Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hopefully an non-emotional discussion about switching from DTV to DISH


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 22 August 2014 - 10:14 AM

I'm considering the switch after 18+ years w/DTV.

 

I'll start out with this

  1. I've been VERY happy with DTV from both a service and a content perspective
  2. I've experienced frustration in the conversion from own your box to lease your box and lived the pain of spending hundreds of dollars for something required to receive service (STP/DVR/...) that I did NOT own and then pay a "rental fee"
  3. I've been frustrated at times with the idea of an equipment protection plan for the hardware THEY provide so I can buy their service
  4. I really hate the "call in for discount" game and for the first time ever, I was told "there are no discounts in the cupboard" and I am now paying full retail

BEFORE anyone goes off in the wild blue yonder, I KNOW that all the providers have their twists on ALL these issues.

 

My purpose here is to hopefully get some non-emotional information so that I can make an informed decision.  To me, it seems that the new paradigm might be to switch back and forth every two years to take advantage of new equipment and fixed "new subscriber" pricing rather than doing the "discount dance" when "your credits expire".  This is what I'm trying to decide.

 

So here are some of my beginning Q's on DISH!!!!

 

If one puts the OTA adapter on the main unit (Hopper?)

  1. Do all the local stations available show up in the guide?
  2. Can they be recorded?
  3. Are they available on the client devices?
  4. Can client 1 be watching 21-2 and client 2 be watching 5-2 (presuming these two OTA stations are NOT in the DISH feed and OTA only)?

Can you use eSATA drives with the DVR?

Are the remotes RF?  Can you have multiple remotes for each unit?


Edited by rakstr, 22 August 2014 - 11:11 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,910 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 August 2014 - 10:43 AM

Just to be fair on the DirecTV side, the PP is not needed to replace a box that has gone bad. Without the PP, a bad owned box is replaced with leased and there is a shipping fee (which on occasion is waived).

 

And you're right, you'd have some of these issues with provider.



#3 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 22 August 2014 - 11:09 AM

Just to be fair on the DirecTV side, the PP is not needed to replace a box that has gone bad. Without the PP, a bad owned box is replaced with leased and there is a shipping fee (which on occasion is waived).

 

And you're right, you'd have some of these issues with provider.

Yes, I have had them do this for me as I've always refused to pay for the PP.  The benefit of not being on a contract is you can say, fine, come pick up the rest :)  AGAIN, I am VERY sure that all these things exist for EVERY provider and there are slightly different ways they ALL can be dealt with.  Good clarification but let's get back to comparing what the equipment can/can not do and user experience (not to get mired in picture quality discussions, I get it).  I really want to know from an operational viewpoint, what am I gaining or losing.  THANK YOU!!!!!!



#4 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 22 August 2014 - 11:14 AM

I had first posted this in anotehr thread and now have pointed them to this thread.  Here is a response I received, sorry for the double post!

 

I'm considering the switch after 18+ years w/DTV.  Do you have an update?

 

If one puts the OTA adapter on the main unit (Hopper?)

  1. Do all the local stations available show up in the guide? YES

  2. Can they be recorded? YES

  3. Are they available on the client devices? YES

  4. Can client 1 be watching 21-2 and client 2 be watching 5-2 (presuming these two OTA stations are NOT in the DISH feed and OTA only)? NO. Its a single channel tuner.

Can you use eSATA drives with the DVR? NO. USB Only and they have to AC powered.

Are the remotes RFYES Can you have multiple remotes for each unit? YES

 

Can the OTA adapter be installed on the clients as well?  I think I remember seeing that the clients had a tuner but it was not yet used....

 

Do you know what version of USB drive?  Is that space additional to the internal drive or does it replace the internal drive?


Edited by rakstr, 22 August 2014 - 11:14 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,691 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 August 2014 - 03:59 PM

If one puts the OTA adapter on the main unit (Hopper?)

Do all the local stations available show up in the guide?

If you're not using a rotor, yes. The guide data may or may not be available.

Can they be recorded?

If they are ATSC, yes. If you have any that are still analog, no on those.

Are they available on the client devices?

Yes.

Can client 1 be watching 21-2 and client 2 be watching 5-2 (presuming these two OTA stations are NOT in the DISH feed and OTA only)?

Know that the OTA tuner can only handle one channel at a time. However, unlike DIRECTV's two tuner adapter, the DISH adapter can be recorded even if all the satellite tuners are recording.

Can you use eSATA drives with the DVR?

No such complications with the Hopper -- it uses off-the-shelf USB 2.0 drives. The content must be manually moved to the external drives. I believe you can have two hooked up simultaneously using a USB hub and all three will be available for viewing.

Are the remotes RF?  Can you have multiple remotes for each unit?

DISH supports both modes simultaneously on any number of remotes but I don't think you can program one remote for multiple receivers via RF.

The DISH remotes perhaps aren't as capable of the RC6x series but they are arguably much better than the RC71. You can also use the DISH 40.0 remote in learning mode and I believe it can download the recording preferences from the Hopper (if you need to swap it out for a different Hopper)

The Joeys aren't capable enough to stream video from an OTA adapter nor to a Hopper.

Edited by harsh, 22 August 2014 - 04:02 PM.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 25 August 2014 - 10:39 AM

I was really hoping to get a little more discussion.  Is everyone just on vacation :)



#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,594 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 25 August 2014 - 11:51 AM

I'm not sure what more discussion there is relative to your original post and questions. As you said, many of the plus and minus stuff is true of all cable and satellite services... and it looks like your OTA questions have been answered. Did you have any other questions that you thought of after your original post?


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#8 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 25 August 2014 - 12:06 PM

Was hoping to get some insight into general usage and user experience differences of the DVRs, ...  Things people "had from one" and not in the other, or other such things!



#9 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 25 August 2014 - 12:31 PM

Switching every two year seems to be the only viable answer to getting a real deal as things look these days. I just pulled the plug on DISH after 11 years. I became frustrated with my Eastern Arc setup that I had been switched to in March, signal issues that two tech visits could not resolve and I just had grown tired of paying for programing that I was watching less and less of. I found I was watching more OTA programming than I ever had and no longer could justify the $79 per month I was spending. The retention specialist did offer me a $50 a month off my bill for 10 months if I agreed to stay as I was heading out the door. It was tempting to stay for that price, but even at $30 a month I could not see paying for something I was not watching. I do like DISH's DVR, but not enough to stay for that alone and I purchased a cheap OTA recorder that works for my needs.



#10 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,739 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:26 AM

OP - There is nothing that would prevent you from pulling a 2nd coax to each TV that you would like OTA at. However - you CANNOT share the single cable for the Joeys with an OTA signal - they must be on separate coax cables. Matter of fact - you can't share the cables from the dish down to the single or dual node as well.


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#11 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,182 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:40 AM

I was really hoping to get a little more discussion. Is everyone just on vacation :)

I don't have provider loyalty, they don't give a crap about me, and I in return don't give a crap about them.
I say go where you'll get what you want and need that's a better value to you.
I would have no objections switching to Dish, but they lack certain channels that are big factors for me.
And directv seems cheaper when it comes to the larger systems and setups.

I would need a 3 hopper 2 super Joey system, and I'm not sure that affordable, obtainable, or even possible.

 

 

 


#12 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,737 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 30 August 2014 - 10:28 AM

I would need a 3 hopper 2 super Joey system, and I'm not sure that affordable, obtainable, or even possible.


You could do that with three separate accounts. 13 tuners on five receivers is more than most subscribers would need. If you could reduce to three Hoppers and one Super Joey (placing a Joey at the second Super Joey location) or two Hoppers and two Super Joeys you may be able to get down to two accounts.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   rakstr

rakstr

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 30 August 2014 - 10:49 AM

OP - There is nothing that would prevent you from pulling a 2nd coax to each TV that you would like OTA at. However - you CANNOT share the single cable for the Joeys with an OTA signal - they must be on separate coax cables. Matter of fact - you can't share the cables from the dish down to the single or dual node as well.

I've got the cables pulled.  I like the integration to the DVR and menu the two tuner AM-21 provides at each TV wo/having to change inputs.  Plus you can record the OTA along with the DTV content.  Just one of those things my wife has become used to as well.


Edited by rakstr, 30 August 2014 - 10:49 AM.


#14 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 07 September 2014 - 02:54 PM

I have both D* & Fios set-ups.  We are really considering dropping D*(only because Fios we have Triple Bundle pckg, and it makes most sense to keep it, as far as a $avings stand point).

 

As each year passes I'm getting more frustrated with DRM.  Am I understanding correctly, with Dish, that future DVR/drive failures we would be able to offload to an ext eSATA drive(of course prior to internal HD being totally unresponive/dead) Then new replacement hopper comes and archived shows are NOT lost forever.  Is this correct?


Edited by texasmoose, 07 September 2014 - 03:04 PM.

HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,594 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 07 September 2014 - 03:04 PM

You can connect an external HD to Dish DVRs... but they are USB, not eSATA.  They are additional space, archival, and do not replace the internal DVR drive... so you can move recordings to the EHD... and if you do so before a failure occurs on the DVR drive, then yes you would have your recordings safe for your replacement Dish DVR.


-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#16 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 07 September 2014 - 04:08 PM

are they gonna support, or already do, usb 3.0?


HR34-700(leased)
HR24-100 x 2(1 leased, 1 owned)
Fios QIP7232 hd-dvr

#17 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,691 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 September 2014 - 07:51 AM

are they gonna support, or already do, usb 3.0?

No. If they supported it, they would likely have to require it and for now, it doesn't seem necessary.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#18 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,196 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 September 2014 - 08:55 AM

are they gonna support, or already do, usb 3.0?

There's no need. USB 2x is plenty fast enough for the intended purpose. And all new external enclosures' 3.0 ports should be backward compatible to the 2x the DVRs put out. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#19 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,198 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 08 September 2014 - 03:03 PM

USB 3.0 would be good for archiving/restoring files.  They go a LOT faster in 3.0.



#20 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,196 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 September 2014 - 03:26 PM

Yes, of course- for tx's it'd be a real benefit. I was thinking only of real time recordings, just a bit myopic!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...