Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Comcast may roll out data caps for all customers within five years


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 15 May 2014 - 04:59 AM

Comcast may roll out data caps for all customers within five years
 
So much for Comcast's proposed merger with Time Warner Cable being good for your internet service. The cable giant's David Cohen tells investors that he expects "usage-based billing" (that is, data caps with overage fees) to reach all Comcast customers within five years....
 
 
469232791.jpg
Engadget

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz

    Day Sleeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,242 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 15 May 2014 - 06:59 AM

Hmmm... I think the whole data caps with the cable companies has less to do with capacity and more to do with limiting competion like Hulu, Amazon Prime, and Netflix.
  • damondlt and PCampbell like this

"In an effort to increase your cable and satellite bills beyond the point of affordability and to further pad the pockets of our executives..."
Check out my list of links.


#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 16,074 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 May 2014 - 07:50 AM

Absolutely, particularly with Comcast's Streampix. 

 

It's going to get ugly. For a while, my parent's DSL provider, Frontier, had an acceptable use policy defining it as 5gb a month. Companies they partnered with were exempt. So if you used Carbonite for online backup, it didn't count, but Mozy did etc.



#4 OFFLINE   carlsbad_bolt_fan

carlsbad_bolt_fan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 790 posts
  • LocationCarlsbad, CA
Joined: May 18, 2004

Posted 15 May 2014 - 09:11 AM

 

"Five years ago I don't know that I would have heard of something called an iPad," he says.

David Cohen is a moron. I've got TWC's top internet offering of 56mb down/6mb up. If they impose caps on that tier of service, I'll find another way to get internet service.


HR20-700 Connected to 55" Samsung UN55D8000YF via HDMI
HR20-700 Connected to 24" Samsung P2570HD
R22-200 Connected to 32" Sony
D* Customer since 2000

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,192 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 15 May 2014 - 09:54 AM

Hmmm... I think the whole data caps with the cable companies has less to do with capacity and more to do with limiting competion like Hulu, Amazon Prime, and Netflix.

Pretty shrewed to charge Netflix for better access and charge customers a premium to watch it.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#6 OFFLINE   nmetro

nmetro

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 906 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 15 May 2014 - 12:32 PM

Fortunately, by the end of 2017, my city will be offering 1 gigabit up/down, for $50/month, over fiber. This will be city owned and operated by our city owned electric utility. Comcast and CenturyLink (formerly QWest) fought hard against Longmont, Colorado to run its own internet service. They went as far to getting a law passed making it illegal, fro municipal run internet, unless the voters of a city approved it, ballot. It took two elections, but this was approved in 2013. In an earlier election, they spent millions to block it The city, already has in place a fiber loop, which serves the city, local school district, county offices and a few large businesses. Called it victory against corporate greed.

 

It is is only recent (past two years)  that Comcast and CenturyLink improved their speend. When i first move dto Longmont, all you could get dial up and it maximum speed was 11k (That is not a typo). In 2000 Qwest started to provide speedy internet 1 gigabit down/ 500k up over DSL. Comcast came later with 2 gigabit down and 1 gigabit up. So, city residents were fed up with the private model and voted for a public owned model.

 

By the way, 102 years ago Longmont set up their own electric utility, because corporate greed would have been much more expensive to run electric lines from Denver to Longmont. The result? Longmont has the lowest electric rates in Colorado and some of the lowest in the country. So, yes, so called "socialism" does work. Oh yeah, in the 16 years I have lived here, I can count in minutes the time the power has gone out; nor more 3 hours total.

 

So, I cannot wait for my internet service speed improve immensely, and be charged half of what Comcast charges for 10 megebit up/50 megabit down.



#7 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,971 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 15 May 2014 - 03:35 PM

Was this wise to proclaim while they are trying to get approval for a merger?


LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#8 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,255 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 15 May 2014 - 04:20 PM

 

tells investors that he expects "usage-based billing"

 

In the words of Lou Rawls, 'Mean Dollar Green'.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

Ultimate Cord Cutter  ~~~ No Satellite.  No Cable.  No Streaming.  No Broadcast/OTA  NO TV


#9 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,101 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 15 May 2014 - 04:56 PM

Visa, Master Card

 

Ford, Chevy

 

Burger King, McDonalds

 

DirecTV, DISH

 

 

 . . . . . . . . . . 

 

 

 

Why aren't there 2 completely separate internets ??



