Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

Genie 0x08C2/0x08D4/0x8D6, Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
354 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,263 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 29 July 2014 - 05:03 AM

This is the official Issues and Discussion thread for all Genie DVRs.
 
HR34 & HR44 All manufacturers
 

HR34 0x08D4

HR44 0x08C2

HR34 0x08D6

 

Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...8d4hr44-0x08c2/
 
We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.
 
Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.
 
Thanks!


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:40 AM

In the notes about this release, could these be explained in a little more detail...."HDMI CEC" and "Last 4 timeout"

 

Thanks!



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,306 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2014 - 09:47 AM

HDMI-CEC is where the receiver will turn on the TV and change it to the correct input assuming of course the TV supports this protocol. Last 4 time out, I have no idea
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   rmmccann

rmmccann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
  • LocationND, USA
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 29 July 2014 - 10:10 AM

Does this address the abhorrent remote response on the HR34?


If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, you will live your whole life believing it is stupid.

#5 OFFLINE   usnret

usnret

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 587 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2009

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:40 PM

I sure hope so...


Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass. It's about learning to dance in the rain.

#6 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,404 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:48 PM

HDMI-CEC is where the receiver will turn on the TV and change it to the correct input assuming of course the TV supports this protocol. Last 4 time out, I have no idea

Maybe it has something to do with the yellow/info button last 4 channels pop-up needing to give up after a while of no response from the user.

 

Then again, maybe they did something with the inactivity timeout:

 

https://support.dire...-for-the-last-4


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,306 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2014 - 03:30 PM

 

 

Then again, maybe they did something with the inactivity timeout:

 

https://support.dire...-for-the-last-4

See this is what happens when you are clueless about something.  You are confusing two different things.  The link you provided is for the power saving feature, it has nothing to so with the last 4 on the informational banner.  But I can't expect any less since you are a Dish subscriber.... Who LOVES to hangout in the DirecTV® forums....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,404 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:20 PM

See this is what happens when you are clueless about something.  You are confusing two different things.  The link you provided is for the power saving feature, it has nothing to so with the last 4 on the informational banner.  But I can't expect any less since you are a Dish subscriber.... Who LOVES to hangout in the DirecTV® forums....

Given that you've admitted to having no idea (being clueless?), I'm surprised you felt compelled to call me out for making observations.

 

There doesn't seem to be any specific mention of the informational banner in the release notes but there was clearly a mention of a timeout that one might reasonably associate with the power saving warning message.

 

I presented two possibilities and gave some background on the second.  Hardly confused or confusing when taken in context.


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#9 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 9,263 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 29 July 2014 - 05:20 PM

Please take your personal discussion to the Messenger feature at the site or maybe even exchange phone numbers and you can discuss who knows less about DIRECTV that way. :)


  • tonyc, jagrim, I WANT MORE and 2 others like this

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,306 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2014 - 06:38 PM

Making (wrongful) observations does not makes it any better.... !rolling

 

at least I admitted I was clueless....


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   jones_hdtv

jones_hdtv

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2011

Posted 30 July 2014 - 11:54 AM

YEA!!! Menu shortcuts.... Hopefully they include this feature on the HR2X boxes next...


Edited by jones_hdtv, 30 July 2014 - 12:00 PM.


#12 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,200 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:00 PM

My HR34 did a spontaneous reboot this afternoon, right after Rollins hit a pinch hit homer, that got hung up during downloading sat data - as there was no change in screen from when I went out to cook and eat lunch in my kitchen and when I returned to my living room. My estimate is it was hung up at least 35 minutes. Did a RBR  And it came back. 


Edited by Drucifer, 30 July 2014 - 04:01 PM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#13 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,200 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:13 PM

MENUSC
This keyword search gives you {MENU}+# codes. Press {MENU} followed by a number and you'll jump straight to somewhere that used to take a lot longer to get to.
 

Menu 0. Settings
Menu 1. Movies
Menu 2. Sports
Menu 3. TV Shows
Menu 4. Smart Search
Menu 5. On Demand
Menu 6. Playlist
Menu 7. Manage Recordings
Menu 8. YouTube
Menu 9. Pandora

 
Yep, this is going to be an often used feature.
 
Please add it to all H2x/HR2x.

Edited by Drucifer, 30 July 2014 - 04:19 PM.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#14 OFFLINE   bnwrx

bnwrx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 969 posts
  • Locationcolorado, in the mountains.....
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:22 PM

Why the need for MENU6?



HR44-500 HDMI to 42"Toshiba
HR21-100 HDMI to 32" LG and 20" AOC

Directv since 1996(the USSB,Pegasus days...)
...sometimes, there is no answer...
http://woodlandweather.org/


#15 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 531 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 30 July 2014 - 04:37 PM

It would have certainly been nice if one of those was for the "to do list". I find it crazy that the only way to see what you have scheduled to record is to go to the DVR itself and dig down into the menu a couple of layers. I also find it ridiculous that you can schedule a recording online but can't check to see what you have scheduled to record. 



#16 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,200 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:18 PM

Why the need for MENU6?

It would have certainly been nice if one of those was for the "to do list". . . .

The ToDo should replace the PlayList in Menu6 because PlayList already have a dedicated key - LIST.
DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#17 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 531 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:22 PM

The ToDo should replace the PlayList in Menu6 because PlayList already have a dedicated key - LIST.

Agree 100%



#18 OFFLINE   mikek

mikek

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: May 17, 2007

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:29 PM

Agree 100%

Menu7 will get you there a little quicker.  It would be nice if you had to option to set them to whatever you want.  CC on/off would be one of mine.



#19 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 531 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:31 PM

Menu7 will get you there a little quicker.  It would be nice if you had to option to set them to whatever you want.  CC on/off would be one of mine.

Yes, that's another one, way too many button presses just to turn on CC.



#20 OFFLINE   kram

kram

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 548 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:50 PM

Got 0x8c2 this morning. Search on MENUSC doesn't display any list of shortcuts mentioned in the release notes. Pressing Menu + number does nothing. Also can't find anything about HDMI CEC.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

SlimLine w/SWM-16 // HR44-700 w/Samsung UN50HU8550 UHD 4K // HR24-200 w/Sony KDL-46XBR9 // HR24-100 w/Samsung UN40ES6100 // Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH A/V Receiver // Samsung Blu-ray BD-6500//
DirecTV since 2000





Protected By... spam firewall...And...