Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

"Home", Need Recommendation; HR20-700 (x3 replacement); Genie ?


  • Please log in to reply
102 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 04:45 PM

OK, I am a techy and here goes..........

I have three HR20-700s in my home theater room "rack" in basement and they...along with a BR player and DVD carousel player go thru a component video switch.  This switch has 6 inputs (5 used per above) and 4 outputs.

The outputs are Projector (PJ) local to that room, plus three different TVs located 150ft+ in the house. 

Each of the remote TVs has a IR pickup in the room which funnels back down to a collector block then repeaters on front  of each piece of equipment.  The three HR200s use different IR code setups so no conflict, and I have universal IR remotes that I have "learned" both the DirecTV IR remote key codes as well as the TV codes (On/Off/Volume/Mute).

 

Hold on......one more level of complexity.

I the three kid's bedroom's upstairs 26" LCD TVs that are tapped into three out the 4 outputs of the switch.

The way I do this is a put three 1:2 splitters from those three outputs.

This has built in limit that the "pairing" of those "TVs" means they see the same thing.

I have each of the outputs default to a different HR20.

 

I have a SWM dish and Whole Home.

I have this connected to my home network/router.

Remember, I have basement that Sat coax comes into rack then two stories above with TVs.

 

So, why this post ?...........one of my HR20-700s just died.....totally dead.

I do have the maintenance plan and I'm out of my 24 month commit.....so I'm also eligible for hardware upgrade....not 100% sure what that means ? 

 

So, I'm thinking a Genie HR44 with some Genie minis ?....get rid if the video switch and splitters.

I want PiP on the "main" TV upstairs in Den, not PJ near rack.

Everything is Component Video run (long cables) to the TVs since HDMI has limit.

I could pull all the Component Video cables and pull a Coax.....is this how the Genie Minis work/connect ?

 

Thoughts ?

 

Also, tell me about these RF remotes (RC71 ?).....can they "learn" IR codes for the remote TVs they are at and still be RF to the Genie ? 

 

What about the wireless Genie ?......how much of limitation is there on it for some of the above ?

 

 

 

 

 

 


Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,962 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 August 2014 - 05:11 PM

Keep two of the HR20 and replaced the dead HR20 with Genie. If you want you can keep everything as is.  the RC71 can be other RF/IR to the Genie but IR only to the TV.  The RC71 loads the codes for the TV via the Genie, but the RC71 is not a learning remote 

 

the wireless clients are decent as long as you can get good LOS to the Wireless Video Bridge.  The range of the Wireless client is about 70 feet of open air, but much shorter distances once obstructions are introduced 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,917 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 05:44 PM

How many kids? I'd probably pull all the wiring and go regular coax to each location and tvs, put a receiver of some sort at each... but I would give a DVR to each kid and then a genie and minis for "my" tvs....


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#4 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:44 PM

Can I put two Genie's on a single SWM ?

Seems my SWM connecting bock is 8 connections.....one current used for power device back into the network.

My HR20s have the old external DECA boxes with the both the Coax & Ethernet off them.

 

I leaning to two Genies with say 4 TVs connected to each.

 

By chance do the Genie's talk to each other as part of Whole Home ?


Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#5 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:46 PM

Sadly Directv is allowing only 1 genie per account right now.

Edited by mexican-bum, 31 August 2014 - 06:46 PM.

My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#6 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:57 PM

Will the Genie see my two HR20s on Whole Home and integrate it all ?


Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#7 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:58 PM

I have 1 genie and 4 HD DVR'S for my family, all share one huge playlist. We are happy with this setup.

My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#8 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:11 PM

I have 1 genie and 4 HD DVR'S for my family, all share one huge playlist. We are happy with this setup.

That sounds like what I'd want to do.....except I keep just have two HR20s with the Genie....and any TV can pull from one combined list ?

 

Here is my thought.........remove the switch and splitters.

Hook one (would bypass all switches & splitters) HR20 to my son's room via the Component video already there.

Hook other (would bypass all switches & splitters) HR20 to my daughter's room via the Component video already there.

Replace dead HR20 with Genie......run 75ft HDMI with repeater cable to new 90" TV in Den....hooked direct to Genie so I get PIP.

Run Coax cable (what type ?) to other three TVs (removing Component Video Cables, no more switch or splitters) where there is Genie Mini....hook mini to TVs via short HDMI cable.

 

So, since my Sat Dish comes in single wire (SWM) connection/splitter box with 8 connections.....I have....

1) With power OBU (?) unit that also goes to my router and my hookups to the HR20s that link into this splitter stay same.

2) The Genie has one Coax connection into this connection block too.

3) The other three TV Genie Minis will each have one Coax connection to this connection block too. 

...............total 7 items on 8 connection SWM.

 

Now, will the two HR20s and the Genie all see the same "combined" playlist ?

If so, can you take a swag on what the limits are for recording and viewing ?