#10 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,255 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 15 May 2014 - 05:14 PM

Visa, Master Card

 

Ford, Chevy

 

Burger King, McDonalds

 

DirecTV, DISH

 

 

 . . . . . . . . . . 

 

 

 

Why aren't there 2 completely separate internets ??

For starters, none of your other examples are completely separate either.

 

Everything is tied together, one way or another, even if totally obscure to the outside viewer.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

Ultimate Cord Cutter  ~~~ No Satellite.  No Cable.  No Streaming.  No Broadcast/OTA  NO TV


#11 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 17 May 2014 - 06:12 AM

Update: Comcast has 'no plans' for internet caps despite testing them
 
Those statements that Comcast's David Cohen made about possible nationwide data caps within the next five years? He'd like you to forget them, please. As he explains in a follow-up statement, the company has "no plans to announce" such a policy. The company doesn't want to implement plans that hurt your internet experience, he says, arguing that reports took what he said "out of context." With that said, it's clear that Cohen has a narrow definition of what a data cap is....
 
 
469232813.jpg
Engadget

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#12 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 44,392 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 May 2014 - 06:45 AM

As he explains in a follow-up statement, the company has "no plans to announce" such a policy.


OK, so they are planning unannounced data caps. :lol:
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,192 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 18 May 2014 - 10:04 AM

As he explains in a follow-up statement, the company has "no plans to announce" such a policy. The company doesn't want to implement plans that hurt your internet experience, he says, arguing that reports took what he said "out of context."

There's a man who has had a his integrity stapled to prevent it from getting the in the way.
Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#14 OFFLINE   jerrylove56

jerrylove56

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 463 posts
  • LocationNorth Alabama
Joined: Jun 14, 2008

Posted 18 May 2014 - 04:21 PM

Makes no sense. I have Comcast internet and have received a couple of emails warning me about data cap overage.  The email states that our area is one of Comcast "test" areas.  Specifically,  customers are allowed 3-overages or 3-strikes and then Comcast will  charge $10 extra for 50GB of extra data usage.  Their cap ceiling is currently at 250GB.  I still wonder how this ceiling was set.



#15 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 1,222 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 18 May 2014 - 05:34 PM

I never use near that amount.


Sent from my iPad 4 128GB using DBSTalk mobile app

#16 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • Registered
  • 1,809 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 18 May 2014 - 07:56 PM

Makes no sense. I have Comcast internet and have received a couple of emails warning me about data cap overage.  The email states that our area is one of Comcast "test" areas.  Specifically,  customers are allowed 3-overages or 3-strikes and then Comcast will  charge $10 extra for 50GB of extra data usage.  Their cap ceiling is currently at 250GB.  I still wonder how this ceiling was set.

 

Actually the test markets are a 300GB cap. http://customer.comc...lans-expansion/



#17 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 14,688 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 04 September 2015 - 12:44 PM

Time flies when you're having fun!

 

Apparently for many the "five years" has gone by so fast as according to this story Comcast Is Putting a Monthly Data Cap on Home Internet:
 

Get ready for your home Internet to feel like your smartphone — bound by data caps, a large overage fee waiting to happen. Comcast gave some users the bad news Thursday. Consumers who exceed 300 GB in a month will have to pay for overages at $10 per 50 GB tier.

 

Not surprisingly, they have the option to pay an extra $30 to get the service they have currently, without caps.

 

On its FAQ page about the new usage fee, Comcast describes it as a trial, and says it impacts consumers in the following areas: Huntsville and Mobile, Alabama; Tucson, Arizona; Fort Lauderdale, the Keys and Miami, Florida; Atlanta, Augusta and Savannah, Georgia; Central Kentucky; Maine; Jackson and Tupelo, Mississippi; Knoxville, Memphis and Nashville, Tennessee; and Charleston, South Carolina. Want to see if you are part of the experiment? Here's a page listing all the ZIP codes.

 

The link in the quote does work, and that page includes the following:
 

The best method to determine whether your account is part of a current data usage plan trial is by your Comcast account number. Account numbers that begin with one of the following sequences are part of the trial:

 

01108, 01701, 01732, 04418, 05628, 05705, 09512, 09544, 09577, 09586, 15552, 32007, 81555 (Flexible Data Option only), 8220, 8396, 84956, 849575, 84958, 87733

 

If you do a Google News search you'll find a myriad of stories and posts. If you go to your usage meter page this morning (which I have in the past and did this morning) apparently all you'll get is this:

 

comcast_usage.jpg

 

And none of the links related to usage worked. I think that indicates a "high interest" in the subject.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup (Updated 3/11/2016)
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#18 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,804 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 04 September 2015 - 12:51 PM

Hmmm... I think the whole data caps with the cable companies has less to do with capacity and more to do with limiting competion like Hulu, Amazon Prime, and Netflix.

