Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Intermittent 775. Trying to diagnose issue. Need help/Suggestions


Best Answer peds48 , 25 June 2014 - 07:56 PM

If the PI is outputting the correct voltage (which it is) and the cable and fittings are are good then the problem is more likely the LNB

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   clamschlauder

clamschlauder

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 10, 2014

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:05 PM

Hello all.  First time poster, somewhat of a long time reader/researcher.

 

I have been having an issue with my satellite setup for a while now.  It used to be that every once in a while (maybe every 2 days I would get a random 775 error).  This was back in February.  It was at the bottom of my list because it only caused a minor inconvenience.  My solution has been to unplug the PI for 15 seconds, plug back in and I am good to go.  Gradually over the months it has been getting worse and worse, sometimes not responding to a 15 second reset, and only responding to a 1 minute or more PI reset.  

 

Over the past couple of days I have had no luck at getting a satellite signal at all.  Many resets of the receiver and PI have resulted in nothing.  My goal has been to try and isolate the issue.  The following is what I have done in the past 2 or so days and the results.

 

[Note: I had purchased another PI from Amazon months ago which SEEMED to make things better for about 2 days and then went back to normal.]

  • I have bypassed the SWM splitter.  No Change.
  • I have run new cable straight from the LNB to the SWM and also the PI with no different results. (Meaning 1 try connecting to the splitter, 1 try bypassing the splitter)
  • I read in another post on here that one should connect 1 item at a time.  I tried that (unfortunately while also switching the PI to the other one that I have) and the satellite now works!  Good news but not really. I have been here before.  

I would like to also add, there was an instance about a couple weeks ago that my fiance received a phone call and the TV IMMEDIATELY went into 775 mode (we have an Airrave through Sprint, and the coaxial network adapter was connected to one of the LAN ports on the Airrave.  The Airrave is connected directly to my cable modem. Airrave connects our cell signal through broadband).  Seems like too much of a coincidence to me.  Maybe it is.  

 

Another thing to mention is that it also seems that the 775 error is a lot more prevalent when the second receiver is turned on.  

 

Any help or thoughts would be appreciated.  

 

David 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:18 PM

Get a new LNB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,513 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:27 PM

I would call DirecTV for a service call. They will find what the problem is and fix it for a max price of $50. That includes the labor and any or all parts that might be required to fix it.

 

Aside from that, I would disconnect the TV system from the internet and see if that makes any difference since you said it popped up when your wife got a phone call and the phone is in the mix also. That incidence could also just be a total coincidence.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   clamschlauder

clamschlauder

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 10, 2014

Posted 22 June 2014 - 12:42 PM

I was expecting an email with a reply. I guess I have to follow the post to get notifications.  

 

What's the power requirements for the LNB?  I am getting 20.4v and 20.7v from each of my PI's both at the dish and directly from the PI. I am just wondering since the specs on the PI state 21v.  

 

Jimmie, when I called they were going to charge me $50 just to come out and look at it.  Maybe that included labor and parts.  Not sure.  I can get a new LNB and splitter from amazon for $40. 

 

Thanks for your help.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 June 2014 - 12:44 PM

20.4 is about right for the PI

 

the $50.00 service call fee covers everything that needs to get you back in business, even rewiring the entire house!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,024 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 24 June 2014 - 09:03 PM

I was expecting an email with a reply. I guess I have to follow the post to get notifications.  

 

What's the power requirements for the LNB?  I am getting 20.4v and 20.7v from each of my PI's both at the dish and directly from the PI. I am just wondering since the specs on the PI state 21v.  

 

Jimmie, when I called they were going to charge me $50 just to come out and look at it.  Maybe that included labor and parts.  Not sure.  I can get a new LNB and splitter from amazon for $40. 

 

Thanks for your help.

You don't have two power inserters connected do you? Or were you measuring the voltage at two points?



#7 OFFLINE   clamschlauder

clamschlauder

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 10, 2014

Posted 25 June 2014 - 09:29 AM

No.  I purchased a second one thinking that was the issue before I started looking deeper into the problem.  I took voltage directly after the PI and right before the LNB.  

 

Parts arrive today so we will see if a new LNB fixes the issue. 



#8 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,024 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 25 June 2014 - 09:46 AM

It's quite likely the lnb as Peds48 suggests. If not, it could be a bad/loose cable or connector.



#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 June 2014 - 07:56 PM   Best Answer

If the PI is outputting the correct voltage (which it is) and the cable and fittings are are good then the problem is more likely the LNB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   clamschlauder

clamschlauder

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 10, 2014

Posted 26 June 2014 - 07:02 AM

Problem was LNB.  

 

Edit: Also, thank you for everyone's time and response.  


Edited by clamschlauder, 26 June 2014 - 07:38 AM.


#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 June 2014 - 07:33 AM

Awesome.  Thanks for the update. 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 13 July 2014 - 01:46 PM

I've been having on & off 775 issues on my HR34 since a nasty storm came marching thru here earlier in the week that cause a mini-blackout as well as a lost of signal 771. 

 

Afterwards, got a 775 during the week that when away on its own. Yesterday got another 775 that required pulling the power on the PI to restore.

 

Today, pulling the power on the PI only clears the problem for a few minutes at a time.

 

I completed the DirecTV dance a few minutes ago. The earliest a tech can get out here to check the LNB is Friday.

 

And as I'm typing this the 775 just cleared on its own.

 

And five minutes later, it's 775 again.


Edited by Drucifer, 13 July 2014 - 01:51 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#13 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 13 July 2014 - 04:53 PM

And now it just lost the Whole Home, because it can't detect a SWiM. So I'm off to the basement for another PI unpluging.


Edited by Drucifer, 18 July 2014 - 03:09 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#14 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 13 July 2014 - 07:31 PM

And now at 9PM when the HR34 was set to record, the box came back to life.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#15 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 July 2014 - 03:06 PM

Well the repair tech showed up with no replacement parts.

 

Still getting intermittent 775.

 

Looks like DirecTV in my area is going downhill like a ski ramp.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#16 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 July 2014 - 03:16 PM

If the PI is outputting the correct voltage (which it is) and the cable and fittings are are good then the problem is more likely the LNB

 

Now all DirecTV needs to do, is make sure the truck they send out have the needed parts to do the replacements.


Edited by Drucifer, 18 July 2014 - 03:18 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 July 2014 - 03:45 PM

Now all DirecTV needs to do, is make sure the truck they send out have the needed parts to do the replacements.

What was his diagnostics? 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 July 2014 - 04:09 PM

Have no idea. Had no 775 at the time. He didn't test the PI voltage or look at any of the outside connection.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,949 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 July 2014 - 04:11 PM

Have no idea. Had no 775 at the time. He didn't test the PI voltage or look at any of the outside connection.

So what did he do?  Or he just came and left?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,940 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 July 2014 - 04:19 PM

So what did he do?  Or he just came and left?

 

He came and left. He was here five minutes at most.


DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00





Protected By... spam firewall...And...