Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Different number of channels on different receivers


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
65 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 May 2014 - 03:53 PM

Possibly, but I suspect few customers go through the list of subscribed channels to be sure they are getting all of them.

So all you want is just an extra line on you guide? ingenious 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 06 May 2014 - 04:23 PM

So all you want is just an extra line on you guide? ingenious 

Huh?



#28 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 06 May 2014 - 04:25 PM

Sounds like the receivers aren't all configured for 5LNB. If you use SWM you don't experience the guide issues you would on a legacy system if you configure for 3LNB when you have a 5LNB.

He has a swm system so it automatically detects the lnb. All of his boxes should see the same thing, a sl5 lnb.



#29 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 May 2014 - 06:19 PM

He has a swm system so it automatically detects the lnb. All of his boxes should see the same thing, a sl5 lnb.

Not necessarily, a system with a SWM switch would not detect the LNB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#30 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 May 2014 - 06:19 PM

Huh?

Exactly!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#31 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 06 May 2014 - 07:14 PM

Not necessarily, a system with a SWM switch would not detect the LNB

I didn't know that. 



#32 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 May 2014 - 07:18 PM

I didn't know that. 

well, now you do... :D

 

Keep in mind that before the switch is still "legacy"


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#33 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:48 AM

So all you want is just an extra line on you guide? ingenious 

 

 

Huh?

 

 

Exactly!

Exactly what? What does an extra line in the guide mean, or have to do with the topic? I'm referring to customers not getting all of their subscribed channels.



#34 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:09 AM

Exactly what? What does an extra line in the guide mean, or have to do with the topic? I'm referring to customers not getting all of their subscribed channels.

which most of them do not need want, just making the guide longer.....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#35 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,295 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:51 AM

That's what favorite lists are for.

#36 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:52 AM

That's what favorite lists are for.

exactly. Why go through more steps if not necessary


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#37 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,295 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:02 PM

Huh? I mean there should be every channel that you can get then you decide which you want showing in your guide. And a working cig feature but don't get me started on that one.

#38 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:36 PM

which most of them do not need want, just making the guide longer.....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What the hell are you talking about? I'm talking about a customer getting all of the channels they pay for, and you are making veiled nonsensical references.



#39 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,873 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 07 May 2014 - 01:13 PM

What the hell are you talking about? I'm talking about a customer getting all of the channels they pay for, and you are making veiled nonsensical references.

The only channels they're actually "paying" for is mun2, UniMas West, the SD feeds of HBO Latino and TWC Deportes and some extra Sonic Tap channels. Up until 2 years ago mun2 was a Spanish package only station, UniMas was Spanish package only until a year ago and the vast majority of their target audience gets it in their locals anyway, HBO Latino is mostly a Spanish simulcast of HBO that can be heard via the SAP feed on the main HBO channels, and both HBO Latino and TWC Deportes have HD feeds that are available with a slimline 3.

Everything else is the FREE P/I channels that the FCC requires satellite providers to have at every slot, even if DirecTV were to move mun2, UniMas West and the extra Sonic Tap channels to 101, 99 or 103 DirecTV would still be required to carry the free P/I channels on 119 unless they stop transmitting programming from the slot entirely. 99 and 103 have their share of P/I channels too (which MPEG2 only subscribers can't get) along with the World Direct 95 slot that requires a seperate dish. Should DirecTV make MPEG4 equipment along with a World Direct dish standard for everyone so they get those free P/I channels too?

All of this, including the P/I channels that require MPEG4 equipment or a World Direct dish is indicated on the channel lineup people are given after an install. It isn't in fine print either, it's right there on the bottom in easy to read text naming the channels with a number to call to upgrade your system if you want them.

It isn't limited to DirecTV either, Dish has their own set of P/I channels on 118 that are not available unless you have a setup for their international packages. Heck when Dish first debuted the eastern arc subscribers who had the at the time standard setup where you used 61 instead of 129 because of line of site issues were missing out on channels when instead of mirroring 129 to 61 they starting putting some of the 129 channels on 72. At the time they were only offering the eastern arc setup to new subscribers in select markets, existing subscribers had to either do it themselves or pay to get their system converted to eastern arc.

Edited by KyL416, 07 May 2014 - 01:13 PM.


#40 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 965 posts
  • LocationVT
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 07 May 2014 - 03:08 PM

I had to request the smaller dish because of a tree. Who is not getting what they should?

