Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Trash picking a Satellite Dish


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:05 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,944 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:24 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

 

They still broadcast a signal on 110 even though it has no CONUS channels, only Puerto Rico channels.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#23 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:33 PM

They still broadcast a signal on 110 even though it has no CONUS channels, only Puerto Rico channels.

Yea but I doubt they would peak a satellite signal thats only in the 60s.

Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#24 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:29 PM

I thought the 101/110/119 triple sat dish aligned on the 110?

so then according to this, DirecTV is no longer using the 18x20 since the 110 is aimed at PR


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#25 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:33 PM

I'm sure that used to be the standard, but since Directv doesn't use the 110 for us anymore, I'm guessing that's not the standard.

I have been doing this for more than 10 years and 18x20 always get peak using 101....

 

As I said, ALL DirecTV current dishes (to include ODU 36) gets peak using 101.... you can (if you want) focus on the other sats once you have rough peak your dish using 101.  But I have never had the need to use other sats with the exception of the ODU36 that I use the 95 when the 101 LNB is missing and the dish was installed previously and is almost tuned.  is very hard to try to find the 95 without finding the 101 first 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#26 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,296 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:33 PM

Yea but I doubt they would peak a satellite signal thats only in the 60s.

Correct 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#27 OFFLINE   Ken Stomski

Ken Stomski

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2011

Posted 01 July 2014 - 12:25 PM

didn't notice anybody suggest that if they are only using one receiver at the cabin that there is no need to keep the splitter as part of the circuit....



#28 OFFLINE   BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2010

Posted 04 July 2014 - 09:00 PM

siafu_kali,

 

Let's pause for a moment and get back on topic. Refer to my entry in this post about how to align your dish. Just be sure to enter 101W Directv 4S or scroll down to the LNB settings and pick your LNB from the list. Once you enter the zip code for wherever you are located it will give you all the settings you need to align your dish. Remember that you are aiming at something the size of a school bus about 22 thousand miles away, so you cannot be sloppy with your settings. You can use your receiver's meter to do the alignment. If you cannot see the TV from where you have the dish, you will need someone watching the TV and telling you when you have the best signal. Many have done this successfully. You should be able to do the same.

 

Bob


Edited by BobStokesbary, 04 July 2014 - 09:03 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...