Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

has anyone ordered from dishbuys?


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 14 July 2014 - 09:04 PM

With any DVR D* uses you have to find out if it is truly owned or leased.  You can do this by calling the Access Card Team at 877-887-7994.  Have the RID # or the serial number ready when you make the call and they'll be able to tell you if you truly own it. Putting a large internal drive in a leased HR violates the TOS.  Nobody on the forum will recommend that you do that.  

 

I've upgraded the HDDs in lots of TiVos too and it's not as easy to do with some of the HRs.  First step is to find out the status of the HR you want to upgrade.  

 

I have no idea how they can sell them at that price.  If it is truly a leased unit, you will face a recommittment.  No getting away from that.  

 

Rich 

I thought it was already determined these are leased units? 

 

I agree at that price it would seem they would have to be. I've run external drives on my HR20-700 and never had a problem so whether it's internal or external doesn't really matter to me, internal would be ideal of course, but as long as it works I'm good with it.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,024 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 15 July 2014 - 01:02 PM

I thought it was already determined these are leased units? 

 

I agree at that price it would seem they would have to be. I've run external drives on my HR20-700 and never had a problem so whether it's internal or external doesn't really matter to me, internal would be ideal of course, but as long as it works I'm good with it.

 

 Yup, that's what I thought too.  Never hurts to talk about the TOS and owned HRs, tho.  Always good to have choices.

 

Rich 



#53 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 15 July 2014 - 03:26 PM

 Yup, that's what I thought too.  Never hurts to talk about the TOS and owned HRs, tho.  Always good to have choices.

 

Rich 

Indeed, and much appreciated!  



#54 OFFLINE   samthegam

samthegam

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:49 PM

Indeed, and much appreciated!  

Activated the HR44-500 today was not told anything about 2 year commitment. 



#55 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 16 July 2014 - 11:59 PM

Activated the HR44-500 today was not told anything about 2 year commitment. 

If it's a concern I would definitely double-check if I were you, and I would be interested in what you find out. Just because they didn't tell doesn't mean you're not.



#56 OFFLINE   samthegam

samthegam

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 17 July 2014 - 01:10 AM

If it's a concern I would definitely double-check if I were you, and I would be interested in what you find out. Just because they didn't tell doesn't mean you're not.

After speaking to numerous customer reps adding the HR44-500 did start a new 2 year commitment. But, I am okay with it since I love DirecTV and happy again to have the HR44-500 after briefly having an HR44-200 that was swapped for an HR34-700. For all my troubles DirecTV gave me a credit of $200. 



#57 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,024 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:58 AM

Activated the HR44-500 today was not told anything about 2 year commitment. 

 

Call the ACT and ask them what your commitment date is now.  877-887-7994.  If they tell you it's owned, I'm gonna buy one.

 

Rich



#58 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,024 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:59 AM

Call the ACT and ask them what your commitment date is now.  877-887-7994.  If they tell you it's owned, I'm gonna buy one.

 

Rich

 

Never mind.   :rolling:

 

Rich



#59 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 17 July 2014 - 11:23 AM

After speaking to numerous customer reps adding the HR44-500 did start a new 2 year commitment. But, I am okay with it since I love DirecTV and happy again to have the HR44-500 after briefly having an HR44-200 that was swapped for an HR34-700. For all my troubles DirecTV gave me a credit of $200. 

Thanks for the update.



#60 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 17 July 2014 - 11:24 AM

How many different models of the HR44 are there?

 

I notice that 500 has been mentioned as Humax, is the 200 Pace, I thought that was 700?



#61 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,152 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 July 2014 - 04:38 PM

There are 3 HR44 manufacturers. 

 

HR44-200  Samsung

HR44-500  Humax

HR44-700  Pace

 

Here is the complete list 

 

-100 - Thomson/Technicolor (formerly RCA)

-200 - Samsung

-250 - TiVo (no longer active)

-300 - Pace (formerly Philips)

-400 - Hughes (no longer active)

-500 - Humax

-600 - LG

-700 - Pace

-800 - NEC


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#62 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,796 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 July 2014 - 04:44 PM

For the most part, it does not matter to the end user who the manufacturer is. There have been some isolated exceptions to that over the years, but with the HR44 they all seem to be good.



#63 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 18 July 2014 - 12:40 AM

Thanks for the info guys.



#64 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 28 July 2014 - 02:02 PM

Anyone have any adverse results from going with this site? Unit works great and no hassle purchase? 

 

Still trying to decide to just call DIRECTV for the Genie or just insuring that I actually get an HR44 by getting it at this site. 

 

Thanks



#65 OFFLINE   ladannen

ladannen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 28 July 2014 - 02:12 PM

No problems here... see my post earlier in this thread for details.

Everything has been working great with the unit since then.



#66 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:45 PM

No problems here... see my post earlier in this thread for details.

Everything has been working great with the unit since then.

Cool, thanks!



#67 OFFLINE   BoilerUp

BoilerUp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • LocationIndiana
Joined: Jul 29, 2014

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:16 PM

If you upgrade to a Genie and order C41W clients, does this ensure you get a HR44 or do they have ways to make the HR34 work with the wireless clients too?



#68 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,495 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 29 July 2014 - 03:08 PM

Nope, c41w works fine with hr34. Only thing the 44 does is have wireless internet built in.

#69 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,152 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2014 - 03:27 PM

If you upgrade to a Genie and order C41W clients, does this ensure you get a HR44 or do they have ways to make the HR34 work with the wireless clients too?

Both HR44 and HR34 connect the same way to the wireless clients.  Nothing special for the HR34


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#70 OFFLINE   BoilerUp

BoilerUp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • LocationIndiana
Joined: Jul 29, 2014

Posted 31 July 2014 - 07:17 AM

If you "upgrade" through Direct and get a HR34, could you then "buy" a HR44 through this site and send the HR34 back when you activate it?  

 

As you can tell, I'm going to get a Genie (probabaly this week) and am considering all my options...



#71 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,152 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 July 2014 - 08:53 AM

If you "upgrade" through Direct and get a HR34, could you then "buy" a HR44 through this site and send the HR34 back when you activate it?

As you can tell, I'm going to get a Genie (probabaly this week) and am considering all my options...

why not skip DirecTV altogether and just get it from dish buys ?
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#72 OFFLINE   ladannen

ladannen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 31 July 2014 - 09:30 AM

If the Directv upgrade is free, and a HR44 is the unit that is shipped or installed, no need to buy a unit from dish buys.



#73 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,495 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 31 July 2014 - 10:00 AM

Or if SWM needs installed.



#74 OFFLINE   BoilerUp

BoilerUp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
  • LocationIndiana
Joined: Jul 29, 2014

Posted 31 July 2014 - 02:16 PM

If the Directv upgrade is free, and a HR44 is the unit that is shipped or installed, no need to buy a unit from dish buys.

 

 

Or if SWM needs installed.

I believe both in my case.  I do have SWM, but believe they only put in a SWM8 and this will put me over the tuner limit (haven't checked yet to be sure), but the first reason is the primary (free is GOOOOOD).  :righton:



#75 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,495 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 31 July 2014 - 03:21 PM

What they install if you have 8 tuners or less is limited to 8. C31/C41 clients don't count. 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...