Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Super Joey


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   NCwolfpack00

NCwolfpack00

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
  • LocationNC
Joined: Jul 27, 2013

Posted 26 July 2014 - 04:42 PM

I currently have HD for life as well as the original hopper and 1 joey. 

Where can I buy a Super Joey ???

Can I buy a super joey to replace the original joey?

When I change to a super joey will I forfeit HD for life?

Can i just simply unhook the joey and hook up the super joey in its place without professional installation??

 

What is the fastest and simplest thing to do??

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Chris S@DISH

Chris S@DISH

    New Member

  • DISH Representative
  • 3 posts
  • LocationColorado
Joined: Jul 03, 2014

Posted 26 July 2014 - 04:55 PM

Hey there! You can send me a private message with your account number and 4 digit pin and we can review your options!


Christopher Sagal
Social Media Representative
DISH, L.L.C.
Wednesday-Saturday 11:00am-10:10pm (MST)

#3 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 27 July 2014 - 12:04 PM

Curious about this too.  Currently paying $7 each for 2 Joeys, can I change one to Super Joey?  Still $7/mo?

Hate spend much more, $80/mo for Top 250 and $44 for equipment and taxes is a bit much already.



#4 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 383 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 27 July 2014 - 01:00 PM

Super Joey is $10.00/mo. It adds two satellite tuners to the Hoppers 3 for a total of 5.



#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,703 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:48 PM

The cabling is different...  Joeys connect to a different place on the node than do Hoppers and Super Joeys.  Also, for people that use a tap to connect their Joey to a Hopper line, there could be need to run a new coax if RG6 isn't already in the wall to where the Super Joey is going to go.

 

Depending on your configuration, it could be a simple swap out and then move the connection at the node OR it could be more complicated.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#6 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 27 July 2014 - 05:55 PM

what would most suggest...........a hopper & super joey or 2 hoppers to go with 2 wireless joeys?


********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 July 2014 - 05:57 PM

2 H will better any other config regardless how many J you need

#8 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,703 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 28 July 2014 - 01:06 AM

I agree. The only advantage I can see to a Hopper + Super Joey scenario is that all your tuners are available to your Hopper, Super Joey, and other Joeys in the system.

 

The 2-Hopper setup doesn't let the Hoppers share each other's tuners... but you can see all the recordings from any Hopper or Joey... and you have 1 more SAT tuner and the possibility for a second OTA tuner as well.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#9 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 03 August 2014 - 04:58 PM

does anyone think that Dish will fully integrate the hopper tuners like the super joey?  is this a matter of technology or something else?


********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#10 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 415 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 04 August 2014 - 08:27 AM

No



#11 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 04 August 2014 - 10:52 AM

Scuttlebutt is that there is insufficient bandwidth on the MOCA to allow two Hoppers to fully communicate three tuners both ways (6 additional streams) as would be necessary.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#12 OFFLINE   bnewt

bnewt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2003

Posted 07 August 2014 - 02:29 PM

Doesn't DirectTv do this?  How do they do it?


********************************************
May God Guide and Guard the USA!
********************************************


#13 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,350 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 August 2014 - 12:37 AM

While it's all moca, but it's not all the same moca since they may use different freq bandwidth amounts. Directv can handle more than six easily, I have no idea about dish myself.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...