Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Looking to upgrade from HR24-500 to Genie - CCK question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jd_keefe

jd_keefe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2011

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:44 AM

Hello all! I currently have an HR24-500 that sits in my main TV room. It's got a SWIM ODU attached, and the Ethernet port is blocked with a plastic filler.

 

I have a D12 sitting in the basement with a DECA attached to my Wireless CCK. The TV/Box downstairs is NEVER used other than providing a coax loop for the CCK.

 

I believe I had to go this route due to having the SWIM connected to the HR24, and not being able to use the Ethernet jack.

 

I plan on upgrading to the Genie, and will be keeping Cinemea, Whole Home DVR, and moving to the Wireless Genie Mini and Genie Go.

 

Will I be able to shutdown the D12 in the basement and run the CCK, etc from the Genie in the main room?

 

Thanks!



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,613 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:52 AM

Yes,

and you should not need the CCK. You can plug the Ethernet cable directly into the Genie and it does not disable the DECCA.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,354 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:55 AM

Not to mention you don't even need a d12 to make the cck work. That just seems odd.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 OFFLINE   jd_keefe

jd_keefe

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2011

Posted 31 August 2014 - 10:15 AM

Thanks to you both!

 

Jimmie - Unfortunately, I don't have ethernet nearby, so I have to do wireless. Can the Genie do wireless natively?

 

Inkahauts - It's been a while since I set this up, and I worked with some folks here on getting it setup. I honestly can't remember why I had to do it this way, but I believe it was to get my WH DVR working.

 

I believe the main issue was a connection point for the CCK coax. The HR24 has a large SWIM ODU attached, and it may have not been an option to introduce the CCK into that loop at the time.

 

I would ultimately like to drop to having a Genie in the main room, and a Genie Mini Wireless upstairs (where I currently have an HR25), and add Genie Go. The basement TV and box can go away.



#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,490 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 August 2014 - 01:37 PM

Thanks to you both!

 

Jimmie - Unfortunately, I don't have ethernet nearby, so I have to do wireless. Can the Genie do wireless natively?

 

 

Yes, however if you have a coax (spare) near your router you can use a BroadBand DECA to bridge your internet in a wired fashion 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...