Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGO2 install options


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kruegs

kruegs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 08:54 AM

Folks-

 

I was lucky enough to score a free GenieGo2 yesterday.  After poking around on the internet, I discovered there are a few ways to connect it to my setup... which include either A) Network cable directly to my router, or B) using the supplied splitter, install it "in-line" with my Genie.  I opted for option A, as my router was easily accessible and I like all of my "networking" equipment together.

 

My question is this... is there a preferred method to connect the GenieGo2?  I am curious if my setup has any drawbacks that I am unaware of?  I can see all 3 of my DVR's (one of which is the Genie) and OOH seems to function correctly as well.  Thanks!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,820 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:08 AM

No real drawback.  However, using the coax connection puts it on the DECA cloud thus keeping the higher traffic off of your router or switch.  Smaller files are then transferred to your network clients.

 

If it's working well as you indicate, I'd leave it alone.


  • Laxguy likes this

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   kruegs

kruegs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:26 AM

Ya, good call.  I have an older router (Linksys WRT-54GTM) running DD-WRT that everything is tied to.  It still works like a champ for me after all of these years and routinely is serving around a dozen wireless clients, my Ooma phone, and now my GenieGO etc.  Since my ISP is only 12MB down and 1UP, I've seen no reason to upgrade from my almost 10 year old technology.   :righton:



#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,923 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 July 2014 - 04:58 PM

While a newer router will not increase your internet speed, it will really help you transfer files faster in your LAN, perhaps it might even download the transcoded shows to your mobile devices from the GG a tad quicker 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   prushing

prushing

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 537 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2007

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:37 PM

While a newer router will not increase your internet speed, it will really help you transfer files faster in your LAN, perhaps it might even download the transcoded shows to your mobile devices from the GG a tad quicker


Going from wireless G to N router doubled my download speed

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,923 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:07 AM

Going from wireless G to N router doubled my download speed

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

there you go, that proves my theory. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   kruegs

kruegs

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2007

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:36 AM

Yeah, that makes sense... might be wise at some point to check into newer "N" devices that are DD-WRT compatible... as I really like the ability to tweak things and some of the power options that the firmware provides.



#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,923 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 18 July 2014 - 09:43 AM

Most newer "top of the line" routers (except Apples's) provide very good network managing features


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   Hoffer

Hoffer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 21 July 2014 - 08:49 AM

Going from wireless G to N router doubled my download speed

 

 

I also get faster N speeds when I choose my 5GHz network over my 2.4GHz network. 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...