Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * - - 2 votes

HR34 unresponsive since latest update


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JerseyBoy

JerseyBoy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 146 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 26 June 2014 - 06:04 PM

Since the latest update on 6/10 my HR34 frequently, but not always, takes up to 2 minutes to respond to a button press on the remote.  If I keep pressing buttons on the remote sometimes when it finally begins to respond again it will do all or most the commands as though they had been queued up but sometimes it only does whatever the 1st button press was.  When it is in this state the video and audio continue to play normally.  I have tried both a RBR and a power cycle but the problem is still there. 



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   stroh

stroh

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2004

Posted 26 June 2014 - 08:35 PM

I have the same problem and it really posses me off. It is so bad I'm thinking of leaving DTV after nearly 20 years with them.

#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 June 2014 - 08:48 PM

Try pressing the Exit button on the remote until you hear the bonk sound and then try to do things with the remote.

This clears out the interactive stuff like the scoreboard and weather or the multi channel broadcast like 205.

 

If that does not work, try the CLEARMYBOX search and choose Keyword. Then let it do it's thing. It is like a Reset but for some reason it cleans out a lot of data that appears to be there that is not supposed to be. Several have had good luck using it.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   MrMichael

MrMichael

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
  • LocationPurcellville, VA
Joined: Apr 06, 2009

Posted 01 July 2014 - 10:11 AM

Same thing here.  Its VERY bad.  We'll turn the tv on and the channel will be showing something we don't want our 3 year old to see, but we can't do anything because the box isn't responding to remote key presses so we have to yell at her to cover her eyes while we sit there and wait.  Horrible experience.



#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 July 2014 - 10:25 AM

The CLEARMYBOX search, or rebooting twice in a row, should help with this a lot.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 July 2014 - 10:27 AM

Same thing here.  Its VERY bad.  We'll turn the tv on and the channel will be showing something we don't want our 3 year old to see, but we can't do anything because the box isn't responding to remote key presses so we have to yell at her to cover her eyes while we sit there and wait.  Horrible experience.

You can go into Parental Controls and set the ratings that are allowed to be shown on the TV. That should stop the unwanted programs.

Turning the TV off will make it go away also and you can change the channel on the receiver while the picture is off.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 01 July 2014 - 11:13 AM

Same problem here.   I've had my HR34 for about a year and always see people complaining about how slow the HR-34 was but I never thought it was that bad.  But this interface freeze up since the last update is REALLY annoying.   I'll try CLEARMYBOX and see if it helps.   Hopefully they fix the issue in the next release.    Oh, I'm also getting interface freeze ups on the C-31 clients.


Edited by clueless, 01 July 2014 - 11:28 AM.


#8 OFFLINE   scottb8888

scottb8888

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 01 July 2014 - 11:18 AM

Same problem here.  Although I just added C41's to the system.  I thought that caused the unresponsiveness.  Maybe not.  I do remember family complaining before that.



#9 OFFLINE   MrMichael

MrMichael

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
  • LocationPurcellville, VA
Joined: Apr 06, 2009

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:41 PM

You can go into Parental Controls and set the ratings that are allowed to be shown on the TV. That should stop the unwanted programs.

Turning the TV off will make it go away also and you can change the channel on the receiver while the picture is off.

Won't do anything if its on CNN or some normal station and they show some movie trailer or a trailer for a network show that is on later at night.  A lot of that is not appropriate for kids and nothing we can do about it.  Fox seems to be especially bad.

 

I did a CLEARMYBOX this afternoon, we'll see if it helps.



#10 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 July 2014 - 04:55 PM

I have spoken to my counterparts in DIRECTV Engineering and if you want to help diagnose this issue, here's a way you can tell them what's going on.

Do a KEYWORD search for SENDREPORT and post the report code that it gives you in this thread.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#11 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 01 July 2014 - 06:07 PM

I have spoken to my counterparts in DIRECTV Engineering and if you want to help diagnose this issue, here's a way you can tell them what's going on.

Do a KEYWORD search for SENDREPORT and post the report code that it gives you in this thread.

The key displayed was 20140701-3529



#12 OFFLINE   MrMichael

MrMichael

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
  • LocationPurcellville, VA
Joined: Apr 06, 2009

Posted 02 July 2014 - 09:54 AM

Seems as if CLEARMYBOX helped a lot.  Haven't had issues since I did it yesterday afternoon.  Will see if it stays stable.



