Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP612 and IR to UHF Pro Upgrade Kit

IR to UHF

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sammycanoe

sammycanoe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • Locationmichigan
Joined: Jul 07, 2014

Posted 07 July 2014 - 11:01 AM

I have a VIP 612 and I can't get the IR TO UHF Upgrade Kit to work. Red light in Converter won't even come on.

 

Help



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 566 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 07 July 2014 - 11:17 AM

I'd be happy to help. The 612 does have UHF built in, so the converter is not needed. Make sure the antenna is connected to the UHF port on the back of the receiver and program the remote as normal. What model remote is this?


Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#3 OFFLINE   sammycanoe

sammycanoe

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • Locationmichigan
Joined: Jul 07, 2014

Posted 07 July 2014 - 11:40 AM

I have the antenna on the receiver but it doesn't work from another room. that is why I wanted the converter.

VIP 612 DVR



#4 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:05 PM

I have a VIP 612 and I can't get the IR TO UHF Upgrade Kit to work. Red light in Converter won't even come on.
 
Help

VIP612 doesn't need an upgrade kit the receiver is capable of either UHF or IR it is simply a menu option and having a UHF remote.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,937 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:10 PM

I read recently that the converter remote will NOT work with the ViP612 (or pretty much any DISH UHF capable receiver). Have you tried a conventional 6.x Pro UHF remote like the one that the ViP612 came with?

If range is the issue, there are ways of making the receiver more (or less) sensitive to the UHF signal.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   sammycanoe

sammycanoe

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • Locationmichigan
Joined: Jul 07, 2014

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:22 PM

No UHF remotes in house except for the one the upgrade kit came with. Only  have a 20.1 IR remote for the VIP612.  

 

Guess I'm out of luck here.  Unless I buy a 6. x Pro UHF remote?  



#7 OFFLINE   RBA

RBA

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 373 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:12 PM

Yes you will need a UHF remote DISH has many that will work and Ebay is cheap. I have 21.0, 6.0 and6.3 that all work with my 612.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: IR to UHF

Protected By... spam firewall...And...