Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What am I missing?

Switching places with 2 recei

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MichelleWieFan

MichelleWieFan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2013

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:35 PM

Hello,  I recently added a HD DVR to my equipment.  The tech installed the HD DVR in room B.  It was supposed to go into room A.  I wanted to Take the SD Receiver from room A and put it in room B, and install the HD DVR in room A.  I have run all the coax cable and was receiving video on both receivers before I moved them.  After moving them, I received the error "searching for sattelite signal" on both receivers.  I switched them back to their original positions,  SD in room A, HD in room B,  and the receivers worked ok again.  Im not sure what I'm missing here.  I thought for sure the receivers would work no matter where I moved them.  Is there a step I am missing somewhere to get the receivers to work in their new locations?  I have a good idea about what Im doing because I have 13-14 receivers in my house, however I never tried to switch locations of any of them once they were setup.  Im drawing a blank here, so i think there must be something I have overlooked.

 

Thank you in advance for your input.  Have a nice day!


Edited by MichelleWieFan, 18 June 2014 - 08:37 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,929 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:39 PM

Do you have SWM, where the DVRs have one cable running to them?



#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:40 PM

posting receiver model numbers and system type would be a good start for troubleshooting.  while doing this, make sure you are moving BBCs (if applies) along with HDDVR


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   MichelleWieFan

MichelleWieFan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2013

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:42 PM

I will get the model numbers.  Each receiver has its own line (Coax Cable) running to it.  None of my receivers share a Coax connection.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:43 PM

Press the DASH key on your remote control, does the pop up message indicates "SWM: CONNECTED"?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   MichelleWieFan

MichelleWieFan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2013

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:49 PM

The SD Receiver  = Model: D12-700

 

The HD DVR = Model: D12-500

 

 

 

Not sure what "SWM", "System Type" or BBCs means



#7 OFFLINE   MichelleWieFan

MichelleWieFan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2013

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:54 PM

My main line runs from the DirecTV dish into a couple of Multi switches in order for me to then send out 13 signals on 13 different Coax lines.  I did try moving the Coax to another port on th multi switch, but that did not help.



#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 08:58 PM

The SD Receiver  = Model: D12-700

 

The HD DVR = Model: D12-500  <------This is not an HDDVR model number 

 

 

 

Not sure what "SWM", "System Type" or BBCs means


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:00 PM

My main line runs from the DirecTV dish into a couple of Multi switches in order for me to then send out 13 signals on 13 different Coax lines.  I did try moving the Coax to another port on th multi switch, but that did not help.

What dish? (type) what multiswitch (model number)  you need to provide as much detail as possible, we are not clairvoyant 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   MichelleWieFan

MichelleWieFan

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2013

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:00 PM

HD DVR = Model: HR22-100

 

 

sorry I copied and pasted the wrong line !



#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:04 PM

HD DVR = Model: HR22-100

 

 

sorry I copied and pasted the wrong line !

Keep providing the rest of the info.....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,929 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:36 PM

It sounds like it's SWM if there are 13 coax cables and 13 boxes since there are DVR's in the mix (surely an installer wouldn't put a DVR in single tuner mode).

 

If that's the case (and dash would confirm) then BBC's wouldn't come into play. I was thinking one side of a SWM16 might get overloaded, but I'd think the D12 would still work.



#13 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,913 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:56 PM

. . .

 

I have 13-14 receivers in my house,

. . . 

 

First off, you aren't supplying enough info to get a correct answer.

 

How many tuners?

 

A complete list of all model numbers would help mo'

 

Do your boxes have one or two coax connected to them.


Edited by Drucifer, 18 June 2014 - 10:01 PM.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,746 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:58 PM

First off, you NOT are supplying enough info to get a correct answer.

 

Fixed it for ya!

Exactly what I have been saying....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,122 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 19 June 2014 - 07:01 PM

Can you take pictures of these switches and also list the model numbers of all your other equipment and explain how its all connected together. Sounds like you have a tuner issue or a dish type issue but without all the info its nearly impossible to get a proper picture of what is happening.

#16 OFFLINE   cdplayer

cdplayer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
  • Locationfl
Joined: Apr 04, 2014

Posted 21 June 2014 - 10:21 AM

sounds to me that he has a swim 16 and when u adds the dvr to the other room its going over the 8 tuners by 1 on that side of the swim 16






Protected By... spam firewall...And...