper.  The back half with FTTH is stuck with a max dl speed of 18 Mbps.  Only ATT can make fiber a disadvantage to copper.   :bang  

 

We are rumored to be on the list for Gigapower but who knows when that will happen. 

 

On the plus side, even though I have only Uverse Interent, I have access to WatchESPN and Fox SportsGo through Uverse so I recently scaled back our package to Select and am very happy avoiding the ESPN tax.

 

something must not be correct on your account if you only have Uverse internet, then you shouldn't be getting watch espn or fox sportsgo



#146 OFFLINE   gt2982a

gt2982a

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:30 PM

something must not be correct on your account if you only have Uverse internet, then you shouldn't be getting watch espn or fox sportsgo

 

When the house was being built, we did have Uverse TV at an apartment because we didn't have LOS for Directv; however, after the move we cancelled the Uverse TV and kept the internet.  Maybe that is the reason?  Or, maybe I've found a loophole. At any rate, I'm not complaining.



#147 OFFLINE   prushing

prushing

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 705 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2007

Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:32 PM

Yeah I checked because I also only have internet, was hoping something had changed.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

#148 OFFLINE   TAnsley

TAnsley

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
  • LocationRound Rock, TX, USA
Joined: Sep 20, 2006

Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:43 PM

something must not be correct on your account if you only have Uverse internet, then you shouldn't be getting watch espn or fox sportsgo

 

Yeah...I have Uverse for Internet only, and for the first couple of years, I got access to ESPN360, but not WatchESPN.  Seems they updated their database last year and I lost access to the web content.  Sucks!  I really want the ESPN/DTV contract to be done so they can renegotiate the terms and get us access.


TAnsley

"I never said most of the things I said." - Yogi Berra

#149 OFFLINE   CraigerM

CraigerM

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 271 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Apr 15, 2014

Posted 08 May 2014 - 03:42 PM

This maybe a dumb question but if UVerse Internet goes down can you still watch UVerse TV? Also one thing I don't like about UVerse is when the RG goes down everything goes down.



#150 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,881 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 May 2014 - 04:05 PM

This maybe a dumb question but if UVerse Internet goes down can you still watch UVerse TV? Also one thing I don't like about UVerse is when the RG goes down everything goes down.

I know with my Blue ridge cable, Internet can be out and you can still have cable TV, and vise versa.

And its the same Main Coax.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...