Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Move Genie mini to another location


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TonyL

TonyL

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2014

Posted 09 July 2014 - 09:55 AM

I had my home receivers changed to the Genie system not long ago.
In past years I have used one of my bedroom receivers in my detached garage which has it's own Directv oval multi satelite dish.
i do this so me and my friends and I can watch football games and not disturb my wife and kids.
Can I do this with the mini genie system receiver?


Edited by TonyL, 09 July 2014 - 09:55 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:21 AM

No, the mini must be in the same coax network as your Genie


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,409 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:29 AM

Unfortunately it sounds like you should have kept a receiver and not gone all Genie/client.



#4 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,170 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 09 July 2014 - 12:06 PM

I had my home receivers changed to the Genie system not long ago.
In past years I have used one of my bedroom receivers in my detached garage which has it's own Directv oval multi satelite dish.
i do this so me and my friends and I can watch football games and not disturb my wife and kids.
Can I do this with the mini genie system receiver?

How far away is the detached garage?  Can you run a coax from the main dish to the garage ?


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#5 OFFLINE   TonyL

TonyL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2014

Posted 09 July 2014 - 01:01 PM

Thanks guys, My shop is about 150 ft from main dish. I can run a coax cable but it would not be worth the labor involved.

I think I am going to call directv and get a regular receiver added to my account.



#6 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,170 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 09 July 2014 - 01:15 PM

Thanks guys, My shop is about 150 ft from main dish. I can run a coax cable but it would not be worth the labor involved.

I think I am going to call directv and get a regular receiver added to my account.

If you want it just for football season, I have read that you can deactivate it for 6 months at a time.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 July 2014 - 08:42 PM

 

I think I am going to call directv and get a regular receiver added to my account.

This is your best bet.  Keep us posted 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 12:09 PM

No, the mini must be in the same coax network as your Genie


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mine is not and works just fine.
My c31 is on the same leg as HR24 and HR23.
My Genie and H25 are on the other leg of the swm16.

So what is the malfunction that occurs?
Or do you mean it just has to be on the same swm?

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#9 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 02:51 PM

Mine is not and works just fine.
My c31 is on the same leg as HR24 and HR23.
My Genie and H25 are on the other leg of the swm16.

So what is the malfunction that occurs?
Or do you mean it just has to be on the same swm?

I should have used "should" instead of "must"  it is recommended that Genie and clients are on the same leg of the SWM16 since there is a loss in the SWM16 MoCA crossover, which in certain situations can cause the minis to not 'respond" or slow performance.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#10 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:13 PM



I not 'respond" or slow performance.

I get that already on my HR34.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#11 OFFLINE   CTJon

CTJon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 273 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:14 PM

How far can the wireless mini-Genie  be from the DVR - is that a possible solution?



#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:53 PM

How far can the wireless mini-Genie  be from the DVR - is that a possible solution?

Up to 75ft (open air, less with obstructions) not form Genie but from WVB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 05:54 PM

I get that already on my HR34.

I thought you said it was working fine,  is not that the case?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,242 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:25 PM

Mine is not and works just fine.
My c31 is on the same leg as HR24 and HR23.
My Genie and H25 are on the other leg of the swm16.

So what is the malfunction that occurs?
Or do you mean it just has to be on the same swm?

 

Isn't the TS asking about connecting his mini to a separate dish; a dish that doesn't have the host genie?



#15 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 06:38 PM

I thought you said it was working fine, is not that the case?

This has been it's function since day one.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 


#16 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 July 2014 - 07:25 PM

This has been it's function since day one.

If you are having issues perhaps you might want to think to have the Genie and C31 on the same leg of the SWM16


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#17 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,816 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 10 July 2014 - 08:43 PM

If you are having issues perhaps you might want to think to have the Genie and C31 on the same leg of the SWM16

What was the excuse before the client? It's been looked at multiple times before and again deemed acceptable.

I see posts all over DBS talk for these exact same issues.
The sudden for no apparent 5-10 second unresponsive HR34.
The only fix for this, is have directv stop touching the software.
I also see posts all over about the HR44 issues, so IMO it's not worth the bother to switch.

This is clearly an 870 issue. So what will the next software issue bring? I'm seriously thinking about dropping the Genie all together, and replacing it with an HR 24.

DIRECTV Since 5/13/2012:

    Living room      Master Bedroom        Bedroom 2            Bedroom 3       Office/Bedroom 4      

HR34-700  /  C31-700  /  HR24-500 / HR23-700  /  H25-100 

Slimline 5 / SWiM 16 / Premier / HD Xtra / MLB EI  / MRV

Blue Ridge Cable Networked 30-3 Mbps 

 

 

 





spam firewall