#13 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 July 2014 - 10:06 AM

Seems as if CLEARMYBOX helped a lot.  Haven't had issues since I did it yesterday afternoon.  Will see if it stays stable.

Excellent. Glad it is working for you.

 

I wish we had a list of what all that does to a receiver.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#14 OFFLINE   clueless

clueless

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:49 AM

After I did the SENDREPORT I did a CLEARMYBOX and so far so good. Thanks for the assistance.



#15 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,893 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:55 AM

Do you think it does more than the d

 

Excellent. Glad it is working for you.

 

I wish we had a list of what all that does to a receiver.

 Do you think it does more than the double reboot?


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#16 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 02 July 2014 - 12:25 PM

Do you think it does more than the d

 

 Do you think it does more than the double reboot?

I do but it is just a gut feeling and have nothing to back it up with.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#17 OFFLINE   scottb8888

scottb8888

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 07 July 2014 - 08:25 AM

Ok, I seem kinda dumb here...  am I doing these keyword searches on my HR34 or on this site  :)


  • damondlt likes this

#18 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 07 July 2014 - 08:51 AM

Ok, I seem kinda dumb here...  am I doing these keyword searches on my HR34 or on this site  :)

On the HR34.

Menu, Search & Browse, type in CLEARMYBOX, choose Keyword and press Select and let it do it's thing.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#19 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,205 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 July 2014 - 08:54 AM

Ok, I seem kinda dumb here... am I doing these keyword searches on my HR34 or on this site :)

LOL, not dumb. Sometimes we forget to specify.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#20 OFFLINE   scottb8888

scottb8888

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 08 July 2014 - 10:28 AM

LOL, not dumb. Sometimes we forget to specify.

Thanks!!



#21 OFFLINE   EmilG

EmilG

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2008

Posted 09 July 2014 - 02:26 PM

Same issue here.

I'll try CLEARMYBOX when I get home.

Thanks Guys!


Panasonic P65VT30
Panasonic L42E50
HR34, C31

#22 OFFLINE   salmo62

salmo62

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 09 July 2014 - 05:17 PM

I have searching for signal (771) on about half of my channels.  I also did a clearmybox search and that helped the slowness but not by much.  Same thing on two C-31's



#23 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,610 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 09 July 2014 - 05:38 PM

I have searching for signal (771) on about half of my channels.  I also did a clearmybox search and that helped the slowness but not by much.  Same thing on two C-31's

Check you satellite signals on the 101, 99c, 103ca and a103cb. If you have them, the 110 and 119.

Post them here so someone can advise you.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#24 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,826 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 July 2014 - 06:50 PM

I have searching for signal (771) on about half of my channels. 

771 has nothing to do with what is being discussed here.  You have another problem.  You can start by supplying your signal readings 

 

 
Fill in your readings for each satellite and tuner on the new post you create, using the example below as a guide. (The example below is only an example and not a form that will appear in your post unless you "cut" and "paste" it.) A properly aligned dish will show 80-90s on most of the relevant transponders (although some will be low or zero):
 
Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)

[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]

1-8 X X X X X X X X 

9-16 X X X X X X X X

17-24 X X X X X X X X

25-32 X X X X X X X X

 

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)

[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]

17-24 NA NA NA NA NA X X X 

25-32X X X X X X X X
 
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]

[Local HD channels for some cities]

1-8 X X X X X X  NA NA

9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA X X 

17-24 X X X X X X X X

[Note: these can be very slow to appear]
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]

[National HD channels]

1-8 X X X X X X X X

9-16X X X X X X  NA NA
 
 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]

[Local HD channels for some cities]

1-8 X X X X X X NA NA

9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA X X 

17-24 X X X X X X X X
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]


 
Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(ca)) 

[National HD channels]

1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

9-16 X X X X X X X X

17-24 X X X X X X X X
 
Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º(cb)) [or 103º(b)]

[National HD channels]

1-8 X X X X X X X X

9-16 X X X X X X X X NA NA

17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
 

Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#25 OFFLINE   EmilG

EmilG

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2008

Posted 11 July 2014 - 07:11 AM

CLEARMYBOX fixed my issue !!!

Initially it didn't but it I guess it was still loading up the guide in the background taking processor time.

About an hour later, it's been perfect.

Thanks Guys!


Panasonic P65VT30
Panasonic L42E50
HR34, C31




Protected By... spam firewall...And...