Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

LNB says SWM but has 4 wires, is it SWM or not?

directtv swm hd

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wtford

wtford

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City
Joined: Jul 01, 2014

Posted 01 July 2014 - 09:49 AM

I have a working Directv SD setup, but I would like to upgrade to HD. 

 

I purchased a used H21, which is an HD capable SWM receiver.  I am about to purchase a slimline dish with a sl3s4nr2-14 LNB.  This LNB has 4 wire feeds coming out of it, but it says SWM on the label.  I am confused as to whether this is SWM or not and if it will work with the H21.

 

Everywhere I have read says 4-wire means non-SWM.  Is this true?  Why would it say SWM on the LNB's label?

 

If the LNB is SWM, I would need a power-inserter as well, correct?  Are the 4 wire feeds unnecessary then?

 

If the LNB is not SWM, would one wire from this LNB plugged into the H21 actually work?  Can a SWM receiver read from a non-SWM feed?  Would I need an A B band converter?

 

Thanks!!


Edited by wtford, 01 July 2014 - 09:54 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,474 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 01 July 2014 - 10:08 AM

You will need a PI21 with that LNB since it is SWM. It has 4 spots that look like connections but only one of them is an actual connection.

You will not need a B Band converter since you will be using SWM.

 

If it were to be a 4 connection LNB then you would not need the PI21 but you would need the B Band converter.

 

Your SD setup might not work with SWM.

What receivers do you currently have ?


Edited by jimmie57, 01 July 2014 - 10:09 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   Ken Stomski

Ken Stomski

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2011

Posted 01 July 2014 - 12:00 PM

TS posted the same exact question on another forum and uploaded pictures.  It is a mislabeled LNB.  It is not swm. 



#4 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,015 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 01 July 2014 - 12:42 PM

I'm not sure it's mislabeled. Just because there are four cables coming from the arm doesn't mean they are connected to the lnb.



#5 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,678 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:25 PM

The model number represents a SWiM enabled LNB assembly.SL3S4NR2-14.JPG

 

If the LNB assembly doesn't look mostly like this (perhaps with the F connector located in one of the other positions), it is probably not the right picture or the label has been applied to some other assembly.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   wtford

wtford

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City
Joined: Jul 01, 2014

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:29 PM

Yeah, it's gotta be either mislabeled or has extra cables.  I'll have to open it up to make sure.  I'm glad that there aren't SWM models that purposely have 4 wires.


Edited by wtford, 01 July 2014 - 01:31 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   wtford

wtford

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City
Joined: Jul 01, 2014

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:35 PM

You will need a PI21 with that LNB since it is SWM. It has 4 spots that look like connections but only one of them is an actual connection.

You will not need a B Band converter since you will be using SWM.

 

If it were to be a 4 connection LNB then you would not need the PI21 but you would need the B Band converter.

 

Your SD setup might not work with SWM.

What receivers do you currently have ?

 

I'm not sure what SD receiver I have, but I'm not concerned about keeping the SD.  Thanks everyone for your input.  I feel better about understanding the non-normal situation.



#8 OFFLINE   Rickt1962

Rickt1962

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 296 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 01 July 2014 - 02:36 PM

Yeah, it's gotta be either mislabeled or has extra cables.  I'll have to open it up to make sure.  I'm glad that there aren't SWM models that purposely have 4 wires.

My SWiM has 4 wires out of the Dish ! for 16 ports


King Cable Cutter ! XBMC , PLEX , Raspberry Pi   Love my New Boxes :)

Avatars are to protect the Ugly people from scaring others !
Come from the land of Pennsylvania where Cable TV was invented ! Had HBO back in the 70's and total cable bill was $ 12.00 and all TV's got Cable with no extra fee ! Been using satellite since the C-Band Days and Dave and Charlie
 


#9 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,960 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 01 July 2014 - 02:51 PM

My SWiM has 4 wires out of the Dish ! for 16 ports

That's not a SWM LNB, that's a regular LNB with a SWM multiswitch.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#10 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 01 July 2014 - 02:58 PM

I'll chime in. That original install may have been legacy and was later updated to SWM. I'm not removign 4 lines run from a ODU on a swm upgrade. 


Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,895 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 01 July 2014 - 06:26 PM

The H21 will work with the legacy (non-SWM) dish, but you will need a b-band converter. Just run a coax from any one of the LNB outputs to your receiver (via a b-band converter).



#12 OFFLINE   studechip

studechip

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 1,015 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 01 July 2014 - 06:38 PM

That's not a SWM LNB, that's a regular LNB with a SWM multiswitch.

Why do you think it's not a swm lnb? That's a swm lnb model #.



#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 July 2014 - 08:01 PM

Why do you think it's not a swm lnb? That's a swm lnb model #.

because there are no SWM LNBs that supersets 16 tuners 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,655 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 July 2014 - 08:02 PM

 This LNB has 4 wire feeds coming out of it, but it says SWM on the label.  

Thanks!!

Are you actually looking at the LNB itself or just the wires coming off the LNB arm of the dish 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: directtv, swm, hd

Protected By... spam firewall...And...