Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

"Move" to get locals


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   tingly

tingly

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 30 July 2004 - 01:45 PM

When I called the dtv-peg conversion team, the operator knew my phone number. I thought we blocked caller ID, but apparently not.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Bob Haller

Bob Haller

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 3,068 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2002

Posted 30 July 2004 - 02:07 PM

You can block caller ID but NOT ANI, auto number identification. when you call a 800 number the party you call pays for the connection and has the right to your info.

#23 OFFLINE   Mike123abc

Mike123abc

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 2,818 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2002

Posted 30 July 2004 - 04:01 PM

Only way to get around ANI is to use an internet phone service like Vonage where you can pick the area code and city you want your calls to originate from. Then you can look like you are calling from NYC when you are really sitting in LA.

#24 OFFLINE   biz

biz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2004

Posted 30 July 2004 - 09:19 PM

Or use a cell phone. Not a pegasus area here. No question ever on the billing address being in this area and service there, or a question on the cell phone.

Good luck

#25 OFFLINE   matthpd195

matthpd195

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 31 July 2004 - 04:17 PM

I have recently "moved" into an area that qualifies for Distants, but I still can't get the national PBS feed.

Anyone know how to go about getting this?

#26 OFFLINE   todcox

todcox

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2003

Posted 20 August 2004 - 08:44 AM

If I move to an area the receives New York as the locals (zip 07840) will I automatically receive CBS-HD, and NBC & Fox HD once they are online? Also, if I am physically 65 miles from NYC should I receive all the NY locals that are listed. I assume the ones besides NBC/CBS/FOX are all spot beamed.

#27 OFFLINE   bjlc

bjlc

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 955 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 20 August 2004 - 12:47 PM

Can I ask a quick question? I want to keep exactly what I currently have, but I want to make an "adjustment" to my zip code, so that I get both sports teams in my area. I currently have east and west coast of the three major networks and I don't want to lose them. Will I ?

#28 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,719 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 20 August 2004 - 02:28 PM

You would have to requalify based on the new address.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#29 OFFLINE   bjlc

bjlc

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 955 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 20 August 2004 - 10:04 PM

I want to keep my address, just adjust my zip code. a simple change of one number t o a zero.

#30 OFFLINE   TNGTony

TNGTony

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,345 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 20 August 2004 - 10:21 PM

Changing your zip code is changing your address. Though the street name and number might stay the same (and I doubt that would work unless the post office in your area changed because the address must be a "real" address) you still have to requalify for distant nets, locals and sports channels.

See ya
Tony
For the life of me I will never understand why people will pay hundreds and thousands of dollars on a TV that provides the clearest, sharpest, most realistic picture possible and then, voluntarily, distort the image!

"Dish Channel Chart"
"Local Channels available and coming to Dish"
"TV Market Maps"

#31 OFFLINE   forrestin

forrestin

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2004

Posted 21 August 2004 - 08:45 PM

I had a new system installed a couple of weeks ago. If I were to "move" how long should I wait? If I "move" can I use the same phone number? Afterall they are able to port numbers now. Who's to say that I didn't port my number.

#32 OFFLINE   TNGTony

TNGTony

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,345 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 22 August 2004 - 10:43 AM

They don't CARE! :) Give them a good address and you are ready to go.

See ya
Tony
For the life of me I will never understand why people will pay hundreds and thousands of dollars on a TV that provides the clearest, sharpest, most realistic picture possible and then, voluntarily, distort the image!

"Dish Channel Chart"
"Local Channels available and coming to Dish"
"TV Market Maps"




spam firewall