I "think" since Genie will just have four TVs....no viewing limit there.

I "think" since HR20s are hooked to one TV each....no viewing limit there.

For recording the HR20s give the kid's the two each while viewing and the Genie can record five shows while I view four ?

Lastly, what does PiP consume when turned on for two Live TV, one live / one recorded, two recorded scenarios ?

 

Thx !

 

P.S.  How far does the RC71 "RF" remotes work ?......on other words could the Genie Minis be downstairs next the Genie and TVS upstairs ?


Edited by thekochs, 31 August 2014 - 07:16 PM.

Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#9 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,420 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:14 PM

Will the Genie see my two HR20s on Whole Home and integrate it all ?

Yes, but just like before, you can't set a recording from one DVR to another.
And if you get a Client to go with your Genie, it can only record and use a tuner from the Genie.
But you can still play back any recordings from any DVR from the client as well.

 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#10 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,420 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:18 PM

You have 5 tuners .
PIP is going to use 2.
That leaves 3 left for recording or watching live tv from clients.
Genie will not stream more than 3 remote rooms at once.

 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#11 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:25 PM

Genie will not stream more than 3 remote rooms at once.

I thought it was four it would stream remotely ?

 

What type Coax do I need to buy ?


Edited by thekochs, 31 August 2014 - 07:26 PM.

Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#12 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:28 PM


 

Now, will the two HR20s and the Genie all see the same "combined" playlist ?  YES

If so, can you take a swag on what the limits are for recording and viewing ? Never have had an issue but believe HD DVR can stream 2 recordings from its playlist and Genie 3.  Will have 9 tuners for recording all together.

I "think" since HR20s are hooked to one TV each....no viewing limit there.

For recording the HR20s give the kid's the two each while viewing and the Genie can record five shows while I view four ? Yes

Lastly, what does PiP consume when turned on for two Live TV, one live / one recorded, two recorded scenarios ? either combination

 

Thx !

 

P.S.  How far does the RC71 "RF" remotes work ?......on other words could the Genie Minis be downstairs next the Genie and TVS upstairs ? Depends on lots of factors but my Genie is downstairs and remote (RC71)reaches upstairs in a couple of rooms but not one.


Edited by mexican-bum, 31 August 2014 - 07:40 PM.

My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#13 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:32 PM

I thought it was four it would stream remotely ?

 

What type Coax do I need to buy ?

Any good quality RG6 will work, solid copper core is recommended. Will also need a Swm 16 since you will have more than 8 tuners(5+2+2=9), unless you disable 1 tuner on on the the HD DVR's which would take you back down to 8. But that DVR could only record 1 thing at a time, may not be an issue with kids though and it could still access the entire whole home playlist.


Edited by mexican-bum, 31 August 2014 - 07:33 PM.

  • damondlt likes this

My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#14 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,420 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:35 PM

I thought it was four it would stream remotely ?

What type Coax do I need to buy ?

It's 4 including the Genie.
It's 3 remotely.

 Former Directv Subscriber May 5th-2012 - November 7th 2014 

Blue Ridge Communticatons

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus anolog Bedrrom 5 and 6

 

 


#15 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:48 PM

Will also need a Swm 16 since you will have more than 8 tuners(5+2+2=9), unless you disable 1 tuner on on the the HD DVR's which would take you back down to 8. But that DVR could only record 1 thing at a time, may not be an issue with kids though and it could still access the entire whole home playlist.

OK....little confused.......the "SWM" you refer to is something on the Sat Dish or what I'm seeing down near my rack ?

I have single coax coming from Sat Dish to rectangle box called "DirecTV Splitter MSPLIT8R0-01".  There are eight connectors on it.  One connector has a black box called SWM ODU that I recall "powers" the "network"...the other connection from ODU is RJ45 into my router.  Three of the other connections on this splitter are the Coax from each of the three HR20 DVRs.....which in line have a external DECA box that has two cables going into each HR20...coax & RJ45.

 

So, are you saying I need a x16 version of the above or something up on the Sat Dish ?

If on the dish how do I know what I have now ?......anyway to see from DVR or from my DirecTV online account ?

If worst case, how would I disable one of the tuners on one of my kid's DVRs ?


Edited by thekochs, 31 August 2014 - 07:50 PM.

Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#16 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 07:59 PM

 

So, are you saying I need a x16 version of the above or something up on the Sat Dish ? Since you have a single coax coming from your dish we know you have a SWM LNB which has a SWM 8 built in, will do maximum of 8 tuners. In order to have 9 tuners you need a new  standard(nonswm) LNB with 4 coax coming from it to a external SWM 16 switch, it will allow you to have up to 16 tuners, split between two outputs 8 tuners on each output, but all receivers on whole home would see each other.

