Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Installation Questions with Diagram

SL354NR4-01 GENIE HD DVR HR34-700 MSPLIT8R1-03 SPLITTER INSTALLATION DIAGRAM

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 15 June 2014 - 01:15 PM

The original 8 way splitter went bad on my DirecTV system.  The installer did not have an 8-way splitter so he improvised with  a 2 way and a 4 way.  I would like to return to the 8 way setup, but I don't recall what the connections looked like beforehand..

 

I have drawn and attached a diagram of how I think it will work with the 8 way.  I'd appreciate confirmation and/or suggestions BEFORE I make changes.

 

Thanks in advance for your help.

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Installation Diagram.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 01:32 PM

SO is the current set up 2way >4 way > 2 way?

 

your set up looks good, although I dont like to split after an 8 way

 

what are your cable lengths?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 15 June 2014 - 02:24 PM

SO is the current set up 2way >4 way > 2 way?

 

your set up looks good, although I dont like to split after an 8 way

 

what are your cable lengths?

Currently, the coax from the satellite goes to a 4 way splitter.  3 of the 4 connectors go to receivers.  1 of the connectors goes to the "power to swm" on the power inverter.  Then "To IRD" is connected to a 2 way splitter and the remaining two receivers are connected to the OUT connectors on the 2 way receiver.  The line to the HR-34 700 comes from the 4 way spitter and then goes to a 2 way splitter.  One of the OUT connectors goes to the DECA and the other OUT connector goes to the HR-34.

 

All of this happens in a closet with a Control4 system and a rack.  Then, from that closet, the coax goes to whatever room the TVs are in.  I've no idea of their length but the closet is in the basement and then there is a main and second floor above that.

 

Finally, I have 4 other occasionally used TV's which receive cable TV.  I am eventually wanting to get rid of that and add the additional TVs to the DirecTV system.



#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 03:52 PM

If you want an optimum set up, I would start by eliminating the CCK and connecting the Genie directly to your network via ethernet, you gain about 10 "DECA" dBs by doing this way and getting rid of the 2 way splitter.  I would also make sure that the Genie and minis are on the same splitter and the H25 is on the 2 way if at all possible. adding for more TVs will mean that you will need a SWM16 unless you get more minis which is not recommendable since you already have 3.  having a SWM16 may give a few more options wiring the equipment 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 15 June 2014 - 06:25 PM

If you want an optimum set up, I would start by eliminating the CCK and connecting the Genie directly to your network via ethernet, you gain about 10 "DECA" dBs by doing this way and getting rid of the 2 way splitter.  I would also make sure that the Genie and minis are on the same splitter and the H25 is on the 2 way if at all possible. adding for more TVs will mean that you will need a SWM16 unless you get more minis which is not recommendable since you already have 3.  having a SWM16 may give a few more options wiring the equipment 

What would I lose without the DECA?  I presume I would not have internet on any receiver other than the DVR.

 

Is it possible to have just the 8 way splitter and no other splitters with the current 5 devices (receivers)?  In other words, connect the Power Inverter "Power Out" to the red connector on the 8 way and then connect the 5 receivers leaving 2 connectors which I would terminate?  Then I would just connect the router to the HR-34.



#6 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,344 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 15 June 2014 - 06:43 PM

I don't get the single grounding block, when the entire 8 way swm splitter can be grounded?

Sent from my Galaxy S5

 

 

 


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:16 PM

What would I lose without the DECA?  

internet functions, but connecting the Genie to your network will do the same job as the CCK


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:17 PM

 

Is it possible to have just the 8 way splitter and no other splitters with the current 5 devices (receivers)?  In other words, connect the Power Inverter "Power Out" to the red connector on the 8 way and then connect the 5 receivers leaving 2 connectors which I would terminate?  Then I would just connect the router to the HR-34.

Sure that would be the preferred way


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:20 PM

I don't get the single grounding block, when the entire 8 way swm splitter can be grounded?

Sent from my Galaxy S5

There are a few reasons, if the location of the 8 way there is no ground, you would use a ground block to ground outside 

 

Since all the prewired seems to be inside the home, and assuming that there is a ground available there, DirecTV prefers to ground outside when ever possible 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,344 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:37 PM

There are a few reasons, if the location of the 8 way there is no ground, you would use a ground block to ground outside

Since all the prewired seems to be inside the home, and assuming that there is a ground available there, DirecTV prefers to ground outside when ever possible

I'm just used to the SWM 16 being outside already.


Sent from my Galaxy S5

 

 

 


#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 June 2014 - 07:58 PM

I'm just used to the SWM 16 being outside already.


Sent from my Galaxy S5

TS has a SWM LNB. But I get the point


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 16 June 2014 - 05:06 AM

internet functions, but connecting the Genie to your network will do the same job as the CCK

I am all about simplifying the setup.    I understand that the HR34 has internal DECA already built-in.

 

If  I eliminate the DECABB1MR0-01, will that mean that TV's connected to the mini's and the HD-25 will not have internet access?  Or, does it me they can all get their access from the HR34.

 

Thanks so much for helping me with this.  I am relatively new to DirecTV and just want to know enough about my system that I can resolve the most common problems without depending on others.  While I love Control4, it does add a lot of complexity to my AV and makes me worry about ongoing support from the local provider.



#13 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 16 June 2014 - 05:47 AM

Revised Installation without DECA.jpg

 

How about this?  The diagram eliminates all but one 8 way splitter and removes the DECA.  Will this work?  What am I sacrificing?


Edited by patmd, 16 June 2014 - 05:47 AM.


#14 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,267 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 16 June 2014 - 05:55 AM

That diagram would work fine.

Your HR34 will "bridge" your internet to the deca cloud.
  • damondlt likes this
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#15 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 16 June 2014 - 07:06 AM

That diagram would work fine.

Your HR34 will "bridge" your internet to the deca cloud.

Will I need a band stop filter on the HR34?  All of my receivers are connected to coax but I really don't understand coax vs. Ethernet network.  Then it is complicated by the Control4 setup.



#16 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,267 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 16 June 2014 - 10:36 AM

Band stop filter are used to block whole home frequecies. You wouldn't want one on your HR34.

Sent from my SM-N900V using DBSTalk mobile app
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#17 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 June 2014 - 03:20 PM

attachicon.gifRevised Installation without DECA.jpg

 

How about this?  The diagram eliminates all but one 8 way splitter and removes the DECA.  Will this work?  What am I sacrificing?

This is your best set up.   The HR34 will connect ALL receiver to the internet. no need for BSFs or anything else.  

 

With this set up the only thing you are sacrificing less headaches down the road, not bad!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#18 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 17 June 2014 - 02:58 AM

See attached for revised installation.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Revised Installation without DECA.jpg


#19 OFFLINE   patmd

patmd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
  • LocationSC
Joined: Jun 14, 2014

Posted 20 June 2014 - 07:21 AM

This is your best set up.   The HR34 will connect ALL receiver to the internet. no need for BSFs or anything else.  

 

With this set up the only thing you are sacrificing less headaches down the road, not bad!

 

See the attached photo.  Everything seems to work but I show a yellow warning triangle in settings.  STB Services Port: N/A(202)

 

Maybe it is related to my removing the DECABB1MR0-01, but I don't know what to do about it.  I rebooted the router and still get this triangle and code.

Attached Thumbnails

  • photo.JPG

Edited by patmd, 20 June 2014 - 07:55 AM.


#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,470 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 June 2014 - 08:15 AM

There should not be any issue with that. But if you want to fix that do an IP address forwarding to those porta


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...