 

I guess I feel differently.  I think its a way for the Cable Companies to get back some of the money they are losing to cord cutters.  In the end the Cable Co will win.  I been expecting this for some time.  It will get worse before it gets better.  People think cord cutting is the answer.  Like the Cable Companies will not do anything to gain from it.  Wake up people.  The business world is about making money.  To think your Cable Company would be happy to lose your business on its tv product and not want to make that money up elsewhere would be a shallow way to think about it.  I look for most if not all ISP's to have data caps within 5 years. 

 

Internet is not a viable option for TV at least not for everyone.  The more people trend in that direction the more Cable Companies will look for ways to earn money in other avenues.  Truth is if you only use their internet to do what their TV service was doing for you, they are gonna want more money from you.  Who wouldnt?  Advantages dont stay advantages forever.  Just until someone else finds a way to exploit it for their gain.


Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#19 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 14,688 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 04 September 2015 - 01:19 PM

My understanding is that companies like Comcast would be better off shifting the huge bandwidth used for cable TV to internet service. In general, the heaviest business use of internet services is during the daytime and the heaviest home use of TV is at night. If that bandwidth were shared (meaning streaming TV), infrastructure investment costs could be kept down. However, Comcast has a huge investment in the cable TV business and it owns NBCU. All the competing financial issues for this one company boggles the mind.

 

I was able to get to my usage page

 

2015_06-08_comcast_usage.jpg

 

We have been streaming from Netflix, Amazon, and Acorn TV so those numbers are obviously higher than last fall:

 

2014-12-20_usage.jpg

 

Still, I don't see any problem with a data cap of 300 GB.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup (Updated 3/11/2016)
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#20 OFFLINE   Wilf

Wilf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2008

Posted 05 September 2015 - 07:51 AM

Capping broadband has an interesting side effect. Using ad and tracking blockers on your computer's internet browser saves 20 to 40% of your surfing bandwidth. That combined with the fact that much malware is commonly introduced into PC's via ads (malvertising), and the animated ads have gotten really annoying, has caused a big uptick in the use of ad/tracking blockers.

 

The reason ad/tracking blockers are so effective, is that many websites connect to 20 to 30 or more third-party servers for ad content and tracking purposes. Not only does this use bandwidth, it also increases webpage load time significantly.

 

This is going to cause problems for monetizing websites and keeping them free. Obviously, capping broadband and web advertising are in direct conflict and makes for an interesting saga to follow.



#21 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Retired, part-time PITA

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,739 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 05 September 2015 - 09:51 AM

In my view, this is a non-issue.

 

When are bandwidth caps not caps? When your ISP offers additional gigabits for additional charges.

It looks like Comcast is going to settle in at 300GB/m for most of their consumer plans, but with extra

charges for those who exceed 300GB in a month. Ten dollars per an extra 50GB seems reasonable

to me. I just don't want a hassle if I happen to go over 300G, which I will probably never do based on

the history of my typical monthly usage.


.


~ 14th Year on DBSTalk ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#22 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,155 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 05 September 2015 - 10:05 AM

My ISP, Mediacom has had this going for quite awhile.

 

They have scaled data allowances starting at 250Gb and scaling up to 2Tb depending on which speed tier you are on.  For instance, mine is the 100/10 tier and I have a 1Tb data allowance with a $10/50Gb overage charge.  The next down 50/5 has a 350Gb data allowance.  I hit over that a few months when I had that tier.

 

They offered a 1 year $5/tier bump so I jumped to the 100/10.  Didn't care about the speed bump as nothing I do really benefits much from it, but the data allowance is well appreciated.  My typical month these days is around the 500Gb useage.  Combo of Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime and VOD from whichever cable/sat provider I'm using, and OS downloads as I play around with tech.


LloydReceiver/Provider: Hopper 3/Dish NetworkHDTV : Sharp 70" 4K DLPSurround: Harman Kardon 3700, 7.1 Setup<p>




Protected By... spam firewall...And...