Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Swim 16 Power Consumption


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:06 PM

I have a D connected home with a HR44-700 Genie, two clients and a HR22-100.  This is all networked by a Swim16.   I notice the Swim16 operates warm, not hot but I guess maybe 120 degrees or so.  That being the case, I was wondering what kind of current draw or watts does it consume? 

 

Of course everyone is trying to conserve power these days and I was wondering if there would be a benefit to powering the Swim16 off over night with a timer.  I do know that I could not be getting signal to my D units but if I have no plans to record over the night time hours, would the wattage consumption saved add up to much, and....would I be creating an equipment problem with the Swim powered off at night?

 

I have included a picture of the board I just constructed with my D equipment on it.  I did this a few weeks ago and it looks a lot better now than the disorganized set up my D installers put together over the years.photo.JPG  



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:10 PM

Brtw, I did clean up the cables out from the splitter, the fun straight up in an organized manner then to the respective rooms in my home..  



#3 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:23 PM

I think that would be a mistake.

1. Turning electrical things on and off does them more harm than just leaving them on all the time. Connections expand and contract with the added heat and then loss of heat and eventually cause connection and solder joint problems.

2. The receivers are constantly getting data from the satellites to keep the Guide, messages, etc. up to date.


Edited by jimmie57, 29 June 2014 - 07:30 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:25 PM

I have a D connected home with a HR44-700 Genie, two clients and a HR22-100.  

you should then consider using a SWM LNB instead of the SWM16 since you have 7 tuners.  SWM16 are notorious for running very warm, sometimes even hot to the touch.

 

You really dont want to unplug the SWM switch as this would create all sort of issues starting with guide data....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:24 PM

A SWM LNB would mount on my dish, correct?  Would I then only bring one line in from the dish?  With that said, would that ling then just connect to the spitter?


Edited by MrDad0330, 29 June 2014 - 08:27 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:26 PM

And what if I wanted to add on later, say to another bedroom or two..just thinking ahead and that may never happen


Edited by MrDad0330, 29 June 2014 - 08:27 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:50 PM

A SWM LNB would mount on my dish, correct?  Would I then only bring one line in from the dish?  With that said, would that ling then just connect to the spitter?

Yes, you will change your current legacy LNB with a SWM LNB.  once cable down to PI then to splitter, or splitter then to PI, your choice 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:52 PM

And what if I wanted to add on later, say to another bedroom or two..just thinking ahead and that may never happen

Well, that is something you need to consider.  then way you have it set up right now you can expand easily, so is either leave for expansion or conserve some juice but you can't have it both ways


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:53 PM

Peds.

   thanks.. now I just will have to find which of the four cable runs IS the one to carry the signal...lol.  Where can I get the SWM LNB?



#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 June 2014 - 08:57 PM

Peds.

   thanks.. now I just will have to find which of the four cable runs IS the one to carry the signal...lol.  Where can I get the SWM LNB?

all are carrying signal from the LNB, you just need to pick one and use that one or the new SWM LNB.  eBay, SolidSignal are good sources for DirecTV related stuff 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,232 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 29 June 2014 - 11:05 PM

I just looked at the power inserter for an SWM16. The label rates it at 100-120VAC, 1.1 Amp input, 29V, 40.6 Watt output (max).  Ohms law translates the output to 1.4 amps max.

 

I have not measured the power draw, but would assume the actual would be slightly less than the rated.  If the 1.1A ac input current is correct, that's about the same as running a 100 watt light bulb continuously.

 

The SWM LNB (PI21) definitely draws less power than an SWM16. It's input is specified as 100-120VAC, 0.6 amp. So it's about half the power draw as the SWM16 using the PI29.

 

So if you are looking to save power, going to the SWM LNB and the 21 volt PI will absolutely reduce your power draw.

 

I agree with what others have noted, you do not want to power your system down on a routine basis.



#12 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 30 June 2014 - 03:56 AM

That's very helpful, thank you Carl and Peds.   I am assuming the PI I have now must be changed out as it says on it that it is only for the SWM16.  So I would need the SWM-LNB and the PI29.  I can do all of this but if there is dish "repointing" then I will be in trouble. 

 

Went into Amazon since I am a Prime member, they show the SWM-LNB at $19.99 and a PI29 at $9.99

In the meantime, I will not power off my system overnight per your advice.  Thanks again


Edited by MrDad0330, 30 June 2014 - 04:03 AM.


