Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

programming rc71 to control tv


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:51 AM

Is this possible?  I have a Vizeo hooked to my genie 34.  Remote works fine in IR mode with the genie, but I cannot figure out how to try to program it to work with the TV.  Cannot find a manual on the remote anywhere I've looked.

Thanks,

E.


HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 June 2014 - 07:54 AM

Menu, Settings & Help, Settings, Remote, Program Remote.

Follow instructions onscreen from there.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 06 June 2014 - 08:00 AM

It says to move switch to tv and go from there.  No switch on the rc71 to tell it tv.  Any other suggestions?


HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 06 June 2014 - 09:52 AM

For some instances you can use this to program the RC71 manually. I got it to work for my Vizio on an HR24.

Choose the remote model, then type in the brand of TV, a code comes up, then click on more codes if needed.

http://www.directv.c...nt/remote_codes

 

 

Go here, choose the remote model number and you should be able to download the manual for the rC71.

https://support.dire...aWQva3pFY0I4V2w=


Edited by jimmie57, 06 June 2014 - 09:55 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,712 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 June 2014 - 10:10 AM

You should be using an RC6X remote with your HR34.  It's not designed to program with the RC71 remote, which is used with the newer HR44 Genie DVR.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,419 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:34 PM

You should be using an RC6X remote with your HR34.  It's not designed to program with the RC71 remote, which is used with the newer HR44 Genie DVR.

Programming the RC6X isn't materially different than programming the RC71 where the HR34 is concerned.

Here's a YouTube video of how to manually program the RC71:


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:43 PM

Programming the RC6X isn't materially different than programming the RC71 where the HR34 is concerned.

Here's a YouTube video of how to manually program the RC71:

well is different in regards that the RC71 does not have that many codes on board like its predecessors. The RC71 is really meant to be programmed with an HR44 or C41


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:44 PM

Is this possible? I have a Vizeo hooked to my genie 34. Remote works fine in IR mode with the genie, but I cannot figure out how to try to program it to work with the TV. Cannot find a manual on the remote anywhere I've looked.
Thanks,
E.

try the following

Press and hold MUTE and SELECT (led flashes twice)

Enter 1 1758 wait a second between the first and second 1s


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,712 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 June 2014 - 03:33 PM

Programming the RC6X isn't materially different than programming the RC71 where the HR34 is concerned.

....

 

Ummm, yes it is.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 06 June 2014 - 09:17 PM

Thanks Peds, worked like a charm.  Really not that much different except you don't have the switch to move back and forth.

 

Errol


Edited by rayxxxle, 06 June 2014 - 09:19 PM.

HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#11 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,419 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:11 AM

Ummm, yes it is.

Apparently not.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#12 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,352 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 07 June 2014 - 12:42 AM

Oh, please. It's more than tiresome.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:37 PM

Apparently not.

try programing an RC71 to an audio device without an HR44/C41.  good luck!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:37 PM

Thanks Peds, worked like a charm.  Really not that much different except you don't have the switch to move back and forth.

 

Errol

Awesome.  Thanks for the update. 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   thomasr1950

thomasr1950

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2009

Posted 28 June 2014 - 12:05 PM

I have a R66 remote i can't get it to program to my Sony HT-CT260H soundbar. The first codes won't work, the second set of codes won't come up i get the message my remote is not programmed do i want to program it? I have my Sony tv programmed with the remote, no issues. I called DTV, they tell me if the codes won't work then they can't do anything. I have talked with 4 reps, 1 helped me with my LG soundbar, they gave me different steps than the reps did today.



#16 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 28 June 2014 - 01:24 PM

I have a R66 remote i can't get it to program to my Sony HT-CT260H soundbar. The first codes won't work, the second set of codes won't come up i get the message my remote is not programmed do i want to program it? I have my Sony tv programmed with the remote, no issues. I called DTV, they tell me if the codes won't work then they can't do anything. I have talked with 4 reps, 1 helped me with my LG soundbar, they gave me different steps than the reps did today.

This is from the DTV Remote Code search.

 
We could not find an exact match, we think this code will work.

 

32610   
 
Setup Instructions
  1. Set the "Mode Switch" to Device 3.
  2. Press and hold the "Mute" button and the "Select" button until the visible LED blinks twice.
  3. Enter the 5 digit Code above.
  4. Try your new code and tell us how it worked!

More codes:

 

The following codes may also work with your model.

 

32172   31758   33158   31058   31822   

Edited by jimmie57, 28 June 2014 - 01:25 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#17 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,419 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:21 AM

When I entered the information I got 31758.

Is this an RC65 or did DIRECTV change they way they number remotes?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#18 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:46 AM

When I entered the information I got 31758.

Is this an RC65 or did DIRECTV change they way they number remotes?

There is an RC66X and RC66RX remote. I have 2 of them.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#19 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:47 AM

When I entered the information I got 31758.

Is this an RC65 or did DIRECTV change they way they number remotes?

Did you choose the remote model number, then choose Audio and then type in the brand ?


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#20 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,922 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 10:25 AM

I'll just say the RC71 leaves a LOT to be desired when programming the TV or Audio Device.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...