Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR 34 problems with channels showing up


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jtrippe77

jtrippe77

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 30 July 2014 - 08:57 AM

We have an HR 34 with one client.  After watching TV for the night I turn off my amp and TV but not the HR 34.  Lately, when going to watch TV the next morning the box seems messed up.  First, the screen is black as in no programming is showing.  Next, the guide comes up but not at the channel or even channel range we left it at the night before.  Then, it won't let you select another channel to watch.  This issue is only resolved after resetting the receiver.  Anyone know a fix to this?  This problem is recent and seems to center around us watching baseball.  We have Sports Pac and Extra Innings.  I watch Orioles games on MASN and MASN 2 rather than the EI channels.  I turn the TV off at night after the games.  Could the problem be the channels we are leaving it on?  We'll try leaving on a common channel like TV Land tonight and see if it makes a difference.  However, I wanted to see if anyone has faced similar issues and how they fixed it.  Thanks in advance!  


HR34 w/ one client, AM21N, Choice Ultimate, HD Extra Pack, Sports Pack, Extra Innings


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Clemsole

Clemsole

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 367 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 30 July 2014 - 09:07 AM

Why do you leave the HR34 on all the time?  There is, or was, a screen saver that comes on if the unit is on the same channel for an extended time. Don't know if it is still in the software now. But there is no reason to leave it on all the time, your just wasting electricity.



#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,380 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2014 - 09:22 AM

Why do you leave the HR34 on all the time? There is, or was, a screen saver that comes on if the unit is on the same channel for an extended time. Don't know if it is still in the software now. But there is no reason to leave it on all the time, your just wasting electricity.

no electricity is being wasted as the all DVRs consume just about the same whether on or off.

To the TS, I would try leaving the genie on a regular channel and see if you have different results
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 July 2014 - 09:39 AM

A tiny bit of juice is used when "on" vs. "off", but the real question remains: Why leave it on at all, especially if this may contribute to a problem? And Peds' idea is a good one: switch to a 24/7 channel on retiring. Or set up a Series Link to record such a channel- keeping but one episode- starting an hour or so before you turn it on the next day. 

 

Good luck!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#5 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,859 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 30 July 2014 - 10:10 AM

Check this:

Menu, Settings & Help, Settings, Power Saving

 

If it is set to ON, turn it to OFF and see what happens.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#6 OFFLINE   jtrippe77

jtrippe77

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 30 July 2014 - 03:05 PM

I will try all of your suggestions and get back to you with the results tomorrow. Thank you!


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

HR34 w/ one client, AM21N, Choice Ultimate, HD Extra Pack, Sports Pack, Extra Innings


#7 OFFLINE   jtrippe77

jtrippe77

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 31 July 2014 - 07:08 AM

I left the TV on MLB network last night and turned on the TV this morning and went to the guide and changed channels and everything worked perfectly. Thanks again to everyone for the suggestions!


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk

HR34 w/ one client, AM21N, Choice Ultimate, HD Extra Pack, Sports Pack, Extra Innings





Protected By... spam firewall...And...