Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

not receiving 99 and 103 satellites on 1 receiver


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 07 August 2014 - 04:30 PM

I have a slimline 5 dish with the 4 outputs going into a zinwell 4x6. I have 2 hd dvr, one is a hr22 and one is a hr20. The hr20 receives all of the channels like it is supposed to, and has pretty good signal on the 99 and 103 satellites. around 89-90 on most transponders.
 

 

For some reason I cannot get a signal on the hr22 on any transponder on the 99 and 103 sats. I have tried moving receivers around to make sure it wasnt a inside cabling issue, and I even bypassed the zinwell switch and still see the same issue. I also swapped b-band converters and even tried a spare hr23 that I have(without using the bband converters) and still have the same issue.

 

I have to think it is a lnb issue but this just has me perplexed. why would the hr20 show good signal and receive all of the channels and the hr22 wont? If it was a lnb you would think that if I take a hr20 out and put a hr22 in its place it would work without any issues?

 

Please help me, this has my head spinning.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,215 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:01 PM

Do you mean you get zero signal on all the transponders or you don't see the satellites at all?



#3 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:13 PM

zero signal on all 99 and 103 transponders on the hr22 and hr23 receivers. the hr20 has good signals and receives all of the channels.


Edited by diat150, 07 August 2014 - 05:16 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:42 PM

Zinwell 4x6?   You don't really need a multiswitch for just two DVRs.  Try bypassing the Zinwell.  Connect two of the dish cables to the HR20 and two of them to the HR22.  Let us know what happens. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:55 PM

Zinwell 4x6?   You don't really need a multiswitch for just two DVRs.  Try bypassing the Zinwell.  Connect two of the dish cables to the HR20 and two of them to the HR22.  Let us know what happens. 

I did that already. same otucome. hr20 works fine, hr22 gets 0 signal. I even tried swapping the wires and same issue, and I also tried just hooking up the hr22 by itself and still 0 signal.



#6 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 07 August 2014 - 06:59 PM

now I took the hr23 outside and hooked it up directly to the lnb with a short piece of cable and I now get about a 70 signal on 99 but still nothing on 103. weird.

 

I even tweaked the signal on 103 ca and cb and have the signal up to 95 on the hr20... still 0 on the hr22 and 23. weird stuff.


Edited by diat150, 07 August 2014 - 07:32 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,289 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 August 2014 - 08:27 PM

 

 

I even tweaked the signal on 103 ca and cb and have the signal up to 95 on the hr20... still 0 on the hr22 and 23. weird stuff.

So the same cables feeding the HR20 are the same cables you trued the other DVRs with with different results? 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,940 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 07 August 2014 - 09:30 PM

I've had some H20s stop receiving 99/103 in exactly the same way, typically after a power outage of some type. In my case it has nothing to do with B band converters as I'm using SWM.

 

The fix I've found is to unplug the receiver and leave it unplugged for a while - I believe the internal capacitors need to discharge, and that seems to take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. I'd unplug it overnight, try it again in the morning, if it still does it, unplug it for a weekend. I also try to power it on by hitting the power button when unplugged, as that can help drain the capacitors (though the HR22 has a "soft" button on the front panel, so this may have no effect on that model, I don't know)

 

That your HR23 does the same thing is really weird. Maybe it is possible there's some sort of permanent failure mode that only takes out 99/103? Anyway, if you try unplugging the HR22 over a weekend and it still does it then maybe you need to call Directv and tell them it doesn't work at all and they should replace it. Any recordings you have it would be lost, so if you have stuff on it you might want to start watching it now - not being able to see 99/103 won't impact your ability to watch past recordings.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#9 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:09 AM

So the same cables feeding the HR20 are the same cables you trued the other DVRs with with different results? 

yes. Ive swapped cables in every possible combination and even tried the hr22/hr23 by themselves hooked directly to the lnb, but still no signal on the 103 sats, despite having a 90-95 signal on the hr20.

 

I've had some H20s stop receiving 99/103 in exactly the same way, typically after a power outage of some type. In my case it has nothing to do with B band converters as I'm using SWM.

