Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Battery backup


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sticketfan

sticketfan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2007

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:20 AM

Any suggestions for a good battery backup for directv hd dvrs my power blinks often and it pains me to see them have reboot so often?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,859 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:33 AM

I have 3 of these, one for each TV setup. I have not had any problems in the last 2 years. I get very frequent blips like you describe. The TVs and DVRs just keep on running. If the power stays out for more than a blip, you need to turn the TV off. It will then power the DVR for about 20 minutes.

 

http://www.amazon.co...eywords=apc 550


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,241 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:16 PM

Pretty much any consumer grade UPS should do the job. The APC linked above will work.



#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,713 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:59 PM

I'm fond of APC UPS's.   All of my DVRs have one. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   sticketfan

sticketfan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2007

Posted 16 July 2014 - 04:37 PM

Thanks for the feedback

#6 OFFLINE   Christopher Gould

Christopher Gould

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 829 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 16 July 2014 - 07:54 PM

CyberPower EC850LCD Ecologic 850VA/510-Watts Energy Efficient Desktop LCD UPS

I run hr34, hr21, router, and all the other directv equipment off this one and get about 25min when power goes out and works great at stopping reboots because of blinks I'm power.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

Edited by Christopher Gould, 16 July 2014 - 07:55 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   mgavs

mgavs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 07:25 AM

I live in an area wher power outages are common. I used to use APCs for DVRs but I don't like them, for the last 2 years I now use cyberpower 1500pfclcd on both DVRs and I like them a lot. I found the high end APCs are good, I have 3 APC 1500 smart ups, but they are now about $500 each! I did a lot of research and found the cyberpower to be the best for the money. For the same price an APC will not give you a sign wave were cyberpower provides much closer to one. Hope this helps.

#8 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,071 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 17 July 2014 - 11:57 AM

APC's are way overpriced.  Cyberpower are just as good.   Make sure to get one with AVR (Auto Voltage Regulation).


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#9 OFFLINE   rmmccann

rmmccann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
  • LocationND, USA
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 17 July 2014 - 12:03 PM

I use the APCs at home - as was said, just about any consumer UPS should work fine. They just happened to be what RadioShack had on hand at the time.

 

As a side note: CyberPower support is absolutely fantastic to work with. I use their gear extensively at work and have been very happy with price, performance and reliability. We also have a large APC array that works as advertised. Both companies are generally good.


If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, you will live your whole life believing it is stupid.

#10 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:24 PM

I used APC's and cyberpowers. Have had my DVR's on a UPS since 2005.


65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#11 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 535 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:55 PM

not to get off topic but i think in a few months i am getting like a whole-home generator, how do them work with direcTV?



#12 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,241 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 July 2014 - 04:43 PM

not to get off topic but i think in a few months i am getting like a whole-home generator, how do them work with direcTV?

Should work just fine, BUT, there will be a time delay between when your commercial power goes out and your generator starts and runs. That delay is what you want/need a UPS for. With a UPS, your DirecTV equipment will never realize there was a switch from mains to generator (or back).



#13 OFFLINE   p4594spa

p4594spa

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2006

Posted 17 July 2014 - 05:00 PM

The other thing about putting the battery package devices in the mix is that most of all of them have power conditioning in them as well.  The can be especially important in areas where power is not unreliable but can have voltage swings and other voltage spikes.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...