Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Self installation question


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 10 May 2014 - 03:53 PM

I know there are a lot of installers on this forum. I've gotten everything ready to be moved in my house. I need to re-route my coax. My question is, what length drill bit do they usually use to put a hole in the floor of a mobile home? There is no way I can justify paying D $50 to just drill one hole and move a coax. Bellow is a picture of what I've done so far. Please hold back the tv over the fire place comments. I'm putting it there because it's the best spot in our living room for my tv. No other reason. ImageUploadedByDBSTalk1399758581.995829.jpg


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 May 2014 - 04:35 PM

installers use 3/8 18 inches long for a single coax hole.   of course the length in your case is meaningless 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 10 May 2014 - 04:40 PM

The coax is coming from the closet behind the black wall. Up from the floor run out the wall behind the mount. So yes the drill bit length is exactly what I asked for and needed.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 May 2014 - 04:41 PM

The coax is coming from the closet behind the black wall. Up from the floor run out the wall behind the mount. So yes the drill bit length is exactly what I asked for and needed.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

then as I said, 18 inches or a foot and a half, which ever way you like better  :D


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 10 May 2014 - 04:55 PM

I'm sorry I read my post again. It sounded like a smart a** remark. Didn't mean for it to. I apologize. Thank you for your help!


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

#6 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 10 May 2014 - 06:46 PM

In a mobile home look at the vents in the floor (line them up) don't drill there. Use a short drill bit, as soon as it breaks through the floor stop. Water lines can be pretty close.


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#7 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 10 May 2014 - 07:33 PM

Thanks for the tip! I'll keep that in mind.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

#8 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 10 May 2014 - 09:11 PM

I know you asked to hold back comments on the location, but how hot will it get where the TV is going to be mounted?



#9 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 10 May 2014 - 09:42 PM

I don't use the fire place. We rent and it's gas. We use electric heaters because my wife and my step daughter dry out severely (nose bleeds and dry mouth area) with gas heat burning. Plus I've never cared for gas heat.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

#10 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,028 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 May 2014 - 11:28 PM

Then I'd just say mount it as low as you can and away ya go! I know someone who once was in a similar situation I never using the fireplace and just bought a piece of furniture and put it in front of it with the tv and just hid the dang thing away.

All i can add to the drilling is make ire you are drilling in places that make sense or their not to be any electrical or gas lines. An if you are not positive turn off the breakers in the area. Lol

#11 OFFLINE   JosephB

JosephB

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,129 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, AL
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 12 May 2014 - 01:53 PM

Are you sure that mantle is going to hold your TV? How big is the TV? That looks like a disaster waiting to happen.



#12 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,028 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 May 2014 - 01:56 PM

Unless his tv is old I'm sure he will be fine. Most tvs today weigh less than a good mirror.

#13 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 12 May 2014 - 05:58 PM

I had my 9 year old do a pull up on it. My tv is less than 2 years old. It's a 42 inch LG LED. The mantle I took down weighs more than my tv. It has 2 bolts 5 inches long holding down a 2X6. The tv mount itself is attached to the 2X6 with 6 screws supplied by the mount manufacture. I just want to say I appreciate everyone's opinion. This forum has been a great help to me.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
B00BOO

#14 OFFLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 900 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 12 May 2014 - 08:02 PM

I had my 9 year old do a pull up on it. My tv is less than 2 years old. I


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

 

I trust the strength of the mantle for your TV but I don't think the 9 year old is a good test for it. What does he weigh like 50-60 lbs?



#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 12 May 2014 - 08:07 PM

I trust the strength of the mantle for your TV but I don't think the 9 year old is a good test for it. What does he weigh like 50-60 lbs?

c'mon, have you seen a "newer" LED TV weight more than a few pounds....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 13 May 2014 - 12:33 AM

I used a 5/8 butterfly then used 8 ga solid to fish it through when I wired my mob back it '98, you just have to be sure where you are drilling, without distractions.






spam firewall