 

The fix I've found is to unplug the receiver and leave it unplugged for a while - I believe the internal capacitors need to discharge, and that seems to take anywhere from a few hours to a few days. I'd unplug it overnight, try it again in the morning, if it still does it, unplug it for a weekend. I also try to power it on by hitting the power button when unplugged, as that can help drain the capacitors (though the HR22 has a "soft" button on the front panel, so this may have no effect on that model, I don't know)

 

That your HR23 does the same thing is really weird. Maybe it is possible there's some sort of permanent failure mode that only takes out 99/103? Anyway, if you try unplugging the HR22 over a weekend and it still does it then maybe you need to call Directv and tell them it doesn't work at all and they should replace it. Any recordings you have it would be lost, so if you have stuff on it you might want to start watching it now - not being able to see 99/103 won't impact your ability to watch past recordings.

the hr 23 had been unplugged for quite a while and still the same issue.



#10 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,831 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:46 AM

now I took the hr23 outside and hooked it up directly to the lnb with a short piece of cable and I now get about a 70 signal on 99 but still nothing on 103. weird.

 

I even tweaked the signal on 103 ca and cb and have the signal up to 95 on the hr20... still 0 on the hr22 and 23. weird stuff.

This sounds like the easiest solution for you after all of what you have tried is to call and have a tech come out to fix your problem. The most it could cost is $50 and that is for labor and any / all parts necessary to get you up and running again.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#11 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 08 August 2014 - 08:19 AM

I agree with jimmie57.  Time to call for a service visit.  Something is very wonky with your equipment. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#12 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,940 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 08 August 2014 - 08:21 AM

the hr 23 had been unplugged for quite a while and still the same issue.

 

Still worth trying it on the HR22 to see if it helps. You can't use it for new recordings in its current state anyway, what have you got to lose? If it doesn't work, then you can call Directv and at worst pay $49 for the tech visit. If you're lucky, maybe they'll just ship you a replacement and you won't get charged for anything.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#13 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,399 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 August 2014 - 12:05 PM

I have a slimline 5 dish with the 4 outputs going into a zinwell 4x6.

Are you sure this isn't a WB68 6x8 multiswitch? If you're going to use second generation switchgear, a WB68 (or WB616) is required for full HD functionality.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#14 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 08 August 2014 - 12:32 PM

Are you sure this isn't a WB68 6x8 multiswitch? If you're going to use second generation switchgear, a WB68 (or WB616) is required for full HD functionality.

sorry, I typed the wrong thing. It is the 6x8. At this point it has to be a lnb or dish alignment issue. just not sure why it would work fine on the hr20 and report good signals and then show 0 on the hr22/hr23.



#15 OFFLINE   slice1900

slice1900

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 2,940 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Feb 14, 2013

Posted 08 August 2014 - 01:43 PM

I can't see how it could be a LNB problem when one receiver works fine no matter how/where you connect it, and one doesn't work no matter how/where you connect it. It is clearly the HR22 (and HR23) that is at fault. Whether it is a temporary issue that can be overcome somehow or a permanent failure, I can't say, but calling Directv and having the HR22 replaced is the only guaranteed fix.


SL5, PI-6S, SA-6AL 3xSWM16, 21 H20-100, 1 H20-600, 7 H24-700/AM21


#16 OFFLINE   b52pooh

b52pooh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
  • LocationSouthern Oregon
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 08 August 2014 - 03:29 PM

Where are the b-band converters installed?  You don't want them on the HR23 but you do want them on the HR22.



#17 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 08 August 2014 - 08:22 PM

I am going to take both the hr22/23 to my in laws and try them over there just to rule out a receiver issue, but I have a hard time believing that 2 receivers just happened to go bad.



#18 OFFLINE   diat150

diat150

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 10 August 2014 - 07:52 PM

update. I brought the hr22 to my in laws, who have the same setup as me. Receiver worked fine there. has to be either a lnb or dish alignment issue.



#19 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 10 August 2014 - 11:57 PM

update. I brought the hr22 to my in laws, who have the same setup as me. Receiver worked fine there. has to be either a lnb or dish alignment issue.

 

Very puzzling.  Why would the HR20 work fine, then?   Like I said before, time for a service call.  Do let us know what they find. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish





Protected By... spam firewall...And...