Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New AIM Meter?

satellite meter aim meter directv meter

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ZandarKoad

ZandarKoad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2009

Posted 24 June 2014 - 09:37 PM

I heard a few months ago that the AIM meter was going to get a hardware overhaul.  Is this new AIM meter out  yet, or are these just rumors?  I'd like to finally buy one (an AIM meter) but not if my purchase is going to be obsolete in a month or two.

P.S.  Yes, I am a professional installer, 10+ years in the industry.

THANKS!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,758 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 June 2014 - 10:44 PM

Perhaps it will support BSS tpns of D15/RB-2 with UHD channels?

#3 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,238 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 24 June 2014 - 10:57 PM

Probably adds DSWM support as well.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 June 2014 - 04:35 AM

The main difference in the generation 2 AIM is that it doesn't require a 10 dB pad for use with DRE loop-through.

The generation 1, with a 10 dB pad and firmware update will also work on DRE.

http://forums.solids...RECTV-AIM-Meter


  • ZandarKoad likes this
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 June 2014 - 04:36 AM

Perhaps it will support BSS tpns of D15/RB-2 with UHD channels?

There's no indication of this.


A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,238 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 25 June 2014 - 09:05 AM

There's no indication of this.

 

We probably shouldn't be surprised they haven't said anything about that yet, since the capability isn't needed yet. 

 

I guess it all depends on how the BSS capable legacy LNB that they'll be needing delivers it. If it is stacked above 2150 MHz, the AIM would need to have been designed for that possibility. If it is delivered on an additional coax or two, then it depends how those are selected (DiSEqC commands or whatever)

 

I have to think at least the rev 2 is capable of it, if not the rev 1, since they've presumably known what their BSS plans are for years.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 June 2014 - 10:02 AM

I have to think at least the rev 2 is capable of it, if not the rev 1, since they've presumably known what their BSS plans are for years.

Rev 2 is related to a hardware requirement, but "I'd imagine" if/when BBS comes into play, it will merely be a firmware change.


A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   ZandarKoad

ZandarKoad

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2009

Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:32 PM

Excellent info.  Thank you guys.  Two more questions:

1)  Is it true you can use the AIM meter to see how many SWM channels are being used on a system?  Can you hook up to a single line and see if it's a single tuner, dual tuner, Genie, etc?

2)  Can you tell using the AIM meter if a line has a client connected to it (since it doesn't use a SWM channel)?



#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 June 2014 - 03:23 AM

Yes, the AIM communicates with the SWiM and report the channels assigned.

No, it doesn't communicate with receivers for single, dual tuner, or Genie.

No, clients use DECA/RVU, which the AIM doesn't read.


  • ZandarKoad likes this
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   ZandarKoad

ZandarKoad

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2009

Posted 28 June 2014 - 06:56 AM

Is there any creature (meter) out there that DOES read the DECA/RVU?  ... besides a spectrometer?

So in order to read the SWiM assignments...  you connect the AIM to an open port on an installed SWiM splitter?



#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 June 2014 - 10:15 AM

Is there any creature (meter) out there that DOES read the DECA/RVU?  ... besides a spectrometer?

So in order to read the SWiM assignments...  you connect the AIM to an open port on an installed SWiM splitter?

The AIM just needs to use a coax connection.

The DECA network has a menu in the receivers with internal DECA [H/HR24 and up] that shows the loss to each node and dropped sessions, along with Phy mesh [speed] rates.

On the front panel, pressing guide & right arrow will bring up a menu with "coax" on the left.


A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   ZandarKoad

ZandarKoad

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2009

Posted 05 July 2014 - 12:27 PM

New AIM meter in hand.  Fully charged, new database and Firmware installed.  First thoughts:

 

AIM boot time of 55 seconds, versus AI Turbo S2 boot time of 5 (yes, FIVE) seconds.  Ouch.

AIM turn off time of 12 seconds, versus AI Turbo S2 turn off time of 3 seconds.

 

I used it on a job, and it saved me a trip inside - I ran the EIV (Extended Installation Verification) at the (pre-exising) dish, and found it wasn't quite peaked.  I was able to peak it in on the dB readings from 101.  Re-ran EIV, six check marks.  Good to go.

 

I still don't know how to actually peak on 99 or 103's signal quality using the AIM.  That's why I bought the meter (mostly).



#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 July 2014 - 08:54 PM

.

 

I still don't know how to actually peak on 99 or 103's signal quality using the AIM.  That's why I bought the meter (mostly).

You shouldn't have to if you dither properly.  But if you must, press TEST -> SATELLITE TUNE -> SELECT your reading location and the select the desire SATELLITE to tune to. DONE!


  • ZandarKoad likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 July 2014 - 08:57 PM

 

 

AIM boot time of 55 seconds, 

This is my major “beef” with the AIMeter


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 July 2014 - 09:07 PM

This is my major “beef” with the AIMeter

Yeah, but there's a lot it has to do to "boot", as this ain't no ordinary "meter".


A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 July 2014 - 09:10 PM

Yeah, but there's a lot it has to do to "boot", as this ain't no ordinary "meter".

Please do tell.  Why it takes so long... I will appreciate it.  


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#17 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 July 2014 - 07:40 AM

Please do tell.  Why it takes so long... I will appreciate it.  

I've used a lot of "meters" in my life, but the AIM seems to be more a computer than a meter.

I haven't taken one apart, nor have any insider info, so this is just what I sense from using it.


A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   ZandarKoad

ZandarKoad

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2009

Posted 06 July 2014 - 08:03 AM

The AI Turbo S2 ain't no ordinary meter either.  In fact, it can look at far more orbital locations and transponders in more areas of the world than the AIM ever could.  My guess is Applied Instruments made boot speed a specific concern during the hardware and software design process, and DirecTV did not.  Perhaps because Applied Instruments had greater incentive to make the meter appealing to it's target audience, whereas DirecTV already had a captive audience - they could require their techs to use it.

 

It looks like there are ways to make the AIM more user friendly with standby mode, etc.  Or you could just get used to turning the meter on before assembling the dish, or mounting the dish, etc.



#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,183 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 July 2014 - 08:25 AM

So what would make it faster? A faster processor? Better written software? Or perhaps a combination of both?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,701 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 July 2014 - 09:33 AM

So what would make it faster? A faster processor? Better written software? Or perhaps a combination of both?

I haven't used the other but does it have all the features the AIM does for DirecTV?

About the only thing AIM is missing is the DECA tests, but otherwise you can do a full system ring out.

Are these really "apples to apples"?

 

After looking at the Operation Manual for the AI Turbo S2, IMO this isn't "apples to apples".

I actually like the format of the AI Turbo better, as it's more along the lines of a "meter" with features of a Spectrum Analyzer.

Its downside is a lack of SWiM support to the degree of the AIM.

 

The AIM is fairly powerful for only DirecTV systems, BUT what I personally don't like about it is:

By design the "intelligence" was put into the meter.

I'm "old school" where the user should have the "intelligence" and the meter is merely a tool.

The AIM supports DirecTV's idea of "teaching" installers to follow dos & don'ts without understanding why or how the system works.

"Any idiot" can follow the menu buttons and "find the cheese" at the end of the maze.

"A Technician" knows how it works and uses their intelligence to find something wrong, or not up to specs.

 

I don't need to stinking meter to tell me "pass/fail".

Just give me the dBm and I'd decide if its good or not.

 

/soapbox

:lol:   


  • ZandarKoad likes this
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall