Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Trash picking a Satellite Dish


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   siafu_kali

siafu_kali

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2014

Posted 28 June 2014 - 08:02 PM

Hi,

 

I am looking to help my inlaws set up a second DTV satellite dish at their summer cottage.  I was planning on purchasing an HD Dish, but on a walk this afternoon, we came across someone who was throwing out a DTV dish that looks like it would be perfect.  However I'm a little confused and looking for some help.

 

The dish appears to be a SWM5.  The Dish size is 22.5 in. x 32.5 in, and it has a green sticker on the LNB with SL5S4NR4-01 on it.  There is only one port for a cable that is then split in two with a DirectTV MSPLIT2R1-03 splitter.  So what I found was the dish, LNB, one cable coming out of the LNB split by the splitter into two cables, and the two cables dangling -- cut after a couple of feet from the splitter.

 

I'm used to the old LNBs that are powered by the reciever, but doing some Googling on these part numbers makes it look like I'll need to get a power inserter?  However it's unclear to me how a power inserter would have worked in this setup, since the cable was split so close to the dish.  Disconnecting the cables, I see that their are two ports on the splitter that have red interiors (the one on the top and the left one on the bottom) and one is orange.  I'm guessing I should send the power from the inserter up the left side of the splitter and the splitter will continue to send the power up to the LNB.

 

Is this correct, and is this all I should need (other than a pre-Geni DTV HD DVR)?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 June 2014 - 08:25 PM

Correct. You need a 21v power inserter which connects to the red port on the splitter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,197 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 28 June 2014 - 08:26 PM

You do need a power inserter, either a 21 or 29 volt model. It must be on the power passing port of the splitter, which should be described by a line on the splitter.



#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,865 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 June 2014 - 12:00 AM

Did you ask why they're tossing that stuff?  Are you sure it works?


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:00 AM

You do need a power inserter, either a 21 or 29 volt model. It must be on the power passing port of the splitter, which should be described by a line on the splitter.

Swm 5 lnb is 21,
Swm 16 Multiswitch is 29

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:22 AM

the 29v works with a SWM LNB as well


  • damondlt likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   siafu_kali

siafu_kali

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2014

Posted 29 June 2014 - 05:08 PM

Thanks everyone.  I'm not sure why they were tossing it.  Actually, it was in a pile of 3 dishes, two 18" (one from DTV and one from Dish Networks) and the oval DTV one.  I'm assuming that whoever put them out on the curb was getting rid of them and put them out for others who might not want to purchase a satellite dish.  I'm planning on testing it out before taking it to the summer cottage, but wanted to make sure I understood the hardware before wiring things up, or purchasing power inserters.  I can use the current dish to orient where to point the satellite.  One orientation question that I have though -- this satellite dish appears like it can pick up all 5 DTV satellites, but where to I point it (I also downloaded a satellite pointing app, but they want to know which satellite as an input)?  Do I point it at 103 to it as 99/101 on one side and 110/119 on the other?



#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 05:19 PM

all DirecTV dishes are aligned using the 101 satellite


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   siafu_kali

siafu_kali

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2014

Posted 29 June 2014 - 06:01 PM

Thanks!



#10 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,865 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:57 PM

http://www.dishpointer.com is a useful site for dish alignment coordinates and mapping tools.


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,871 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 29 June 2014 - 10:55 PM

all DirecTV dishes are aligned using the 101 satellite


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Well, no, that isn't true. But the dish he is working with aligns to the 101.


  • damondlt likes this

#12 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 29 June 2014 - 11:46 PM

Yeah peds , remember this is history, your info needs to be the most up-to-date and accurate.
Sound familiar?

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#13 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,740 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 02:31 AM

Since it was just thrown out in a pile I would inspect to make sure the reflector is not bent...


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV | DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET) | DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | H44-500 | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:01 AM

Well, no, that isn't true. But the dish he is working with aligns to the 101.

that info is 100% accurate. Even the 18x20 dish gets aligned using the 101 satellite


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:02 AM

Yeah peds , remember this is history, your info needs to be the most up-to-date and accurate.
Sound familiar?

please do tell why is not true


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • damondlt likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:12 AM

You wouldn't aline to the 101 if your setting up 72.5 or 95 .
You brought this on yourself you know.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#17 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:39 AM

Swm 5 lnb is 21,
Swm 16 Multiswitch is 29


The 21V power inserter is very hard to find at the moment. The 29V power inserter is 100% approved by DIRECTV for SWM dishes.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#18 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:12 AM

Not on ebay, just found 25 of them.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:24 AM

You wouldn't aline to the 101 if your setting up 72.5 or 95 .
You brought this on yourself you know.

Nice try. The 72.5 is no longer in use and you align the international dish using the dual LNB that points to the 101. So my comments stands and is 100% correct.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,464 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 30 June 2014 - 12:52 PM

I thought the 101/110/119 triple sat dish aligned on the 110?


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL, 3xSWM16; 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#21 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:05 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#22 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,464 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:24 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

 

They still broadcast a signal on 110 even though it has no CONUS channels, only Puerto Rico channels.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL, 3xSWM16; 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#23 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,378 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:33 PM

They still broadcast a signal on 110 even though it has no CONUS channels, only Puerto Rico channels.

Yea but I doubt they would peak a satellite signal thats only in the 60s.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#24 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:29 PM

I thought the 101/110/119 triple sat dish aligned on the 110?

so then according to this, DirecTV is no longer using the 18x20 since the 110 is aimed at PR


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#25 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,463 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:33 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

I have been doing this for more than 10 years and 18x20 always get peak using 101....

 

As I said, ALL DirecTV current dishes (to include ODU 36) gets peak using 101.... you can (if you want) focus on the other sats once you have rough peak your dish using 101.  But I have never had the need to use other sats with the exception of the ODU36 that I use the 95 when the 101 LNB is missing and the dish was installed previously and is almost tuned.  is very hard to try to find the 95 without finding the 101 first 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...