 

If your locals aren't on 119 and you don't get Spanish programming, you are given a SL3. It's never mentioned that some of the channels in the list aren't there. The channels aren't very popular and are asterisked online, but few notice or care. There are people who probably WOULD watch JLTV if they knew they could, but few investigate further. I find the way the channels are listed online to be VERY hard to read. I got a SL5 when I realized there are SV locals I could get with the SL5 since Roanoke, VA locals are SV in some NC counties. My neighbors hooked onto it to get the Spanish packages. Another neighbor is hooking on soon. I have the Directv Deportes pack, now, since I can. It's a good deal, but there's no reason for Fox Deportes to not be in HD. 


TV: Directv HR44/AM21, Terk HDTVo, Comcast Broadcast, LG 42" 3D, 2 Samsung TVs
Internet: Xfinity/Comcast 
Phone: AT&T Samsung Galaxy 3
Other: Denon AVR591, Panasonic 3D BluRay, Panasonic DVD w/tuner, Phillips VCR

#41 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 965 posts
  • LocationVT
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 07 May 2014 - 03:10 PM

That's what favorite lists are for.

 

Not if what you pay for is on the 119 and you can't see it!


TV: Directv HR44/AM21, Terk HDTVo, Comcast Broadcast, LG 42" 3D, 2 Samsung TVs
Internet: Xfinity/Comcast 
Phone: AT&T Samsung Galaxy 3
Other: Denon AVR591, Panasonic 3D BluRay, Panasonic DVD w/tuner, Phillips VCR

#42 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,374 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 03:12 PM

I was one of those Dish customers with the wing dish, getting ripped off because dish decided to put their HD additions on the 72.5, well guess what us wing dish customers didn't have access to 72.5 or 77 and dish was dropping a $100 bomb on us in order to upgrade to eastern arc.
We are talking about main stream channels, not the crap that's on Directv 119 with no ratings even worth posting .

Sent from my Galaxy S5

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#43 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 May 2014 - 04:25 PM

What the hell are you talking about? I'm talking about a customer getting all of the channels they pay for, and you are making veiled nonsensical references.

Apparently you are the only one NOT to get it.  Get it?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#44 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,955 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 07 May 2014 - 04:54 PM

If your locals aren't on 119 and you don't get Spanish programming, you are given a SL3. It's never mentioned that some of the channels in the list aren't there.

 

My experience was the opposite. I had to request the SL3. And even if that has changed, they are noted on the webpage. What are they supposed to do, jump in your face and say "you know you won't get MHz?

 

This is a whole bunch of nothing. And has little to do with what the OP was asking about. Instead of trying to help, some bashers decided to use this to bash. It is called a thread hijack.


  • KyL416 likes this
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#45 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:31 PM

Apparently you are the only one NOT to get it.  Get it?

So explain it again without the obfuscation.



#46 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,447 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:45 PM

So explain it again without the obfuscation.

 

See below 

 

This is a whole bunch of nothing. And has little to do with what the OP was asking about. Instead of trying to help, some bashers decided to use this to bash. It is called a thread hijack.

Right on!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#47 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 07 May 2014 - 06:51 PM

So instead of answering my question, you resort to more obfuscation. Not surprising.



#48 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 965 posts
  • LocationVT
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 07 May 2014 - 07:43 PM

My experience was the opposite. I had to request the SL3. And even if that has changed, they are noted on the webpage. What are they supposed to do, jump in your face and say "you know you won't get MHz?

 

This is a whole bunch of nothing. And has little to do with what the OP was asking about. Instead of trying to help, some bashers decided to use this to bash. It is called a thread hijack.

 

Well you don't get MHz with the 119...

 

No, they shouldn't put things in packages where most of the subscribers won't see it. I don't understand why that's such a hard concept. It is relevant because with such a variance in channels, not seeing a lot of channels could be caused by a lack of seeing a satellite. It is then logical to discuss programming in packages that is not seen with missing satellites. 


TV: Directv HR44/AM21, Terk HDTVo, Comcast Broadcast, LG 42" 3D, 2 Samsung TVs
Internet: Xfinity/Comcast 
Phone: AT&T Samsung Galaxy 3
Other: Denon AVR591, Panasonic 3D BluRay, Panasonic DVD w/tuner, Phillips VCR

#49 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,196 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 07 May 2014 - 07:51 PM

Well you don't get MHz with the 119...

 

No, they shouldn't put things in packages where most of the subscribers won't see it. I don't understand why that's such a hard concept. It is relevant because with such a variance in channels, not seeing a lot of channels could be caused by a lack of seeing a satellite. It is then logical to discuss programming in packages that is not seen with missing satellites. 

Not if you are a Directv apologist. 



#50 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,999 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 07 May 2014 - 08:02 PM

Discuss the topic and not each other.  Not gonna say it again.

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...