#13 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 30 June 2014 - 04:15 AM

Carl6, a 100 watt light bulb running 24 hrs every day would cost me about $9 per month or 10% of my total monthly bill !   10% of my total electrical consumption for a multi-switch is higher than I would have ever thought.  Thanks for your "number crunching"



#14 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 June 2014 - 05:38 AM

Carl6, a 100 watt light bulb running 24 hrs every day would cost me about $9 per month or 10% of my total monthly bill !   10% of my total electrical consumption for a multi-switch is higher than I would have ever thought.  Thanks for your "number crunching"

I find your numbers for the cost of the light bulb hard to believe. My lowest bills of the year are in the fall and spring when it is not cold or hot enough to have those 2 items running much. My lowest bill is about $120 for that.

During that time I have the following running around the clock:

3 DirecTV receivers, the PI, 3 UPS units, 5 computers, a modem, a wireless router, 4 60 13 watt light bulbs in various parts of the house, one 120 watt halogen light bulb and of course a refrigerator. At night I have 2 sets of lights in addition to the listed that are both 120 watt set ups that run from dusk til dawn. During the day 2 of the TV set ups are running for approximately 16 hours of the day. Once a week the Washer and Dryer ( gas dryer with electric drum motor and fan). Every day the electric garage door opener is used about 4 times.

 

A DVR uses about 35 watts whether it is turned on or off.

 

You would probably find a "Kill A Watt" very useful. It can show the exact wattage / amps / volts, etc. and if you punch in the current rate you pay for electricity it can show how much an item is costing you to run it.

 

Edit / Add: I have been looking around on the web and found a calculator. It works really easy. Has several items above it that you can choose and it will plug in the usual wattage used by the item and you can just type in your own numbers.

From this calculator it appears that the cost is quite high like you posted  for a 100 watt light bulb.

Link: http://www.electrici...aspx?Device=100 Watt Incandescent Light Bulb&Watts=100


Edited by jimmie57, 30 June 2014 - 08:02 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:58 AM

That's very helpful, thank you Carl and Peds. I am assuming the PI I have now must be changed out as it says on it that it is only for the SWM16. So I would need the SWM-LNB and the PI29. I can do all of this but if there is dish "repointing" then I will be in trouble.

Went into Amazon since I am a Prime member, they show the SWM-LNB at $19.99 and a PI29 at $9.99
In the meantime, I will not power off my system overnight per your advice. Thanks again

you can use the PI29 with a SWM LNB but not sure how that will translate to power savings...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,232 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 30 June 2014 - 07:29 AM

Carl6, a 100 watt light bulb running 24 hrs every day would cost me about $9 per month or 10% of my total monthly bill !   10% of my total electrical consumption for a multi-switch is higher than I would have ever thought.  Thanks for your "number crunching"

Some time ago I measured the power draw for a lot of things, and figured out my monthly cost based on that. A 25 watt light bulb running continuously would cost me about $1.49 a month. That would suggest a 100 watt bulb would cost me $6 a month. But my monthly bill is considerably higher than yours, so as a percentage it is much smaller.  I figure a 25 watt bulb would total about 17.8 KWh per month, so a 100 watt draw should total around 71 KWh per month.



#17 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:35 AM

Since the SWM16 gets it's power from the PI29 doesn't it set the amount of electricity usage / cost to operate the SWM16 ?

I do not have either so I can not tell or find what the wattage rating is for the PI29.

Does someone know what the wattage is on the PI29 ?

Thanks


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#18 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,495 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:44 AM

].

Does someone know what the wattage is on the PI29 ?

Thanks

21v is 25.2 watts

29V is 40.6 Watts


Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#19 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 June 2014 - 09:01 AM

21v is 25.2 watts

29V is 40.6 Watts

Thanks, based on this info the cost, using $0.15 per Kwh to run the SWM16 for one month is $4.09.

Copied Calculator results.

 

  Device Name: Wattage of Device: Kilowatt Hour Cost: Hours of use per day: 

 

Cost Per Day: $0.146160

Cost Per Week: $1.023

Cost Per Month: $4.09

 

Using the SWM LNB and a PI21 would cost $ 2.54 per month by the online calculator.


Edited by jimmie57, 30 June 2014 - 09:44 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#20 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:02 PM

So it will take almost 2 years to recoup the cost of switching the LNB and PI.  Doesn't seem worth it to me.  Seems like I could find a lot of other ways to save $1.50 a month.


Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...