 

 

If on the dish how do I know what I have now ?......anyway to see from DVR or from my DirecTV online account ? Since one coax coming from dish we know what you have

 

If worst case, how would I disable one of the tuners on one of my kid's DVRs ? Its really easy, just go to settings, satellite, repeat satellite setup, it will show 2 tuners, change to one. Complete setup, will probably say tuner 2 failed but that's fine as we disabled it. DVR will reboot if I remember right and that's it. Once back on it will be a single tuner DVR until you repeat the steps in reverse.


Edited by mexican-bum, 31 August 2014 - 08:01 PM.

My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#17 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:08 PM

 

 

So, are you saying I need a x16 version of the above or something up on the Sat Dish ? Since you have a single coax coming from your dish we know you have a SWM LNB which has a SWM 8 built in, will do maximum of 8 tuners. In order to have 9 tuners you need a new  standard(nonswm) LNB with 4 coax coming from it to a external SWM 16 switch, it will allow you to have up to 16 tuners, split between two outputs 8 tuners on each output, but all receivers on whole home would see each other.

 

 

If on the dish how do I know what I have now ?......anyway to see from DVR or from my DirecTV online account ? Since one coax coming from dish we know what you have

 

If worst case, how would I disable one of the tuners on one of my kid's DVRs ? Its really easy, just go to settings, satellite, repeat satellite setup, it will show 2 tuners, change to one. Complete setup, will probably say tuner 2 failed but that's fine as we disabled it. DVR will reboot if I remember right and that's it. Once back on it will be a single tuner DVR until you repeat the steps in reverse.

 

Great help...thx.....I had a multi-switch before and cannot recall why DTV came in with new dish and put up SWM....I "think" It had something to do with the HR20s and the at that time new Whole Home thing.  Anyway, the "hassle factor" of running more cables from dish all the way thru attic down, install new switch, etc for one channel is not worth it to me. If just changing the one kid's DVR to single tuner solution then that is good.  However, help me remember....can you watch live TV while recording another show or is it you can watch a recording while recording a show with this "single" tuner setup ?  


Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#18 OFFLINE   mexican-bum

mexican-bum

    "Jack Of All Trades, Master Of Some"

  • Registered
  • 571 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:14 PM

Great help...thx.....I had a multi-switch before and cannot recall why DTV came in with new dish and put up SWM....I "think" It had something to do with the HR20s and the at that time new Whole Home thing.  Anyway, the "hassle factor" of running more cables from dish all the way thru attic down, install new switch, etc for one channel is not worth it to me. If just changing the one kid's DVR to single tuner solution then that is good.  However, help me remember....can you watch live TV while recording another show or is it you can watch a recording while recording a show with this "single" tuner setup ?  

 

SWM (single wire multiswitch) is required for Whole home DVR per Directv. The old switches required a coax per tuner, so each DVR would need 2 coax cable runs from the switch to it, a genie would theoretically need 5 but its SWM only as opposed to the HR DVR's which can do conventional(called legacy) or newer SWM setups.

 

And yes a DVR in single tuner mode can still record 1 show while watching another, on its list or from another DVR


My Setup: SWM 13 LNB | HR44-700 | HR24-200 | HR24-500 | Two HR22-100's


#19 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 953 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:17 PM

Thanks..........side question......but part of the above.

One TV....new 90" (yet to be bought) will be 60-75ft from the Genie....it is the one I want Genie to drive direct for PiP (eg. sports side-side).

I see a lot of cables out there with repeaters in them for HDMI.....what is a good one for this length that works with Genie ?

I know they are not cheap......my Component 150ft cables were ridiculous years ago when I put them in.


Input/Source Equipment
DirecTV Slimline 3-SWM Dish, (3x) HR23-700 w/DECA
Sony DVD DVP-NC85H/B Carousel
Samsung BDP1500 BluRay

Output Display Equipment
Sony VPL-HS20 PJ (1368x768) => Vutec 110" Screen
Samsung 63" Plasma HP-S6373 (1368x768)
Samsung 32" TFT LN-T3243H LCD TV (1368x768)
Sharp 37" TFT LC37D43U LCD TV (1368x768)

A/V Equipment
Yamaha RX-V650 Receiver
VideoStorm CMX84 8x4 Video/Audio Matrix Switch
http://www.video-sto....asp?prod=CMX84

#20 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,173 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:18 PM

To go above 8 tuners (Genie has 5, regular DVR has 2, non-DVR receiver has 1, clients have 0), you must have the LNB assembly in your dish replaced with a legacy, or "multiswitch" LNB (as opposed to SWM). From that LNB you will need 4 coax cables going to an external SWM16 switch (not splitter). From that external SWM16 switch, you will have two coax which will run to your Genie, DVRs, receivers and clients (via splitters as needed). Each of the outputs of the SWM16 can handle 8 tuners, so typically you would have the Genie on one side, and regular DVRs on the other side (up to 4).

 

The SWM16 can be placed outdoors near the dish, or in your equipment rack providing you have the four necessary coax coming in from the dish.  Even if you put it outside, you'll still need two coax from the SWM16 to your equipment rack.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...