Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Eastern vs. Western Arc


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DeputyDawg

DeputyDawg

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2007

Posted 14 June 2014 - 06:24 AM

Since I have been with dish (10-15 years now) I have always pointed to the East (the original 110/119 and then 129) satellite locations, which has been working fine.

 

Last fall I was noticing a TON of dropped signals on HD channels.  Apparently my receiver was dropping so much that Dish called me to see what was wrong.  So we set

up a service call.  The tech stated that my LOS was blocked with trees.  He suggested moving me over to the western arc (61.5/72) which had a fairly good LOS.  That seemed

to work fine.  I recall my new signal strengths were lower. When asked he told me that was due to 61/5/72 being further away and thus weaker signal. He stated if I ever remove

those trees that I should consider going back to 110/119/129

 

6 months later, ALL trees are gone.  So I called dish to see if I should move back.  I had to talk to 3 different techs to get an answer I could understand and believe.  But I was told

NOT to move, that 129 which provides HD is much lower in the horizon compared to 61.5.

 

on a website to determine angles of each location this is what I came up with:

 

129 = 29.4

61.5 = 44.9

 

So I guess what I'm looking for is confirmation of whether I should stay with 61.5/72 or move back to 110/119/129.  Everything I can determine says STAY with 61.5/72

 

Thanks...


Edited by DeputyDawg, 14 June 2014 - 06:26 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 344 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 14 June 2014 - 07:40 AM

Stay with 61.5/72.7 which is Eastern Arc. Your old setup 110/119/129 was on Western Arc.



#3 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 14 June 2014 - 07:42 AM

Since I have been with dish (10-15 years now) I have always pointed to the East (the original 110/119 and then 129) satellite locations, which has been working fine.
 
Last fall I was noticing a TON of dropped signals on HD channels.  Apparently my receiver was dropping so much that Dish called me to see what was wrong.  So we set
up a service call.  The tech stated that my LOS was blocked with trees.  He suggested moving me over to the western arc (61.5/72) which had a fairly good LOS.  That seemed
to work fine.  I recall my new signal strengths were lower. When asked he told me that was due to 61/5/72 being further away and thus weaker signal. He stated if I ever remove
those trees that I should consider going back to 110/119/129
 
6 months later, ALL trees are gone.  So I called dish to see if I should move back.  I had to talk to 3 different techs to get an answer I could understand and believe.  But I was told
NOT to move, that 129 which provides HD is much lower in the horizon compared to 61.5.
 
on a website to determine angles of each location this is what I came up with:
 
129 = 29.4
61.5 = 44.9
 
So I guess what I'm looking for is confirmation of whether I should stay with 61.5/72 or move back to 110/119/129.  Everything I can determine says STAY with 61.5/72
 
Thanks...

First thing is Western Arc is 110/119/129 and Eastern Arc is 61.5/72.7 and if needed 77.  Where are your HD locals located if on Eastern Arc stay where you are.  Signals on Eastern arc are lower because of the MPEG4 compression used, if your picture isn't breaking up your signal is probably good.



#4 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 302 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 14 June 2014 - 11:41 AM

I have been on the Western Arc since I became a DISH customer back in 2003, in March I was contacted by DISH and informed they needed to send a TECH out to change me to the Eastern Arc as my location in Michigan, was migrating to the Eastern Arc. It was done without any cost to me, so I had no real issues with the switch, but I can say that in my experience my current Eastern Arc setup is much more prone to rain fade that it was on the Western Arc. I seem to lose signal during moderate showers, where I never did before. I have been told that my signal levels are fine under normal conditions and the dish is peaked as well as it can be. I do not intend on staying with DISH past this summer so I have learned to live with the outages at this point. Given my choice I would go with the Western Arc if it is an option, but that is just me. 



#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 June 2014 - 12:31 PM

Signals on Eastern arc are lower because of the MPEG4 compression used

Don't read the sentence - it's totally wrong personal assumption.



#6 OFFLINE   DeputyDawg

DeputyDawg

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2007

Posted 14 June 2014 - 02:15 PM

Sorry got mixed up with East/West Arc

 

So what I'm hearing is that I should stay with 61.5/72 !!!!  

