Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Building a new Home and Need advise

RVU Samsung Genie Network

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   NoviGuy

NoviGuy

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
  • LocationNovi, Michigan
Joined: May 18, 2014

Posted 27 May 2014 - 07:47 PM

You should keep in mind that the farther you deviate from a standard installation the less support you will get from Directv Techs  if there is a problem. You would most likely be left to sort the issue out yourself or hire a third party.

 

The newer receivers H25's and clients have wall mounts designed to go behind flat screens to keep them out of sight. They also use RF Remotes.

That's good to know..  So Far I have purchased 3 of the RVU tvs, however , i did  not know they have mountable RF receivers.   



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 27 May 2014 - 08:39 PM

 Didn't know there was a per/client fee..  Bummer

Yep, this is DirecTV 's bread and butter, so to speak!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#23 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 28 May 2014 - 07:51 AM

That's good to know..  So Far I have purchased 3 of the RVU tvs, however , i did  not know they have mountable RF receivers.   

 

Yeap the clients and H25s can be wall mounted behind the TVs.

 

You don't have to be sucked into spending top dollar for RVU compliant models.


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#24 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 28 May 2014 - 11:46 AM

Thanks!  Have conduit run to each floor..  Didn't know there was a per/client fee..  Bummer

Hence the reason for HDMI located to each jack max distance is 50' between powered splitter. Can save a lot of money over a period of TIME


King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#25 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 May 2014 - 02:18 PM

Hence the reason for HDMI located to each jack max distance is 50' between powered splitter. Can save a lot of money over a period of TIME

long time 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#26 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,985 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 May 2014 - 02:42 PM

And trouble half the time anymore with all the hdcp issues that can arise.

#27 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:43 PM

long time 

Long time ! LOL per $6.00 for each TV having 6 TV's is $ 36.00 per month http://www.amazon.co...way hdmi switch will pay its self off in 1 MONTH I have 2 of these !


King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#28 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 June 2014 - 05:00 PM

Long time ! LOL per $6.00 for each TV having 6 TV's is $ 36.00 per month http://www.amazon.co...way hdmi switch will pay its self off in 1 MONTH I have 2 of these !

you forgot (purposely) a few of these 

 

http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

 

and whatever amps you may need for longer runs.  then add to that the uncertainty of this set may work for all equipment 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#29 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,231 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 07 June 2014 - 08:48 PM

I'd never try to do long runs using HDMI cables. I've had too many HDMI cables (both low and high priced) just stop working one day, even if they aren't moved around a lot and hadn't been touched recently.

 

HDMI extenders used to be really pricey, but I think they're cheaper than the Redmere cables and amplifiers these days. You don't want to try to replace an HDMI cable in your wall, even in one in conduit (good luck trying to pull one through, connector and all, if it shares the conduit with anything else)


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#30 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 09 June 2014 - 09:56 PM

first of all those 4 lines to the attic are useless.

 

electricians run those to the attic all the time

 

when i get there i have to put the cables outside on the siding becaues there in no ground trace included in those 4 wires that someone so cleveryly thought they were doing good.

 

no ground

 

no trace

 

no install

 

Do a genie and 3 clients becaue they are free, then use the other 4 tvs as rvu, but you still have to buy decas.......gotta buy either decas or save money on the rvu and do all clients


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#31 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,231 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 10 June 2014 - 02:18 AM

Why in the world would you run four new coaxes outside just to get one that has the ground wire included, rather than running a separate ground wire from the dish to wherever you're grounding it? If I had an installer try to run four coaxes outside on my siding just because the four I already had lacked a ground wire I'd send him packing and call his boss to tell him the guy was lazy, incompetent or both.


  • damondlt likes this

SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#32 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:13 PM

Why in the world would you run four new coaxes outside just to get one that has the ground wire included, rather than running a separate ground wire from the dish to wherever you're grounding it?

The problem with that is you must use a #10 wire in this case and such wire can't be more than 20ft.  in the other hand, if you use a #17 attached to the cable, it can run for the length of the coax to a grounding electrode which then connects with a #10 to the building's grousing electrode 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RVU, Samsung, Genie, Network

spam firewall