 

If I do move back to 110/119/129 the 110/119 part might be good, but 129 is too low in the horizon and I may have issues

 

So not worth the service call to have dish come out...



#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 June 2014 - 02:40 PM

29 degree is too low in the horizon? don't take this bate ;)

 

we, at West Coast. are getting 61.5W just fine at 10 degree (if no tree on LOS)

 

all the BS about greater distance is just BS



#8 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,012 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 14 June 2014 - 04:08 PM

29 degree is too low in the horizon? don't take this bate ;)

we, at West Coast. are getting 61.5W just fine at 10 degree (if no tree on LOS)

all the BS about greater distance is just BS

10 degrees, ? Comon, you must be at the top of a mountain.
29 is not massively low, but anything under 20 degrees, surly need a long *** clear los, and rain fade would be way unacceptable.


Sent from my Galaxy S5

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#9 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 14 June 2014 - 04:16 PM

Moving back to W. Arc would be fine as long u have clear LOS to 129, which pretty much means u need to see the sun set into the earth, an not a tree.   I myself have 'split arc', 2 birds from the east, 2 birds from the west (61, 72, 110, 119), so typically if theres some rain fade on the HD channel, I can catch an acceptable signal on the sd channel, but not always.


http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 June 2014 - 04:49 PM

10 degrees, ? Comon, you must be at the top of a mountain.
29 is not massively low, but anything under 20 degrees, surly need a long *** clear los, and rain fade would be way unacceptable.


Sent from my Galaxy S5

I MUST BE AT TOP OF ONE STORY HOUSE; DID MANY INSTALLATIONS HERE BACK WHEN ONLY 61.5W CARE INTERNATIONAL CHANNELS

AND RAIN WILL AFFECT SAME PRACTICALLY WAY AS 119W,

 

COMMON, ENOUGH GRASPING STRAWS :D



#11 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,726 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 15 June 2014 - 04:20 PM

Moving back to W. Arc would be fine as long u have clear LOS to 129, which pretty much means u need to see the sun set into the earth, an not a tree.   I myself have 'split arc', 2 birds from the east, 2 birds from the west (61, 72, 110, 119), so typically if theres some rain fade on the HD channel, I can catch an acceptable signal on the sd channel, but not always.

There is absolutely no reason to have 110 AND 119 AND 61.5 AND 72.7 - any thing on 110/119 will also be on 61.5 / 72.7 (with the exception on SD MPEG2 locals - and for that you only need one of 110/119 (depends which one those locals are on)). Any of the national SD national channels will be on 72.7 along with the HD national channels (a few exceptions where they maybe on 61.5).


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#12 OFFLINE   mwdxer

mwdxer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationSeaside Oregon
Joined: Oct 30, 2013

Posted 15 June 2014 - 08:59 PM

I think there is one or two PI channels on the 61.5 that are not on the Western arc. One is in Spanish I believe.



#13 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,499 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 15 June 2014 - 09:31 PM

I think there is one or two PI channels on the 61.5 that are not on the Western arc. One is in Spanish I believe.


218 ION West is 110 (western arc) only.
9413 AlmaVision Hispanic Network is 61.5 (eastern arc) only.

That is the only national channel difference I can find.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#14 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,920 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 03 July 2014 - 02:31 PM

"Split arc" set-ups are not a good idea anymore.  I used to have one and missed the HD versions of many channels that I was supposed to receive.  Fortunately having a split arc set-up got me a free install of a 1000.2 to replace my Dish 500 + Dish 300 @61.5.  I originally had that setup due to being a "lifetime :sure: " Sky Angel subscriber.  When SA signed off satellite my HD locals appeared on 61.5 (but only the "Big-4" at the time). 


An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#15 OFFLINE   mwdxer

mwdxer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
  • LocationSeaside Oregon
Joined: Oct 30, 2013

Posted 03 July 2014 - 07:57 PM

I disconnected the 61.5 dish for a few weeks and the only change I found was the loss of Almavision 9413. I should move the 30" dish around and change out the LNBF, moving the dish to the 118.75 for international programming, since there is little left on the 61.5.






spam firewall